Chemo #16

Sixteen, baby! 

I’m on my way to chemo number SIXTEEN.  I’ve now had FOUR treatments of AC, three weeks apart, and TWELVE weekly treatments of Taxol, with only one week off (when my legs stopped listening to me). 

What a year.

Today is my very last chemo of the year, and HOPEFULLY for quite a long time.  I am so very very excited.

I’ve worn the same pink converse tennies to every teatment.  They’re easy to slip on and off in the high chemo chair, and their brightness gives me a little smile when I glimpse them throughout the day.  They’re fightin’ shoes.  I’ve often worn the same pink and white striped hoodie to treatment too.  Pink is the color of awareness and of fighting cancer, and I’ve spent this year doing both.  I’ve worn them proudly with my bald head (okay, the hoodie does go nicely over my head when it’s cold in the chemo chair) this year, and it’s, by and large, been a success.

Today I will get the news from my medical oncologist (the one who oversees the chemo) that this is my last chemo and it’s ok to proceed to surgery as the surgical oncologist (the one who cuts) recommends.  I’m sooooo excited.  I’ve got my new films and reports ready to go.  Got my crosswords.  Got my new book that I bought on our chemo date last night.  Fresh bread from a friend is toasting downstairs, and it and chocolate milk (also in my chemo bag today! what a treat!) are coming with me in the car for breakfast if I run out of time (hello, blogging!).  I’m almost giddy about going to treatment today, because I’m confident it will be the last one.

So confident that I’m wearing red (my signature color) today instead of the pink hoodie.  I’m ready to start moving beyond chemotherapy, and, soon, moving beyond cancer.

But I’m still wearing my pink connies.  Just in case.

30 Responses to Chemo #16

  1. Congratulations, good luck, hallelujah, and Happy New Year!

  2. Go, Girl!! Go!!

    Can’t tell you how happy and excited we are for you…

    All our love, CGF and Girlies 3

  3. margaret says:

    That’s very exciting. What a way to start the new year!

  4. Kate says:

    This is such fantastic news! I have tears in my eyes, and a lump in my throat, as I think of you, and all that you have been through. I’m so glad that this is your last chemo.

  5. imstell says:

    Don’t forget to pack your tissues! You’re sure to puddle up. What a long a winding road, my friend. I am so glad for you!

  6. canape says:

    Good luck! I’m so excited about the end being near🙂

  7. Kat says:

    You go girl! Can’t wait to hear all about your day. Good luck!

    Hugs!
    Kat

  8. Margaret says:

    Here’s what I think will happen: By the day of surgery, you’ll have had time for the two post-MRI chemo sessions to do their work, too, so when the surgeon takes a look around she’s going to find NO remaining cancer, not near the chest wall and not anywhere else. The surgery itself and the radiation will just be insurance for you, a guarantee that you’ll be wearing a triumphant red hoodie from now on.

  9. Susan K says:

    I can’t wait for the picture of the cake, with a big fat ZERO candle on it!

    Thinking of you. Smiling for you. Feeling light with you! No pink shoes here, but, by chance, a pink turtleneck!

    And hoping to SEE you in a couple weeks – pending surgery date decisions. Would be thrilled to have to put it off because you are recovering from that!

  10. Paulette says:

    Wooo Hooo You go! I pray for you as you go, I love your spirit! Cannot wait to hear the next step.
    Have a Blessed day!

  11. Heather! says:

    You amaze me with your resilience, your unbounding love, your determination. Next year will bring more healing and goodness….a first birthday for your little man!

  12. maggie says:

    You have the best spirit – I love it! I hope it went well today.

  13. cheryl says:

    Thank god!🙂

  14. mcgearstella says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! You’re spirit is great and I can’t help but smile as I think about those pink Cons and you finishing this off today and moving on!!!

  15. Bon says:

    pink converse are just cool, dude. i hope 2008 is a fabulous and healing year for you.🙂

  16. Mummycha says:

    Are you playing in this new Rambo movie??? I can imagine you ass-kicking villain cancer cells with your pink connies! Bye, IBC!
    Congratulations!

  17. mamma knows says:

    Amen and congrats!!

  18. Joc says:

    Congratulations and Good Luck!

  19. and it is 35 degrees C here today and I am wearing mine too. To keep you in my thoughts and when people ask me if I am out of my mind wearing them on such a hot day I can say I am wearing them to keep my friend company.

  20. CE says:

    Thinking of you and wishing you and your family all the best. You are a strong person, both inside and out, and a true inspiration. Keep fighting!

  21. Ally says:

    Hooray! I am just so excited for you, and was thrilled to read this entry. I hope today went well, that you got all the good news you were expecting, and that soon you’ll be in surgery! Wow, what a year. You are so strong and amazing. Many hugs to you!

  22. NYfriend says:

    Looking forward to hearing how it went today (I’m patient though! Rest up. ;)). Hope it was smooth sailing for you, and you are resting well tonight. 🙂

  23. Angela says:

    Thinking of you tonight and wishing you sweet dreams, restful sleep and a Happy New Year!

  24. You go strong woman! Kick cancer in the ass with those pink converse of yours.

  25. Laura and I at 25 Days would like to send you a little something to celebrate and wish you luck! Where would you like us to send it??? We are very happy for you!

  26. mayberry says:

    I’m so thrilled for you! Reading your updates this week brought the biggest smiles to my face. You are a survivor!

  27. KDF says:

    You are one. Awesome. Lady.

    And wearing the RED hoodie. Woo hoo!!🙂

