Halloween

The planet Saturn, superhero Buzz Lightyear, fighting-Fire Bug, and a tiny Eli Manning came to our house on Halloween night.  I’d spent all day in the E.R. and put Little Bear down early, so we weren’t going anywhere.  Widget is in the strike-year of costumes (like many of the 2- and 3-year-old boys we know, he won’t let us near him with a Halloween costume, handmade or otherwise), so we hunkered down with the bags of snickers and animal crackers and waited for the doorbell to ring.

Our neighborhood doesn’t really celebrate Halloween, so we didn’t get many little visitors, but we were lucky enough to have company from MOMS Club, and it was wonderful. 

The innocence of childhood, and the goodness of friends, never ceases to amaze me.

littlebear

Little Bear, all dressed up for our costume party last week!

10 Responses to Halloween

  1. Jenn says:

    We, too, hunkered down instead of heading out, Little A’s wings leaving glitter in a trail to her bed, her antenna’s still twisted in her piggy-tails in the morning.

    And I couldn’t help but think it was the best halloween we’d had in a long, long time.

  2. Dawn says:

    We sat on the steps and let the little hooligans come to us and save me from eating all 5 bags of candy myself.

  3. NoRegrets says:

    don’t the kids know they look sooooo cute in costumes? how could they not want to wear them? 🙂

  4. Susan K says:

    Hubby took the 7 year old girl (black widow spider – home made) and 2 year old girl (Tigger – store bought) out to our street, then dropped the younger off with me and continued the rest of the neighbourhood. 2 year old sat on my lap and helped give out Playdoh and chocolate to more than 70 kids. But 2 year old was not happy – her screams and cries made it sound like we were hosting a haunted house. Apparently she does not like masks. Of any sort. On anyone (even her sister made her nervous). At least she had fun gettting candy…

  5. ggirl says:

    Little bear–what a little darling. I hope you’re feeling better.

  6. canape says:

    I want to hear his little roar!

  7. Glad Pluto didn’t turn up and you had to explain that he is no longer classified as a planet…..
    Little bear as little bear….. adorable!

  8. Ana says:

    Awwww he is so cute in his costume! Makes me want to eat him up!

  9. fizzledink says:

    Hmmm, so Smooch might refuse a costume next year, is that what you’re telling me?

    We stayed in with him – he’s in a big stranger anxiety phase, where going up to door after door would be more torture than fun – and he wore his little duck suit to hand out candy.

    I’m glad you had a nice, if quiet, evening.

  10. Mama DB says:

    What a cutie. I’m glad you guys had a nice time. Hubby took Peanut out trick-or-treating with friends and I stayed home and snuggled with BusterBrown. It was a good night.

    I love the new layout! The picture at the top is beautiful.

