Kindness

Were I to use this blog only to recount the kindnesses of friends and strangers, I would still post every day, and it would be cram-packed full of stories.  I would write today of the kindness of my friend Mike, who picked us up yesterday when our car stalled and I was stuck with a carful of groceries and a toddler — who was NOT going to ride in the front seat of the tow truck, despite how happy it would have made him.  I would write of the kindness of Stimey, who watched my kids this morning while I went to cancer yoga to work on the pain and weakness in my upper chest.  I would write of Jacquie, who brought over dinner and special treats from Trader Joe’s.  I would write of the elves that quietly leave me a bag of goodies every morning I go to chemo, cheering me on the days I don’t want to step outside and go down to the hospital for treatment.

I would write of the kindness of my parents and my husband’s parents, who have put their lives on hold to care for us during this time when I am having trouble caring for myself.

I would write the first paragraph over and over, until it became boring for you, for every week, a mom helps me with the kids while I go to cancer yoga.  Every week, a mom brings over dinner, to give our caregivers a bit of a break.  Every week, a mom calls to see what she can pick up for me at the store, to see if there’s an errand I need running that I can’t pull myself out of bed to go and do.  Every week, I get cards and letters from cousins and aunts and friends, bringing a bit of cheer.

Every week, you, my blogfriends, leave me comments and send me email, checking in, asking about me, letting me know that I am not alone.

And because of you, all of you, I am gathering the strength to go on, to pick myself up, and to get back to the business of living.

Today I am stronger than I was yesterday.  The chemo is working.  The tumor is shrinking.  And my spirit — my spirit is stronger than it has ever been.  Today I am reminded of all the good there is in the world. 

Whatever your day brings, I hope that it brings you as well a moment of kindness, and a moment of peace.

45 Responses to Kindness

  1. I enjoy the new blog look – very peaceful. And I love your spirit!

  2. NoRegrets says:

    Thank you for the wish. I’ll try to pass it on.

  3. CE says:

    WM,

    First of all, thanks for all your great posts; you are still truly a pleasure to read. Second, I read your post about Widget asking “why,” chuckling to myself, knowing that I had another 4-5 months before my daughter get to that stage. And then, this very morning….4 “why” questions, all in a row. I was stunned for a second, then I thought of you. I pictured how excited you were by this, and decided to use the opportunity to teach and to enjoy, rather than get annoyed (which occasionally happens once and a while) . So thank you for that serendipitously timely post. Our little ones are sure growing up!
    -CE

  4. Of course. This is so lovely. Thank you, too, for all you add and bring.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  5. Tara-Lynn says:

    Your words in this post are beautiful. Glad to hear you are feeling better. There are lots of us out here pulling for you!

  6. deb says:

    It sounds like such an odd thing to say to a woman who has cancer, but you are blessed.

  7. canape says:

    What I hope is that you already knew how much you meant to me even before the big bad C.

  8. christine says:

    yes, peace.

    i am so glad you have such love surrounding you.

  9. sherry says:

    What a beautiful, heart felt post. You are so blessed and that is part of this journey..we discover how blessed we are. We discover that we have been a blessing to others. And we rejoice in the fact that life is good, even on the bad days. We have those bad days..I remember being so down I thought I’d never rise to the top again…but each time I went “down”, I came back up better than I had been before. It’s part of the cycle.
    Breast cancer is mind numbing…but with love and support we make it through. Sounds like you have that in abundance.
    Bless your day!!

  10. You give so much to us, too, whymommy. I’m so grateful to have found you, and think of you every day.

  11. Ree says:

    Yay! And we are all proud that you consider us your friends.

  12. coolbeans says:

    This was my moment of peace today. Thank you.

    I like the new look, by the way.

  13. Jenn says:

    Your spirit….

    I wish I could tell you in words just how strong it is and how many times it’s inspired me; I am so glad that you are aware of how amazing it is.

  14. PunditMom says:

    We’re with you. I love the new look of your blog. Sorry I won’t get to meet you this weekend. 😦

  15. Mel says:

    That is what community is for. Sending good thoughts, sweetie.

  16. WorksForMom says:

    I am so so happy that you are stronger than yesterday. So so happy.

    And I love (LOVE) the new blog design.

  17. delilah says:

    Your spirit is simply amazing.

    Love your new design.

  18. Your spirit is beautiful and inspiring. Reading this has been my moment of kindness and peace today. Thank-you.

  19. Oh and I love the new look also!

  20. I stopped by here for the first time and this is such a beautiful post. I believe I need to go take a look around.

  21. ~JJ! says:

    You’ve done it again…

    I’m crying.

