Oops. I spoke too soon.

Yeah.  I spoke too soon.  Apparently 6 days after chemo, it was a little ambitious to try to take care of my whole household, baby those who are sick, teach and care for those who are well, put away all the Christmas stuff, and swoop up the outgrown baby stuff for donations and freecycle. 

Yesterday, I cried uncle and called in the support troops.  Gramma and Grampa came down to help, giving me a day to rest before my own fever went higher, and giving the boys a day with their grandparents while Daddy recovered.  It was the best present ever.

I think we’re better today, after a day off, but, then I thought that last night too, after I spent 2+ hours putting Widget to bed … just before he came out in the hall and vomited all over both of us.  Great.  Maybe another day will do it.

… 

I did get to read a really amazing novel while putting the boys to bed this week … If on a winter’s night a traveler, by Italo Calvino.  What an eye-opening piece of work.  It was written in 1979, after some academics had declared the novel “dead,” and its form and content show it to be anything but.  What an interesting diversion, and a pleasant book about reading.  Not writing; reading.  It’s a strange little book, with 10 short stories purporting to be beginnings of actual novels, with different characters, themes, techniques, etc — but always a thread of similarity running through them, like a repeated character name or political conflict.  It’s very self-conscious as well, as if you were looking over someone’s shoulder reading the first few chapters, and then between the chapters there is a different novel taking place, interactions between The Reader, which may or may not be taken to be you, the actual reader, and The Other Reader, who joins The Reader in a story that begins quite calmly and turns into a world-spanning adventure to unearth the endings of these novels, and the reasons why they came to be dismembered.  The book talks about reading as an active way of seeing the world, and about the world as if one were reading it.  Really, an eye-opening book.  To find out more, I’d suggest reading the reviews on Amazon — not Wikipedia, as it ruins one of the best parts of the novel.  You can also read this first excerpt instead, or just hunt it down at the library.  It’s a good one!

11 Responses to Oops. I spoke too soon.

  1. Kristin says:

    I too enjoyed that book. I think I need to read it again, though. It was a little confusing. I hope you feel better soon.

  2. Robin says:

    One step at a time, buddy. You don’t have to make up for all those months in one day. Chemo is finished and the future is looking bright – you’ve got the time.

    Sending over a big batch of cyber soup and a vat of my special “cold tea” to boost those immune systems.

  3. Aw, shucks! Hope all are feeling better soon! We all had a nasty little bug before Christmas. Made me lose two entire days that I had packed full of errands and such that I could do while the kids were at school and I wasn’t. So much for great planning. We kicked it and you guys will, too!

    The only good thing about everyone getting the bug, I say, is all the great cuddles that come from the wee ones when they are under the weather.

    :: Feel better vibes :: comin’ your way🙂

  4. MammaLoves says:

    Feel better. I’ve got the cruds. I’m hoping to make Monday night.

    Thanks for the recommendation. Sounds like an interesting book.

  5. Stimey says:

    Mmmm. Shared vomit. That’s the best kind, you know.

    We were on our way into karate today when Jack barfed all over the parking lot. Awesome. Needless to say, we had to turn right around and walk back to the car.

    I hope the WhyMommy household gets well soon!

  6. I adored the beginning of that book about shopping in bookstores, but then put it down and haven’t finished it. Working on reading short stories for now, but you may have inspired a return.

  7. clifford says:

    Yet, more importantly: your Jordan’s Jots on that book is due. Bring a red pen.

  8. Sucks when you are all sick. I did laugh though when I read that you had to cry Uncle.🙂 I was a little shocked at your ambitious day.

    Wont be long babe. Before you know it all that will be expected of you again. And I know you will revel in it!

    Sending another refill of those hugs.

  9. Bon says:

    you’re a genuine doer, aren’t you? ’cause when i read your last post, i was thinking, “wow am i lazy.”🙂

    glad you got a bit of respite and rest, sorry to hear Widget’s still, erm, spewish…and the book sounds great.

    be well. be good to you.

  10. Ally says:

    I hope you’re all feeling much better now and there’s no more barfing or fevers at your house!

    I haven’t read that book but enjoyed The Baron in the Trees. Thanks for this good tip; I’ll add this book to my list!

  11. planetnomad says:

    The thing I didn’t like about that book was that each excerpt ended JUST as I was really getting into it! V frustrating. But, of course, also excellent.

    I love your blog. I just caught up on your last several posts. I love your new “buttons” and I’m counting down the days with you!

