The word is …

Operable.  We spoke to the surgeon this morning, and the radiologist read our films.  There is still cancer in the breast, in several spots, but it is AWAY from the chest wall, and the cancer is operable.  We’re headed to surgery in January.  Praise God.  After 6 months of chemotherapy, the cancer is now operable.

I know it’s Christmas Eve, but I couldn’t wait to tell you the good news. 

Wishing you peace, joy, and laughter ….
WhyMommy, WhyDaddy, Widget, and Little Bear

ornament

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

96 Responses to The word is …

  1. The best news ever! And on Xmas Eve, too!

  2. debra says:

    What wonderful news! I’m so happy!

  3. Amy says:

    Congratulations! I just have to tell you of another service your blog has provided. I’m a social worker & had to accompany a client to her full body pet/cat scan and appoinment with her Dr – for him to give her the diagnosis. (Not the easiest day in the world…) Because I’ve been reading your blog I knew questions to ask, things to look for….

    Thanks!

  4. BetteJo says:

    What a wonderful Christmas present! Have the merriest one ever!

  5. Heather! says:

    What sweet and wonderful news!

  6. deb says:

    The very best Christmas present. Take care sweetie.

  7. Kristin says:

    Merry Christmas to you and yours and thanks so much for sharing the wonderful news.

  8. Danielle says:

    Whew.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    XOX,
    Danielle

  9. Jacquie says:

    Merry Christmas to you all. What a nice present.

  10. sarah says:

    Hi there..
    I read your blog everyday and i just wanted to say what absolutely fantastic news.
    Have a very VERY Happy Christmas..you deserve it.

    Sarah.

  11. mummycha says:

    Great news! We are so happy for you!

    Merry Christmas and Best Wishes to you and your family

    MummyCha, DaddyCha, LuluCha, and LoloCha

  12. carosgram says:

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

  13. I have tears of joy for you! May you have a lovely Christmas with your family and a quick and easy recovery after surgery.

  14. canape says:

    Add this to the list of things that has made me cry this week.

    Thank God. Thank God. Thank God.

    Love you much.

  15. margaret says:

    That must be the best Christmas gift ever! Congrats and Merry Christmas!

  16. debi says:

    That is such wonderful news. God Bless and keep you. Merry Christmas. love ,debi

  17. Jan says:

    Just….YAY!!!

  18. It'smeDe says:

    Suh-weeeet! I read your blog everyday but never comment. Today, with such fabulous news…I couldn’t help myself.
    Merry Christmas and congratulations!

  19. Qutecowgirl says:

    Well that is great christmas news. Enjoy your holiday with your family = )

  20. Yet, once again, tears streaming down as I read. To say “I’m happy for you” just doesn’t do it justice. There aren’t words.

    Just wonderful.

    Enjoy your Christmas and hug those babies🙂

  21. kerri4 says:

    I said a prayer for you at church tonight and came home to read this wonderful news. Merry Christmas!

  22. hotfessional says:

    Oh, Merry Merry Christmas! What wonderful news.
    And it’s going to be a happy new year for you, I feel it.

  23. Dawn says:

    Merry Christmas! What wonderful news on Christmas🙂

  24. Carrie says:

    Oh, I am so glad about that! A very Merry Chsistmas indeed!

  25. b*babbler says:

    Oh, that is the very best of Christmas news!

    Have a wonderful season, as you look forward to a good start to 2008.

  26. Stimey says:

    Merry Christmas to you! What a wonderful thing to be able to celebrate tomorrow. And the next day, and every day after that.

    I am really happy for you. So happy. And so relieved. Thank you for telling us tonight!

  27. Marie T says:

    I’m getting all teared up reading this — what terrific news this is. So very happy for you all. Peace and comfort to you and Merry Christmas.

  28. SuzyQatHome says:

    Best. Christmas. Present. Possible!

    Enjoy your Christmas! All our love to you, Wonderdaddy, Widget & Little Bear.

