Follow up tests

I went in for a breast MRI on Monday, and it didn’t go so well.  WonderDaddy went with me, but of course they didn’t let him in the room.  I did fine with the needles, but we had to stop the MRI twice — the first because the injection site started to burn (indicating that the needle was NOT in the vein properly, and the fluid was going into, well, something else), and the second just after the rapid injection of 18 cc of contrast.  I didn’t know the contrast was going in, but I felt immense amounts of pain, and called out so that the technician would know.  He stopped the MRI and checked for infiltration.  Apparently, the second vein collapsed. 

Two down, none to go.

So they helped me off the table and said to come back Thursday — with the line from chemo still in.  They’ll use that line and try again. 

I really need to complete this test.  We need the results for the pre-op appointment with the surgeon on Monday.  We need to meet with her to determine my readiness for surgery.  And if she says we’re ready, and my medical oncologist says we’re ready, then I really do only have 2 chemotherapy appointments to go.

Thursday is important.  Thursday is so important.  I need to make it to chemo Thursday, and feel good enough to go and have the MRI afterwards.  If we can get these two appointments down, then the rest begins to get set in motion.

I haven’t written much this week because the aches and pains are back in my legs and it makes me crabby.  Also, I have company here — my parents and my brother — and we’re spending lots and lots of time together.  It’s really nice to have them all here.

46 Responses to Follow up tests

  1. Linda L. says:

    Enjoy your family! Wish we could all drop by. Maybe next year! Think the best!

    Love ya,
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. MamaLee says:

    Yes, enjoy your family. And know that we are all praying for thursday to be filled with strength and peace.

    xoxo

  3. Robin says:

    Wrap yourself in the love of your family and friends both near and far, and let that hold you up in the hard days.

    Sending many good thoughts for Thursday and beyond.

  4. I was getting worried after 2 days with no posting, but I’m glad you’re back. I am praying for things to go your way on Thursday…good luck and best wishes. Enjoy your time with your family!!! HUGS!

  5. I will be thinking about you nonstop tomorrow, hoping for the best possible news.

  6. Paulette says:

    I hear the urgency you feel, I am praying for everything to go as planned. I will not stop praying for you.
    I am thankful you have your family, may the Lord give you a sweet time together.
    Blessings to you during this time, we are here as your prayer warriors!

  7. Highheelsbackwards says:

    I’ll be thinking of you on Thursday and sending all of my wishes and prayers. Best of luck!

  8. mamma knows says:

    Praying that everything goes great Thursday

  9. Kate says:

    I’ll be thinking of you (all the time, actually), but especially on Thursday. I’ll be sharing my strength with you. Enjoy your time with your family.

  10. Binky says:

    You’ve got my prayers for a successful Thursday, and then a whole lot more.

  11. Stimey says:

    I’ll also be thinking of you Thursday. You have all my love and good vibes.

  12. Stella says:

    Enjoy your family time! Thinking of you, especially tomorrow!
    Sending tons of good strong vibes for tomorrow!!

  13. Lisa says:

    All our love and good vibes coming your way! Keep on keeping on and enjoy your family! We are praying for Thursday and all to go as you wish.
    XOXOXOXO

  14. imstell says:

    I’ve often wondered why they didn’t give you a port-a-cath right off the bat with your diagnosis. Do you know why? Chemo is so hard on your veins. At any rate, it goes without sayingthat you have our prayers for the best and most successful Thursday chemo and MRI on record. 🙂 I am glad you are getting lots of quality time with your family. It’s all the more special these days, is it not.

    Note to the “other” Stella: What’s with our posting always on top of each other??? 😉

  15. theroadtohome says:

    Praying for a smooth and productive Thursday…..

  16. Pat says:

    Happy Holidays! Please give your parents, John and your wonderful family a hug from us! I read as does M every day to keep in touch! I was thinking about Christmas memories the other day and your grandmother’s and her nut roll came to mind…. My mouth watered!!! HAHAHA Just know I am just a thought away..that itch on your shoulder!!!! Love you P

  17. NoRegrets says:

    Happy holidays to you. Hope all goes well.

  18. Marianne says:

    Enjoy the family time!

    Praying for smooth going tomorrow.

  19. jj says:

    Sending love….

    I’ll be thinking of you until that test is done.

  20. Danielle says:

    Oh my…NEVER apologize for not posting in the interest of spending time with your family. Go…spend….be familial! Enjoy the holidays. And I’ll be rooting for an ambitious and successful Thursday!

  21. canape says:

    HI BRO!

    Glad you are getting some family time in. Hope you guys are having a blast.

