I’m back

“Your nurse today will be the witch,” the E.R. triage nurse said, as he left me in a little white room with no curtains.

That’s not the first time I’ve thought that, I thought to myself, snickering a little, before I remembered that today is Halloween. 

Sure enough, in walks a 5 foot 5 witch in full regalia, down to the fingernails.  She’s toting an IV pole and a tray of needles, enough to scare anyone.   She speaks.  “We’re going to draw some blood and start you on some fluids while we wait for the results.” 

Ah, a vampire as well!

But her actions belied her true nature, as she drew 5 vials but left 3 on the tray for later tests.  Surely a true vampire would have taken the vials with her.  For a snack.  Or something.

I’m back home and ok.  My white counts have actually recovered this week, and I’ll be able to go back to the hospital in the morning for Chemo #9.  Thanks for your lovely comments.  It is helping.

20 Responses to I’m back

  1. Oh, my dear… I’ve been thinking of you all day long! I’m SO glad things are looking up! Hope they were able to help you with the side-effects…

    Chemo #9… bet that cancer is shaking in it’s boots tonight!!

    Lots of love from the Girlies and Me xo

  2. I’m glad it turned out ok…I was thinking of you all afternoon. Happy Halloween, and good luck at chemo tomorrow. More prayers and hugs coming your way!

  3. Great to hear! Just checking up on you and so glad to see your update. Pretty funny story too. Aren’t the nurses at Georgetown AMAZING?

  4. Glad to read you do not have to skip “Love Potion #9” – I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow!

  5. Holly says:

    Yay! I’m so glad to hear you’re doing better.

  6. canape says:

    All treats and no tricks for you today. YAY!

  7. Glad you’re home and hoping that the vampire had a lot of experience!

  8. Less than three, WhyMommy, Less than three….

    (something my girls say when I am feeling melancholy, means I love you. Less than three =❤ turn your head to the side and it looks like a heart.)

  9. Veronica says:

    I’m glad you are okay. I was thinking about you today.

  10. […] You can read the full story here […]

  11. KillerBoob says:

    well that’s something that I woulnd’t have seen here! The nurses dressed for halloween. funny. we would get visits from Sinterklas (5th Dec) but that’s about it. Nice that they keep some lightheartedness in the ward!

  12. Alice C says:

    I hope it was a medically approved, fully sterile witches outfit. Keep smiling WhyMommy.

  13. b*babbler says:

    Glad to see you back, and that you’re doing a bit better. Thinking of you…

  14. practiceliving says:

    Ah, a vampire as well!

    Heehee.

    Glad your counts are back up! Thinking of you this morning, I hope chemo #9 goes smoothly.

  15. Highheelsbackwards says:

    I’ve been thinking about you and I hope you’re doing okay. Please keep up the wonderful posts and congrats for all of the hard work you’re doing to make yourself better. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

    (from another Silver Spring mom)

  16. T with Honey says:

    I had a pirate draw my blood on Halloween last year. It seemed a bit odd at first yet I somehow found myself more relaxed as talked in a raspy pirate voice about stealing from me. We both laughed when I made him promise to not wear the eye patch when inserting the needle.🙂

    Glad to hear your white counts are improving!!

  17. ~JJ! says:

    Feel good.

    Seems weird when hospital crew is all dressed up…but really, it is a great way to lighten any mood!!!!

  18. Tara-Lynn says:

    Glad to hear that things are going better….stay strong!

  19. zamejias says:

    Good to hear you’re ok.😀