  29. Michelle says:

    I haven’t written to you before but I’ve been following your story and I’m just so happy at your latest news. It made my night.

  30. Christy says:

    What great news!!! Now you can celebrate!!

  31. bubandpie says:

    Great news. Merry Christmas!

  32. Jenn says:

    PTL! What a wonderful Christmas gift! I found you through Canape, read regularly, lurk alot and usually don’t comment. But this, this deserves a huge HALLELUJA!!!!🙂

  33. How wonderful! What a wonderful Christmas it is!

  34. I came on here to see how you were doing, and I’m so thrilled. The best Christmas present ever. Go bull!

  35. jenn says:

    Oh, what a fabulous Christmas present! So happy for you!

  36. Oh, Whymommy….

    Just WAIT till I tell the Girlies tomorrow morning– Christmas morning!! They ask about you every day, and you have been in our prayers.

    What a wonderful “gift”. I’m SO happy for you and your family!!

    Merry, merry Christmas!!

    xoxo CGF

  37. NYfriend says:

    Yippee! So very, very happy for you.

    Merry Christmas!

  38. FENICLE says:

    Merry Christmas to you & your family!!!!!

    God Bless.

  39. Imstell says:

    Thank you so much for giving us the news so we didn’t have to worry tomorrow morning. I was concerned that you’d get all wrapped up in the festivities and family and forget about us waiting out here in the blogosphere wings. 😉

    The news is so wonderful! One more chemo. Surgery in a few weeks. Clean borders right around the corner. 2008 is shapin’ up pretty nicely if you ask me.

    Merry, merry Christmas WhyMommy, WhyDaddy,
    Widget and Little Bear.

  40. Robin says:

    A truly wonderful Christmas present. May it be the first in a very long series of good news.

    Merry Christmas to you, WD, Widget and Little Bear.

  41. Cheryl says:

    I am so happy for you! Have a wonderful Christmas.

  42. motherofbun says:

    Yeay! AM so happy for you! Merry Christmas to all of you. (Should I send you some Ski to celebrate? heehee.)

  43. Marianne says:

    Thank you for the news! The word is good, and God is too! What a great Christmas present.

  44. musingmommy says:

    Yay!! What a wonderful Christmas gift.

  45. MamaLee says:

    I am so THRILLED that you received this special gift. Absolutely thrilled!

    xoxo

  46. mamma knows says:

    That’s an awesome present🙂

  47. ‘Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus’
    ❤ babe.

  48. Sandy says:

    A Merry Christmas indeed. 🙂

  49. kim says:

    ❤ xox

    kim..

  50. workoutmommy says:

    That is wonderful news!!! Merry Christmas!

  51. kankie says:

    2008 is looking great for your family. Enjoy the next few weeks before surgery! Use your arms as much as you can and hug your boys!!!! Oh and WhyDaddy of course.

  52. coolbeans says:

    That is a wonderful word. What a great day to get good news!

    I hope you’re having a very Merry Christmas.

  53. sherry says:

    What a wonderful Christmas gift! Many blessings to you and your family…may all the wishes in your heart be the blessings you so richy deserve!!

    Merry Christmas!

  54. Char says:

    What a wonderful gift for you and your family this holiday season! I hope that you are having a great time celebrating this fabulous news. Happy Holidays!

  55. Mel says:

    That is fantastic news! Congratulations🙂

  56. Emily says:

    What a perfect Christmas post. Congratulations!

  57. Jen says:

    Oh Susan. **Tears of joy** What a wonderful Christmas present! Enjoy those boys this week!

  58. luckyzmom says:

    So happy for you and yours:)

  59. Operable. Whoever thought that word could hold so much magic. That’s wonderful news.

  60. Susan K says:

    How wonderful!

    Reading this at the end of a very fun, very exhausting Christmas.

    First, my yorkshire pudding was PERFECT.

    And now, OPERABLE.

    GREAT NEWS.

    Much love, Merry Chirstmas, and bring on January!!

  61. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    Praise God forever. Sounds great.

