And for the next course…

They didn’t get better.  I talked to the oncology fellow on-call this morning, and, because these side effects have gone on for a week, I’m running a fever, and my counts are low, she’s called me into the clinic.  In her words, “You need to be seen.  We’ll try to get you into the clinic today, but if not, you need to go to the E.R.  We may have to admit you.”

Delightful.

I’m setting my breast cancer awareness month roundup post to autopost later today.   I’ll check in with you again when I get home.

39 Responses to And for the next course…

  1. NoRegrets says:

    Thank you for keeping us updated. And hope everything goes ok.

  2. WorksForMom says:

    Am thinking of you and sending positive thoughts your way WM.

  3. Char says:

    Hopefully you won’t have to stay in the clinic or ER long. Those places are not fun, especially when you’re not feeling well and all you want to do is sleep in your own bed. Stay strong, and keep positive thoughts in your head. I’ll be thinking of you today, wondering how you are…

  4. Oh, I hope they whisk you RIGHT IN and take care of you immediately, Whymommy… We don’t need you picking up any nasty germs in an ER full of sick people…

    Take care, take heart… Thinking of you, and sending prayers your way.

    xo CGF

  5. I’ll be thinking about you. Hope you’re in and out.

  6. Mia says:

    Oh, I hope everything is okay today. I’ll be thinking about you.

  7. Amy says:

    Well, all you have to do is make sure that you’re seen at the clinic, then. Pull the fire alarm, and get the #1 position in line while everyone else is outside in the parking lot waiting for the all clear.

    What? It doesn’t work that way?

    Well, I hope that it’s a slow day at the clinic so that you can be seen there. Hang in there.

  8. Stimey says:

    Again, ugh. Good luck today at the clinic. Thinking of you…

  9. Meleah says:

    Hang in there, I will be keeping you in my thoughts all day today.

  10. Stay strong, and know that many people are praying for you. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers, please keep us posted on how you are faring.

  11. Linda Sue says:

    SO glad you are being seen, never a good thing to be more uncomfortable than absolutely necessary. Thank you for keeping us posted with this post – rest well and will keep on praying for your strength. Bless you beautiful young woman!

  12. Kim says:

    I’m sending positive thoughts your way and hoping that you feel better. I’m thinking about you

  13. deb says:

    Take care sweetie and I’m sending good thoughts your way.

  14. mamadb says:

    hoping you feel better fast. sending good thoughts your way.

  15. theroadtohome says:

    Hugs and warm cozy thoughts.

  16. canape says:

    I hope you are already on your way back home. But if they admit you, then okay. They will get you better and get those counts back up so that you can keep right on going.

    Good luck.

  17. Echoing the cozy thoughts. Get what you need, recharge, make sure you’re on track, then get home. We’re all cheering for you and sending you love from everywhere, wrapping around you like a blanket of light.

  18. Spacemom says:

    Listen, get yourself checked out first and foremost. If your counts are low, you might need a pint or two and getting yourself better is the first thing.
    Thinking about you….

  19. KillerBoob says:

    I hope this finds you cozy at home and not in the hospital. Either way, they’ll be able to do something to make you fell a bit better. We’ll all be glad to hear that. hugs-s

  20. ohamanda says:

    Praying for you!

  21. Ree says:

    Sweetie, {{{hugs}}} and love coming your way.

  22. delilah says:

    Sending lots of positive thoughts your way. Feel better soon.

  23. Susan Brant says:

    I tracked you from your comment in the NYT about Adler’s and Dreikurs’ approach to understanding and living with children. You can add Ray Corsini to that distinguished lineage. Thank you so much for pointing it out. Be well.

  24. Binky says:

    I wrote a parenting article for breast cancer awareness month in which I interviewed a mom who said Taxol threw her for a complete loop. She said that a lot of women had an easier time with it than with other therapies, but for her it was incredibly hard to tolerate. I hope the doctors are able to ease your discomfort and that the road to recovery is not any more twisty-turny than it has to be.

  25. I hope you are feeling better soon

  26. NYfriend says:

    thinking of you and sending healing vibea.

    Big Hugs

  27. ggirl says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing you’re okay. No ER, no admitting into the hospital. Take care and feel better really soon.

  28. edj says:

    You’re in my prayers! Thanks for keeping us updated.

  29. tori says:

    I would think the ER wouldn’t be a great place for you to be because of all the sick people. Hopefully you can be seen at the clinic. I’ll be thinking of you and hoping it all goes well!

  30. Oh my goodness, my thoughts are with you. Hope you are back on your feet again soon!

  31. By the way, I finally got to see your news story (I couldn’t get the link to work for me until today). It was so great seeing (and hearing) you and your boys in “real life.” You did a wonderful job with it! How wonderful to have reached so many people. Thank you!

  32. Robin says:

    Holding you close in my heart.

  33. Veronica says:

    I hope you feel better soon🙂

  34. swimmom says:

    Sending positive thoughts your way. I hope you get back on your feet and computer🙂, soon!

  35. Tara-Lynn says:

    Hang in there sister….let us know how you are feeling. Sending good thoughts your way from Canada!

  36. Jenster says:

    Prayers for you!

  37. I’m so sorry this treatment is so rough on you – and especially for you to be feeling rotten on Halloween, a day when I’m sure you wanted to be out and about. An old friend of mine once told me when I faced a rough situation: “The only way out is through.” It’s my mantra when things are tough. The only way out of this cancer is through the chemo. It stinks, but hopefully you see the way out ahead of you…to an even better future because you have grown so much through this journey. And I can’t believe you had the energy to do the round-up post! You are amazing. Hang in there Susan, God Bless, Lynn

