It wasn’t so bad….

Chemo was pretty okay today.  I saw my favorite nurses (hi, Marion and Janine!) and had a good nap when the benedryl took effect.  After I woke up and the IV drip was removed, WhyDaddy took me out for a fancy lunch on the Potomac while the kids napped at home with Grandma and Grandpa.  A lovely day, and a date with my husband, sans kids.

Not bad at all.

Thank you for all your good wishes on Thursday.  They helped.  They totally helped.  We checked email several times during the day and were so happy to see all of you in my in-box.  (How on earth did you all fit in there?)  The chemo fairies visited me too and brought yummy ginger oat biscuits and a dozen cupcakes.  AND magazines for me to read at chemo (I lurves me some Real Simple.  Even though it’s 300 pages and no longer simple at all.).  AND a fun toy (lacing cards! remember those?) and little books for the kids.  AND a darling sweater to keep me warm at chemo today.  AND one for WhyDaddy.  AND an awesome pink bag with encouraging words on it.  AND, well, you get the picture.  They spoil me to pieces.

Widget went to playdate with his little friends and brought home chocolate cookies and ginger tea cookies and snickerdoodles and fudge and all kinds of delicious cookies, which we ate for supper.  No, not really, Mom.  We had leftover shepherd’s pie, which another friend brought over earlier in the week.

I am so very lucky.  I never knew how many friends I had before cancer.  I detest hearing lists of “all the good things about cancer,” but I have to say, this would surely be at the top of my list.  If I had one.  Which I don’t.

us

Thank you, from the bottom of our hearts.

18 Responses to It wasn’t so bad….

  1. I’m glad–not bad is one step closer to good. I wanted to let you know, I gave you an award on my blog–check it out:
    http://ahugaroundtheneck.blogspot.com/2007/11/rockin-crib.html
    Hope you’re feeling better and better every day!

  2. MammaLoves says:

    I love to see that huge smile. You radiate beauty and happiness.

  3. WorksForMom says:

    That picture gave me perma-smile my friend. You’re both so darn adorable I can’t stand it! I’m glad it went better than expected.

  4. Mama DB says:

    I second WorksForMom! You guys are adorable. And I love Little Bear’s little belly poking out.

    I’m glad you guys got to have a fancy lunch out and that your little fairies are spoiling you.

    I hope tomorrow is not too tiring for you.

    XOX,
    Danielle

  5. Stimey says:

    Look how beautiful you two are!

    Thanks for the tip about the cookies. Those moms clubbers are so nice!

  6. kgirl says:

    are you sure the lacing cards were for you?😉

  7. This is the most gorgeous picture! You are both radiant. I know it doesn’t feel like it these days.. but you really are just glowing with love.

    Here’s to more pretty-okay days, sweet mama.

  8. Jacquie says:

    You radiate beauty WM!!

  9. zamejias says:

    You are lovely and so are your thoughts!

  10. canape says:

    I’m glad it went alright. I’ll be hoping that the weekend goes alright too. That you bounce back with energy and feeling great-ness.

  11. ~JJ! says:

    How great is that picture?

    You look beautiful. Glowing.

    And that little man….yummy!

  12. Amanda says:

    Today you are making me weep. I adore you, WhyMommy, I really do. You are a beautiful spirit.

  13. I’m glad that everything went well. Hope you have a nice weekend.

  14. motherofbun says:

    Glad all went well.

    There’s a pic of your hubby in the 25 years ago section of the hometown newspaper. I had to laugh. (God I start to feel old when I recognize people in those pics. heehee.) But its a pic of the boys’ soccer team from that time. (I didn’t even know the town HAD a soccer team for kids.) And oh my gosh, your youngest looks SO MUCH like his daddy!

    Just had to share that….🙂

  15. motherofbun says:

    P.S. Just read your “big ways to help.” Got any ideas for those of us out of town and hours away from friends and family with cancer. (I have a friend with ALS too so any suggestion can help her as well.)

  16. LawyerMama says:

    I hope you know how ADORABLE you both are.

  17. whymommy says:

    Motherofbun … I’ll put my thinker on and post something in a few days! I’ve also got a promise for a guest post on cooking (I am SO not qualified to write that!) for a cancer patient’s family — from our very own friend Canape! All I could think of was “make it ready-to-cook or reheat and bring along directions if it’s not obvious.” (And we saw the picture too — isn’t that a hoot?)

    Thank you all for the compliments. I feel better this week than last week. The pain has set in but the spirit? Undaunted!

    Onward towards Monday!

  18. Ally says:

    Oh, that picture! You are both so cute I could eat you up. But I guess I’d settle for one of those cookies…