  62. spacemom says:

    WOOT! YEAH! WHOOHOO!

  63. ColleenZ says:

    Dear WM —

    I cannot tell you how overjoyed I was to see this news on Christmas Day. Praise be to God. I hope your Christmas was full of love, laughter, joy, toys, candy canes, and hallelujahs!. God Bless You, Every One!.

  64. platespinner says:

    well merry christmas! that is utterly, incredibly fantastic!

  65. Noregrest says:

    Oh that is so wonderful! I’m sure your Christmas was made because of that.

  66. mcgearstella says:

    That is WONDERFUL!!! I am crying I am so happy for you!!!
    Best Christmas present!

    Merry Merry! Hope your day was better than GREAT!

  67. Paulette says:

    Wow amazing news. Merry Christmas and I pray this next new year is life changing for you and your family. I will continue to pray that miracle on your behalf.
    May the Lord richly Bless you today.

  68. Heather says:

    Susan, I have been lurking here for a while and I was so happy to just now read this post. I will be praying for you. You inspire me and I thank you for that. Merry Christmas!

  69. Carol Anne says:

    Wooo Hoooo!
    There Couldn’t Be a Better Gift!

  70. Kat says:

    What wonderful news! I hope your Christmas was the merriest!

    Hugs!
    Kat

  71. mo-wo says:

    Merry Christmas Why Mo. I hope it was a lovely day for you all. Wishing you a wonderfully happy New Year ahead.

  72. ella says:

    What fantastic news! And a wonderful Christmas present for you!

  73. juliepippert says:

    Oh what GREAT news and timing! I am thrilled for you!

    Here’s to clean margins and a happy new year.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  74. High heels backwards says:

    I am SO happy for you. All the best!

    EMW

  75. […] bloggers for building community online. I am really excited to be receiving this! Thank you, Susan! And everyone should go and congratulate her on her good news. Susan is battling inflammatory breast cancer, and she has been dealing with chemotherapy treatments […]

  76. The perfect Christmas gift! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday. Sending warm wishes and hugs…

  77. Brooks says:

    Wonderful news!

    xo xo xo

  78. PrettyTulip says:

    Such a wonderful Christmas gift! Have a great holiday.

  79. Susan,

    How awesome. Praise God.

    Tanya

  80. jen says:

    YOU!!! keep kicking that stupid cancer in the ass, friend.

    YOU!! woohoo!

  81. whymommy says:

    Thank you, everyone! Merry Christmas to all!

  82. beanmom says:

    Oh, so happy for you, Whymommy! I’m a lurker, but just had to delurk to offer my congratulations on this fantastic news! Merry merry Christmas to you and your loved ones!

  83. Damselfly says:

    *Such good news!* Hope you had a Merry Christmas!

  84. Binky says:

    Merry Christmas! May this great news bring you into a happy, happy new year.

  85. phatsheep says:

    WHOOO HA! And Merry Christmas to you!

  86. APL says:

    So happy to read this. A belated Merry Christmas to your family!

  87. Bless you Susan. Bright blessings on this & all it could mean. You are such an inspiration.

  88. tori says:

    Hooray! That is such a great Christmas present. (and who ever thought THAT would be what we wished for before cancer, right????)

  89. giftofgreen says:

    AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

  90. Ally says:

    Operable. That is the best word EVER!

  91. jj says:

    Fricken awesome.

    I am so happy.

    Hope you had a peaceful holiday!

  92. Mrs. Mustard says:

    What an amazing Christmas gift. Good luck to you and we are ever praying for you!

  93. delilah says:

    Just checking in now… fantastic news! Merry Christmas and wishing you a happy, healthy 2008.

  94. WorksForMom says:

    Just gettting back and catching up. My heart is BEAMING for you my friend.

    B-E-A-M-I-N-G!

    Sincerest wishes for a happy and healthy 2008!

  95. MamaMaven says:

    Wonderful news! Hope that you enjoyed your Christmas and that the LAST chemo treatment went well!

  96. amanda says:

    Sweet blessings!

