Why?

Because he’s curious.

Because he wants to understand how things work.

Because he is so aware of the people and events around him, and he is learning how they relate to each other.

Because he likes to be able to fix things when they break.

Because toys, and tools, and other things, are just better when they’re not broken. 

Because they can do what they were supposed to do, and act as they were designed.

Because he needs to understand the mechanics of everyday life and where he fits in the scheme of things.

Because he’s three years old.

Today was the day I’ve been waiting for.  Today, my little Widget asked Why.  Not just once, but many, many times in quick succession and in response to my answers. 

Today is the day I’ve been waiting for.

It’s almost here again!  National Blog Posting Month!  I’m going to be participating, writing and posting each day in November, along with thousands and thousands of my closest friends.  Last year, I didn’t hear about it until too late … so here’s my tip of the hat to the organizers and heads-up to you … expect daily posts here and all over the blogosphere in November!

nablopomo and nanowrimo

16 Responses to Why?

  1. Awesome! (I won’t say that there will come a time when you wish he’d STOP asking, “Why?”… But I will think it. Heh.)

    Kids are so boundlessly curious. It’s a joy.

  2. Susan K says:

    I never had a “why” phase with number one (now 7). Number 2 (just turned 2) has a different twist. She asks ‘wha’s that?’ Over and over and over again. Sometimes she brings me the flash cards I have shown her (and says “good” when I tell her what it is). Sometimes she points to things in a book and asks me. And sometimes it is when we are outside. “Walking”. As in:

    step, step, stop, point, “Wha’s that?”
    A rock, says mum.
    step, step, stop, point, “Wha’s that?”
    A stick, says mum
    step, step, stop, point, “Wha’s that?”
    A bug, says mum
    step, step, stop, point, “Wha’s that?”
    another rock, says mum

    Needless to say, we don’t always get very far! But it is wonderful.

  3. Kristen says:

    Just wait! The questions never stop. Never ever. You’ll be surprised to which questions you do and don’t know the answers.

  4. Kristin says:

    It sounds like a perfectly beautiful day.

  5. MammaLoves says:

    Ah he has his mommy’s genes. A scientist in the making!!!

  6. Yea! I knew the day would come. Although my son sometimes drives me crazy with the questions, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love, love, LOVE teaching about and exploring the world through his eyes. It is one of the very best parts of being a parent!

  7. Phoenix says:

    In six months, you may wish he’d find a new word. 🙂 I love it when they start asking questions though. My niece is currently on, how come, which is now getting a bit old too.

    There is no way I could post everyday, but I wish you tons of luck at it.

  8. The next hurdle is the day you say “because I said so.”

  9. Jenn says:

    Sweet,sweet day.

  10. practiceliving says:

    YAY!

    I’m still trying to decide about NaBloPoMo, too. Hmm…

  11. cpr4k says:

    My daughter’s 31 now, but while reading these remarks I was transported back to her toddler years. My granddaughter is 7, and I have missed most of her growing up so far – they live far away. I keep in close touch with them, send cards back and forth, record books for her to “read-along-with”, send virtual hugs by phone, etc. I had early stage BC in 1995 … radiation and tamoxifen after a lumpectomy and axial dissection. You sound great, WhyMommy – keep it up. These posts, though, reminded me what a wonderful thing it was to just watch my daughter’s mind unfold … life, the whole bit … it’s truly a miracle. The experience of motherhood has been so enriching … it has taught me what love can be.

  12. Ally says:

    Oh, the whys! Exciting times!

  13. Meleah says:

    How exciting for you! The WHY MOMMY’s!
    I am participation in NaBloPoMo as well, I will be looking forward to reading all your bloggies for November.

  14. NYfriend says:

    WOO HOO!

  15. Still waiting for why. But that is OK. He wasn’t supposed to speak at ALL, so why is inconsequential.

    Good luck with NoBlo- whatever🙂 Wanna be my friend on there? Click on the badge on my site. You should link your badge to your NoBlo…. blog too!

  16. “Why” is such a beautiful word. As I homeschool my boys, I am blessed to hear it frequently, but never too much.

    I haven’t been here much, but I do remember you in my prayers. Blessings.

