A Hullabaloo at our house!

We hosted playdate at our house today.  Seven moms, a dozen or more kids (they move so fast, I lose count), two bags of goldfish, a pack of juice boxes, an armful of sippy cups, 80 decibels, and tons of fun later, I have to say, it was a good day.

A very good day.

The pack descended on our home with intent to play Hullabaloo, the preschooler game from Cranium.  We had invited everyone over just for this … but we never expected so many friends to be able to come this week!  As it turns out, the game was both way too loud (for polite conversation between the moms) and way too soft (for the dozen preschoolers and toddlers bouncing around to hear the directions.  And what’s worse?  There is NO off switch to this game!  Or if there is, mine is defective.  Anyone?  Anyone?

But there sure was a hullabaloo at our house today!

17 Responses to A Hullabaloo at our house!

  1. jen says:

    i can almost hear the joy and laughter and squeals from here.

  2. One word:

    “COOKIES!!!”

    Oh, sure, there will be a thundering of little feet towards the kitchen… but then, the peaceful sounds of munching.

    Works like a charm… Till the sugar-high kicks in.

    So glad you had a wonderful day with your great big gaggle of kids!! There’s nothing better.

    xo CGF

  3. MamaMaven says:

    When we moved into our house there was no furniture in the living room for months and it became the Hullabaloo room–they were quite put off when we got a new table & chairs. Perfect game for two but I can only imagine the noise and chaos with 8. Glad you had such a wonderful day.

  4. Ally says:

    Our kids played that game for the first time this weekend– in the basement– while we chatted with our in-laws upstairs. That worked well. I have to say, I wish I’d have invented it. I couldn’t find the off button either.

    Glad you had a good fun gathering.

  5. Stimey says:

    Love Hullaballoo! The off switch is actually the same as the on switch. The only thing is when you push it, it sounds like it’s just starting again. I put the thing back in the box while it was still talking away many times before Sam finally showed me that if you just push the button and wait, it’ll turn off in a few seconds. I’m glad you had a good day!

  6. Mama DB says:

    Hullaballoo often descends into the Madness Zone in our house too. Screaming and jumping around, not really listening to the directions but jumping to the winning pad when it is announced is almost expected. Love it.

    So glad you guys had a fun playdate!

    Oh, and just hold the button down for a second or two and the machine will eventually power down for you. Night!

  7. Waaa! I wanna come! But alas, no toddler and would take various forms of green house producing transport and a terrifying 20 odd hour plane flight that I would need drugs to endure. Then my reflexes wouldn’t be so good.

    Bugger.

    Maybe next time?

  8. Cousin-in-law says:

    YOU Have TO Love Hullabaloo !
    The only off switch. Is to take out the batteries !!

  9. NoRegrets says:

    I’m exhausted just reading it…

  10. christine says:

    a dozen kids?!?! that sounds kind of scary but also tons of fun!

  11. Spacemom says:

    (the off switch is on the bottom!)

    I love that game! Sounds like fun!

  12. juliepippert says:

    You know what? I have invited 50 kids to a combo birthday party here at the house. It was under duress. My husband insisted we could NOT leave anyone out. I agreed to it because I know afterwards he will see my way of Snobbish Exclusion is the way to go.

    Hullabaloo became an outside toy and then a dead one.

    I wonder how long the “there are no batteries that fit this game, it’s dead” and “we don’t own a screwdriver that fits the screws to remove the panel” level of lame excuses will hold water. Our kids are getting too big. They are suspicious of us already.
    😉

    Sounds like you had a nice time. They really are the good times, these.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  13. Susan K says:

    In addition to the off switch, I thought there was a volume switch…. hmmm maybe I am confusing that. I seem to think that if you hold one or other of those buttons down it changes volume. Maybe I am making that up.

    Next thing for you to discover (not for 8 kids, but 3 or 4) – HyperDash. Our new favourite game!

  14. practiceliving says:

    Sounds like a fun day!

    I used to work in a toy store, and ever since, I have loooved the Cranium games. They are such silly fun!

  15. whymommy says:

    Excellent! I am so glad there is an off switch. We certainly didn’t figure it out yesterday!

    Sounds like lots of kids love this game!

  16. mcgearstella says:

    I can just about visualize all those kids running around! What crazy fun! Those are some of the best times!

