We did it!

We did it.  Thanks to the week off, my counts were better and the pain was gone, and I was hooked up for chemotherapy today.  The day was oddly routine, and I’m at home recovering now.  So far, so good.  And best of all, we have only TWO chemo dates remaining.  As long as we keep the neuropathy minimal, I can finish treatment December 27 and proceed to surgery in early to mid January. 

In other words ….

Only 2 more chemo dates!

Hurrah!

P.S. J.M. Tewkesbury, a new reader who found me through DC Blogs Noted, has started a Holiday Party Meme based on her comment here earlier this week that ends in the donation of $5/post, up to $100, to a cancer foundation chosen by little ol’ me.  Debi at 2 Things and Photo a Day is going to match that donation for qualifying posts.  Wow!  What do you think, gals, should it be the Young Survival Coalition, Inflammatory Breast Cancer Foundation, Headhuggers.org, or something else?  YSC and IBCF would use the money to spread awareness.  Headhuggers would use it for postage to mail the chemo caps handknitted by volunteers to cancer patients.  I’d love to hear what you think, since we’re doing this together …. 

43 Responses to We did it!

  1. Margaret says:

    Been waiting all day for this wonderful news! A week off from chemo AND no make-up chemo tacked onto the end. You’re almost there! Hurrah is right!

  2. NoRegrets says:

    Yay! Hope you feel ok…

  3. MammaLoves says:

    YAHOOOO!!!!!

    I’m standing up to do a jig in your honor right now.

  4. ABunsLife says:

    I’m so thankful and thrilled that you are feeling so much better!!!

  5. Jessica says:

    You are amazing for what you are going through. Keep fighting. This stranger is keeping my fingers crossed for more good news and ONLY good news.

  6. “Good Things come to those who Wait…”

    And zowie, Whymommy, this is GREAT!!

    Who knew they’d let you finish with chemo ON TIME!! Wa-hooooooo!!!!

    So glad the rest did you good– you just keep on kickin’ cancer’s ass!!

    Lots of love, CGF xo

  7. theroadtohome says:

    I think a loud WOO HOO is in order!!!!!!!!!

  8. mummycha says:

    Yeah! I am looking forward to the “0 More chemo dates” cake!
    Wishing you no neuropathy/side effects and much happy time with your family

  9. jen says:

    just look at you go…congratulations, WM.

  10. Ally says:

    Oh, I’m so happy to hear that your day went well. That the treatment was “routine.” And that you only have 2 left! Many prayers for you, tonight, my friend!

  11. Jack says:

    You can overcome all the difficulties especially your battle for life. God is watching us, pray hard. God bless you.

  12. Marianne says:

    WOO HOO!! This is great news, WM!

    *does a little dance*

  13. NYfriend says:

    Yahoooo-eey!

    So very happy for you!

  14. 2 more chemos is great! It’s such a roller coaster you’re on. Glad to hear you are feeling better. That must have been very scary.

  15. gwen says:

    I’m happy for you. Glad that things are working out and waiting for more good news…🙂

  16. canape says:

    We didn’t need that stinkin’ “3” candle anyway. “2” is a much more beautiful number.

  17. christine says:

    i’m doing a littel happy dance just for you, love!

  18. Woo-HOOOOO! What great news. I am SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!

    And in regards to the Holiday Party Meme, I am totally blogging it and think its a wonderful idea. I think the IBCF makes sense…it seems fitting to donate to that particular charity. But really, whatever you choose since you know more about them.

  19. Linda L. says:

    Hurray! Hurray! Hurray!

    Love ya,
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  20. Elizabeth says:

    You are seriously kicking this cancer’s ass! Look at that lovely number 2! I’ll continue sending good thoughts your way, and wishes that you keep feeling great. A little neuropathy can’t stop you!

  21. whymommy says:

    Jessica, no one is a stranger here! I treasure every visit, and every comment. You guys are totally helping me get through each day, especially the weekends after each chemo treatment. It’s difficult and painful and uncomfortable, and your words help soothe me and encouage me.

    I must be the luckiest cancer patient in the world.

  22. jj says:

    Yay for #2~!!!!!

  23. Jenny says:

    Oh that is great news!

  24. Nancy says:

    Great news — congrats!

  25. Stella says:

    GREAT news! Hope you’re doing ok!!!

  26. imstell says:

    Woohoo for 2! I vote for IBCF! Lord knows it’s not getting a lot of $$ from anywhere else!

  27. magpie says:

    Oh – good luck recuperating from this week’s chemo and the next one and the LAST one! Thinking of you.

  28. Laurie says:

    I am sending all our wishes and prayers for you to feel good and have a wonderful weekend with the guys.

    I just found your blog this morning – I’m not sure what to say right now other than I am here if you need _anything_ and I love you.

  29. juliepippert says:

    Good news, indeed. Wishing for the exact desired results.🙂

    Julie
    Using My Words

  30. Christy says:

    YEAH!!!!! Nothing else to say but YEAH!!!!!

  31. Just an update: We’re up to $45 at The Chronicles of Tewkesbury and at Two Things Challenge, we’re at $30! Any of the organizations you mention sound like fine charities to me. I know those who have participated thus far are very excited to be a part of this!

    Janet

    P.S. Not that you could know this (and this happens quite often with my new blog where I’m writing under a nom de plume), but I’m a “her” not a “him”. Just FYI… FWIW: This happens all the time in real life, too, because I wear my hair quite short, so I’m use to it and not upset. In fact, it often makes me giggle!

  32. Blake says:

    Hi Susan,

    Just an old friend getting back in touch from PMF days. I was talking to Tod C and he mentioned your blog and I have been reading and learning about your amazing battle. I would love to be in touch, not that you have any time, but it is great to be able to read your blog.

    Sending you strength and joy for the hollidays. And Congratulations on your second beautiful boy!

    Blake

  33. Amazing post.
    I hope you’ll like our diary..
    Thank you again

  34. Cheryl Butler says:

    You have touched my life in ways you cannot imagine, whymommy. I pray for you, widget, little bear and whydaddy everyday.You don’t even know me. But you have become a part of my life. I never leave comments on a blog, but I feel so compelled this time. I am feeling so positive that you will absolutely get better, endure this terribe horror, write a book (the absolute incredible writer you are), etc., and leave this horrible monster behind you forever. I know you must, somehow, feel the love that people like me, probably a lot of strangers, are sending your way . You are well on your way to beating this monster, whymommy, I can feel it!
    Take special care of yourself and take care,

  35. mamma knows says:

    I’m so HAPPY for you and your family, last week was just a bump in the road.
    And why does the Rocky song keep popping in my head?

  36. mummycha says:

    Hi WM, I hope you are coping well with chemo side effects and are having a good night of sleep.
    Just a special thought for you before going to bed

  37. jerseygirl89 says:

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you.

  38. Lindsey says:

    SUCH GOOD NEWS! PHEW!

  39. Janice says:

    So happy for you!!
    Wanted to thank you for your website and sharing your story with the world. You are doing so much for IBC awareness.

    I’m sure you follow all the IBC news, but this was in today’s paper here, FYI. I don’t know her, but she went to my high school.
    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?file=/c/a/2007/12/15/MNQETTOVL.DTL

  40. whymommy says:

    Wow — what a story from San Francisco! I hadn’t heard about her and her participation in this new treatment. It sounds grueling, but I hope it works for her….

  41. Emily says:

    TWO MORE! You can do two more. Oh, my!!!

  42. Pipey03 says:

    I told you so!!!🙂

    God has a plan for you. Can’t wait to see what you’re going to do after surgery. You have work to do.