    With joy for you.

  22. amanda says:

    Just did. Thank you.

  23. Jacquie says:

    Great new look! You are awesome!

  24. Mrs. Chicken says:

    You only get back what you put out into the world, Whymommy. So it comes as no surprise to me that your good soul is on the receiving end of kindness now.

    So very, very glad to hear the tumor is shrinking. Such good news.

  25. Jennifer says:

    god bless you (and that’s not something I say every day). kisses

  26. Lindsey says:

    I’m weeping. It’s shrinking. Oh, Susan. I am so glad.

  27. Veronica says:

    I adore the new look. It is very calm and peaceful.

    I am so pleased to hear that the chemo is working!

  28. You are a miracle in action.

    Love you, Whymommy.

    xo CGF and Girlies 3

  29. TERRY says:

    MAY A MOMENT OF PEACE BE ALSO WITH YOU.

  30. Alison says:

    What wonderful love and support you have! This brought a tear to my eye…that sounds so trivial but it’s a beautiful post!

  31. Joanna says:

    You have to be one of the strongest women I know, in person and in spirit. I am so thrilled to hear you are indeed getting better; your chemo has to be very hard to endure, but alas it is working and I am so, so happy for you. Love the look of your site, too. You rock, WM.

  32. Dawn says:

    Shrinking tumor and growing health! yay!

  33. planetnomad says:

    I’m sure everyone says this, but I wish I was close enough to bring you dinner and play with your kids!

  34. Carrie says:

    It looks fresh over here!

    Keeping you close to my heart, WhyMommy.

  35. Barb says:

    Thank you for reminding me what is important.
    Find the quiet,
    Barb

  36. Jennifer says:

    So glad the chemo is shrinking the tumor.

    I love your new blog look, it seems very calming.

  37. I am so thankful that the chemo is working, although I read your blog with each new post I haven’t been able to post for awhile. You are always in my thoughts and although i cannot bring you dinner, there is a family here in town with a little boy who is fighting leukemia that I bring dinner too and leave special mommy treats for his mom who had to quit her job to take care of him. I think of them and I think of you, my way of being there for you too because I know you understand. Today my thankful thought is that you are healing. I thank God for that.

  38. Lauren says:

    I am sorry I have not commented lately but I have been wanting to.

    I have been wanting to tell you thanks. I have been wanting to tell you how much I appreciated you taking the time to email me with suggestions and your opinion of my gift ideas for my friend who was recently diagnosed with breast cancer.

    I am cheering for you and I hope you are doing better and better each day.

    As a funny story to my idea of getting satin pj’s for my friend for after her mastectomy surgery let me just say she loved them. She wore them the first night she got home from the hospital. She had to sleep in a reclining chair as it was too difficult to get out of her bed and stay on her back. During the night she had to yell for her husband to come help her. She had to get up to use the bathroom but couldn’t. She couldn’t because her comfy satiny pj’s had trapped her. They were so slippery she slid down in them and in the chair and couldn’t get herself out. So let this be a word of warning for after your surgery. 😉 I felt so bad but find it funny now since she has such a great sense of humor about everything and knowing she was ok.

  39. ggirl says:

    I’m *so* happy to hear the chemo is working! Thank you for continuing to post, even though I know you’re going through some terrible, terrible times.

    Probably the greatest thing for me when I was in treatment was all of the love and support I got, not only by my family and friends, but by absolute strangers. You deserve all you can get of both of those things.

    Take care. Keeping you in my prayers.

  40. Ally says:

    “The chemo is working. The tumor is shrinking.”

    Those are some sweet, sweet words.

  41. mo-wo says:

    And “Today I you remind of all the good there is in the world. ”

    As always, thanks for all that. Have a good day and keep strenghtening.

  42. KillerBoob says:

    somebody’s been redecorating! I love it. looks fantastic!

    and i am so glad to hear you are feeling stronger, that the chemo is workign and the tumor “melting…melting!”

    way to go on both counts!

  43. motherofbun says:

    Love the new look.

    And the chemo is working and the tumor is shrinking… I am so happy for you, I’m starting to cry. SO HAPPY!!!!!!!! YEAY YOU.

  44. My husband came in. I was smiling and had my hand to my throat – the old ‘clutching of pearls’ – and he said ‘What are you so happy about’

    ‘The tumour is shrinking’

    And he new I was talking about you. You are part of our family now, halfway across the world.