  22. Here’s to Thursday and to appointments that are on. time.! Hope you get in and out quick.

  23. Mummycha says:

    I hope so much that tomorrow everything goes as planned, so that … on XMas’ eve our XMas wish (I bet all your friends here share the same wish!) be fulfilled: that you get the good news you are waiting for!

    Wishing you a great time with your family and lots of strength for tomorrow

  24. Praying extra hard for you, Whymommy… it’s going to be so wonderful to have this MRI over with, and “phase two” of the Cancer Ass Kickin’ set in motion…

    Enjoy your family time!! My brother rocks. my. world. I’m sure the visit will be every bit as good for you as the “real” medicine.

    loads of love “with sugar on top” (as my kids say)

    xo CGF

  25. Emily says:

    I am sorry to hear that. I will be sending positive vibes, my friend.

  26. Qutecowgirl says:

    I am sending positive thoughts your way that tomorrow goes well.

    =)

  27. planetnomad says:

    Hope all goes well on Thursday. But don’t put too much pressure on yourself; if for some reason it doesn’t, it will still work out…just not with the timing that you and all of us are hoping for. You are strong and doing great. Hang in there.

  28. Joanna says:

    Prayers to you that all goes well, tomorrow, WM. Please get us an update if you can. You will be on my mind…

  29. MamaMaven says:

    Sending you positive vibes and prayers that all goes well tomorrow with both the chemo and the MRI. Hope its 1 down and 1 to go by the time the day is over!

  30. Hi WhyMommy!

    We’re wrapping up our Holiday Party Charity Event Meme today. A lot of folks have participated and we’ve raised close to $200. Have you decided which charity you’d like to benefit from a contribution? Please let me know and I’ll make out a check and send it off.

    Continuing to send best wishes and positive vibes your way!

    Janet

  31. This reminds me of the part of the Boston Marathon they refer to as Heartbreak Hill. You just have to make it up Heartbreak Hill and you’re home free.

  32. Margaret says:

    Dear Santa:

    We have way too stupid much stuff, so please don’t bring us anything. Just bring WhyMommy an easy last 2 chemo sessions, an all-clear from the MRI, release from the nausea and bone pain, clear margins n January, and plenty of confidence for the future. You may have been planning to bring her an extra helping of strength this year, but, really, she’s got tons of that already, as I’m sure you’ve noticed. (Who couldn’t?) A little shout-out from George Clooney wouldn’t be a bad idea, though.

    Love,
    The WhyMommy Fan Club

  33. Sheila says:

    You are in my thoughts and prayers daily. My holiday season is all the brighter because of your inspiration. You have helped me focus on what matters most. The posts about dancing in the rain and how you are fighting for those little boys are amazing.

    I hope tomorrow is a better day for you and you are able to get the tests you need. Heres to an end to chemo and a full recovery.

  34. Jenn says:

    There are so many things I wish I could give you.

    Please know that your prayers are mine tonight.

  35. Joc says:

    Prayers and positive thoughts for a perfect Thursday, perfect in this case meaning everything going exactly according to plan, no humps in the road, no detours.

  36. Tara-Lynn says:

    Sending lots of good thoughts your way. So nice to have your family with you….they will be a help and support.

    Stay strong….hopefully the end will soon be in sight!

  37. Ally says:

    Hang in there, sweet one. I’m praying for very good news for you tomorrow, and for strong, resiliant veins. Hugs and more hugs!

  38. Bon says:

    this has got to be so hard, Susan. i too am hoping for strong, resilient veins, and all the news you want to hear tomorrow. and strength…your continued grace and strength, no matter what.

  39. fizzledink says:

    Prayers for you tomorrow, hon. I’m glad you’re visiting with family and trying to have fun. I hope the aches and pains and crankiness ease soon.

  40. Dawn says:

    absolutely – enjoy the fam!

  41. sherry says:

    Sending prayers for Thursday!!!!

  42. chaotic joy says:

    Praying for Thursday. Enjoy your family.

  43. mo-wo says:

    You know WhyMo you write soooo well. I am hoping you can soon feel as well as you write.

    Thinking of you … Thinking of you Thursday. Wishing the pressure wasn’t there but all at once also hopeful that the opportunity around that corner can be had.

    Be crabby. I mean what’s a blog for??

  44. tansiekman says:

    You’re in my prayers and stay positve that there are only two left … the MRI is good and you’re on your way to surgery!

    Tanya
    The Dairy Wife

  45. NYfriend says:

    Oh that bites! I hope the next MRI goes smoothly.

    You’ll get there WhyMommy, and I’ll especially be thinking of you tomorrow (later today, that is).

    Hugs.

  46. Andamom says:

    I’m always so impressed with your strength and calm… Seeing the 1 more chemo cake made me realize that you made it through this second MRI and things are on track for a completion of this dreadful process. What’s the target date for everything to finish?

