Chemo #13

The effects of Taxol are cumulative.  Although the dose of chemotherapy is always the same, as the weeks go on, it gets a little harder to take.  Every week, the resulting nausea is a little stronger.  Every week, the aches are a little more intense.  Every week, the bone pain is a little sharper and has spread a little further.  Every week, it gets a little harder to bear.

I’ve had a tough weekend.  It’s just been nausea, aches, and bone pain, but the intensity of all three have increased over the past few weeks in particular, and I’m losing my weekends entirely to the aftermath of chemo.  The nausea takes away my appetite, to the extent where I’m just not interested in food again until Tuesday, and then I have to be careful not to eat rich food after the week of crackers and peanut butter, or my stomach revolts.  The aches make me cranky and the bone pain makes me crabby.  Oh, and I should record here that neuropathy has set in and the ends of my fingers and toes have gone numb. 

All in all, it’s been a truly delightful way to spend the week/end.

But, then, this morning, I woke up to blue skies, white clouds, and a hint of snow in the air.  There was a promise of excitement about, and when I came home from cancer yoga, I took the (little) boys out for an afternoon of shopping and browsing at an independent book and toy store near us.  We had a lovely time, and then went out to dinner.

And tonight?  Tonight I am happier than I’ve been in days, as my boys sleep soundly upstairs, tired from a day out with their mommy, and I can check one more thing off my list.  For this morning, my letter to the editor appeared in the Washington Post.

Add to that a nomination for a November Perfect Post (for part 1 in the series on How To Help a Friend) from Miscellaneous Adventures of an Aussie Mum , and a fun review at Review Planet this morning (the HP Compact Printer — way cool, my friends), and I can go to bed tuly happy and satisfied with my day.

nov07pp

Wishing you the same….

12 Responses to Chemo #13

  1. Ally says:

    Good work, WM! I’d call that a very successful and satisfying day.

  2. theroadtohome says:

    Satisfaction is a wonderful feeling. So glad you feel that way!!

    (Just for the record, check out my WM post for today. I’m proud of it!)

  3. Wow, the Washington Post??? Great letter and congrats on publication. What a day you have had!

  4. whymommy says:

    Thank you, Christy! That was a great post, and I am humbled that you’re still thinking of me and went to the trouble to put that together. I added it to my Team WhyMommy page at the top — and it’s making me smile tonight, as I sit up trying to feel better again. Thank you for that.

  5. Robin says:

    ((gentle hugs))

    I wish I lived closer. I’d cook you up some soothing, healthy food to try and tempt that appetite of yours.

    Congratulations on getting your letter in the Post. I know this is far from how you would have chosen to make your mark, but you are saving lives each and every day with your words.

  6. Night, night. Sleep tight🙂

  7. Oh sweetie. Sending a refill of those hugs.

    I couldn’t choose a perfect post for you, they are all perfect!

  8. jj says:

    Hugs.

    As always.

    Hugs to you.

  9. Sandy says:

    I am not sure if you know about these…I had assumed you had so if you do (and they didnt work for you) then please forgive me! For the nausea try Sea-bands or other travel sickness bands. They work on a pressure point in your writsts and are recommended not just for motion sickness but for morning sickness as well as nausea related to chemo and anastesia (not really sure how to spell that last word! LOL).

    They worked for my morning sickness for sure and they are great because you don’t have to worry about drug interactions. They are just little bracelets you put on your wrists with a little button on the inside….they have a diagram where to put the button (three fingers down from your wrist crease then in between the two tendons).

    If you haven’t tried them…they are worth a shot. They may take off a few days of feeling miserable at the least! Worst case they not work, right?

    *hugs*

  10. Gill says:

    {{hugs}} You are in my thoughts as always.

  11. juliepippert says:

    Sorry about the rough weekend.

    Congratulations on the letter and the award!

    Julie
    Using My Words

  12. Good for you, Ma’am on the Post letter!!

