A day without pain

I finally got my wish … a day off from cancer.  For the first time in a long, long time, I had a day without pain. 

No bone pain.  No neuropathy.  No chest pain.  Not even any side effects.

In fact, I haven’t had significant chest pain in just over two weeks.  As the tumor has shrunk, the heaviness in my breast has lightened accordingly.  It’s no longer swollen, no longer red and angry, no longer a weight to carry around with me every day, reminding me all the time that there is cancer there.  The cancer seems more manageable now, somehow, mostly in the skin, with only a smallish additional heavy area where there was solid tumor. 

It’s easier to manage daily life now.  To spoonfeed my infant, and to pick him up afterwards.  To read my older boy story after story, holding up even the heaviest of books with that arm.  To say yes, of course, if either boy needs a lift, a change, a cuddle.  And that gives me great confidence that I’m beating this thing.  That I we will prevail over this cancer.

Yesterday, we had a day off from cancer.  I felt good, and we took full advantage of it:  a trip to a museum, a lunch out, and homemade dinner and dessert at home.  It was wonderful, and just the thing I needed before stepping back on the merry-go-round (roller coaster?) that is chemo.  This morning, I’ll head back into the infusion unit for another dose and steel myself against the possibility of neuropathy’s return.  If it does, we’ll have to revisit the idea of changing chemotherapy.  If it doesn’t, then we’re on the road to finishing chemo this year and surgery in January.  I’m praying that it doesn’t.

While I’m off to chemo today, perhaps you’d like to visit Daring Young Mom and get a first-hand look at the aftermath of the floods in Washington.  She’s doing some hands-on work over there and it’s something everyone should know about.  There’s also a new review going up today at Review Planet:  That Baby DVD.

24 Responses to A day without pain

  1. Alice C says:

    Hi WhyMommy – I wanted to let you know that I was in Canterbury Cathedral last night and I thought of you and wished you and your family peace and happiness this precious Christmas.

  2. whymommy says:

    Wow! What a lovely place. Thank you!

  3. Kristin says:

    Congratulations on having what sounds like a near-perfect day.

  4. Linda L. says:

    It is dreary and raining here, but your blog put sunshine into our day! Thanks!

    Love ya,🙂🙂🙂

  5. I’m so so happy tha tyou are feeling better and had such a wonderful day. Good luck at chemo today, you are winning this battle every day! Thoughts and prayers coming your way, today and everyday!

  6. ella says:

    It all sounds good.

    Good luck today and fingers crossed that the neuropathy doesn’t return. I’ll be thinking about you.

  7. tj says:

    …Hello, I hopped over here from ‘A Bushel and a Peck’ blog and I just wanted to send my thoughts and prayers your way…

    …{{hugs}}

    …Blessings… :o)

  8. Katherine says:

    Hooray for pain free days! Thinking of you.

  9. Stephanie says:

    Glad you had a wonderful day yesterday. You will be in my prayers today as you go back to Chemo!

  10. juliepippert says:

    WAHOO! A day off! And you took full advantage!

    Good luck today.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  11. jj says:

    Good luck today…

    Yay for painfree days!!!!

  12. imstell says:

    Thank you for reminding me that it’s the simplest of things that make our days. And thank the good Lord for providing you a much needed respite before the final push to surgery. I am so glad you are walking into that infusion unit today with a lighter spirit, a lighter chemo load and a lighter boob. 😉 Keep up the good work.

  13. theroadtohome says:

    I’m so happy that you had a wonderful day!

  14. Mummycha says:

    Yeh! Looks like you are kicking the *** of this nasty sucker!

  15. Stimey says:

    I am so happy to read this. Probably not as happy as you are to write it though. I will cross every single one of my fingers and toes for you that you’re able to stay on your current chemo/surgery plan. Hooray for you!

  16. jen says:

    Praying for you today. So glad you had a normal day.🙂

  17. Bev says:

    Very much enjoyed reading your posting. Glad to hear you had a good day. Just come over to read the ‘courageous blogger’ who gets to choose the charity for ‘The Two Things Challenge’!

  18. […] Original post by Time Immortal (ferro ignique gesta res) […]

  19. Bon says:

    yesterday sounds like a wonderful respite…and i too am praying for the neuropathy to stay away and January to bring surgery, and then healing.

  20. katey says:

    My onc has me take a B complex vitamin for the neuropathy. It hasn’t stopped the problem, but it is no longer as severe. It really has helped me. I’m on carboplatin and taxol.

  21. LawyerMama says:

    Oh, that’s wonderful! Stay away neuropathy! Stay away!

  22. Kim says:

    That is so wonderful. I know how precious those “days off” can be. I’m so glad you had a good one. You deserve it!!!

  23. tansiekman says:

    Oh how wonderful for you …. here’s praying that it’s a life without cancer and not just a day. For the rest of your life … for years and years to come!

    Tanya
    The Dairy Wife

  24. planetnomad says:

    YAAYY! Here’s to many, many, many, more…a lifetime of them, in fact!

