Preparing…

So, if you were having life-changing surgery in 16 days, what would you do?  Would you spend every moment with your kids?  Tidy your home?  Finish those projects you’ve been putting off?  Try to acccomplish something big at work?  Cook extra dinners for your recovery time?  Move important items to lower shelves so you can reach them while you heal?

I’m working on all of those things and more.  (Well, except the dinners.  We all know I’m no cook.)  So far this week, I’ve caught up on the laundry, the cleaning, the putting away of the seasonal decorations, spent oodles of time with my kids (my oldest one helps; my youngest one crawls nearby and practices pulling himself up on the laundry baskets), read them to sleep, been there when they wake up, sang songs, caught some “teachable moments,” set up an appointment at a preschool, written a post about current affairs for DC Metro Moms, and made plans for some work events in February.

Tonight I went shopping.  But it wasn’t just any old trip.  Tonight I went with the express purpose of finding something pretty to hang on my closet doors — something that I can’t fit into now because of my (post-nursing, swollen and cancerous) boobs, but that I will fit into just fine after the surgery.  Something to look forward to, as it were.  Something light, sleeveless, and not necessarily something that anyone else needs to know about.  But something that I couldn’t ever wear before, and I can wear after.

Something with spaghetti straps, perhaps?  Or a racer back?   Or absolutely no support at all?

I went hunting, all right, and I’m not saying whether I found anything.  In fact, I might even go again, and look for something even nicer.  But one thing is clear.  I’m still looking forward to the surgery, and today the reason is this:

– Because I will be able to wear things that I could never wear before.

16days

January 22, here we come!

28 Responses to Preparing…

  1. Stimey says:

    I would not clean my home. But then I would be sad when I came home to a filthy house.

    If I were you, I would live my next 15 days as if they were just the next 15 days of a long and productive life. ‘Cause they are. (And frankly, I think you tend to live life to the fullest, regardless of what you have in front of you.)

    And definitely shop for those support-free garments. You’ll be a whole new you. In a lot of ways, I imagine. All of them good.

  2. lawyermama says:

    Ooooh, support free! I love your attitude, babe.

  3. Ally says:

    Wow, the day of your surgery is so quickly approaching! I love your idea of buying something you’ll be able to wear afterward. And I’m totally in favor of something with no support where you can flop around comfortably! (But then I am a real bra hater myself).

  4. theroadtohome says:

    What a grand way of thinking! I am so glad that you are treating yourself to something pretty and delicate. If that does not make you feel good, what will?🙂

  5. Anne says:

    I love your idea of buying something pretty! I’m having a major surgery soon to remove a mass from my lower abdomen as well as at least half of my colon (possibly the entire colon). I’m spending lots of time dancing with my 3-year-old daughter, letting her crawl all over me to her heart’s content, and cleaning my house. I’m also gathering my stacked up un-read magazines/books to have handy to read during my recover, buying some comfy new PJs and panties just because I think they will make me feel better, and teaching my hubby things like how to brush my baby’s teeth and where her PJs are!
    I’m excited for you that you are done with chemo and ready for this next step! My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  6. OOOh exciting! Shopping and a countdown!

    Cant wait to see your pretty. I loves me some pretty. I did the same thing after major abdominal surgery when Too was Widgets age.

    15 days….. just remember in Oz we are one day ahead!

  7. When my grandmother had her mastectomy they gave her a camisole with some “fluffy” breasts inside. They rode up pretty badly, so you may not want to wear the breasts but she said that the shirt felt nice. If you’ll have staples, you’ll want something that doesn’t snag easily. And of course you need to worry about swelling under your arms and to the sides. So maybe some silky cool tanks? Then you can add a cardigan if you’d like and look really nice with the comfort. Thinking of you!

  8. Damn, you have the BEST attitude. I think its a great idea, get something lovely and comfy and pretty–you more than deserve it!

  9. You know what I bet will feel wonderful? Once you’ve recovered from the surgery, unhindered yoga.

    If I were you I’d go to http://www.lululemon.com or somewhere indulgent and pricey like that and invest in some really gorgeous, butt-lifting, new-chest-freeing yogawear, to get ready not just for a yoga practice for powerful healing but a yoga practice for powerful living.

    Know what I mean?

    I love hearing the chutzpah in your voice, the knowing of what this symbolizes for you. I’m refreshed and excited for you. I know it’s huge, and it’s surgery, but it’s the end of this tunnel, and that is so, so, so fantastic.

    With you every single day,
    xo

  10. Paulette1958 says:

    You are such an encouragement to so many, and I love the way you are preparing. I wish we could all be right there waiting on you and pampering you, but I am sure you will be well taken care of.
    I can’t wait for this to all be behind you so you can look forward to a new rich future,
    Blessings and Iam praying for you!

  11. Stella says:

    Your attitude just amazes me! Seriously amazes me!!

    I would probably just continue shopping!😉 And of course spending time with the family and my kids. I wouldn’t clean the house…well, maybe not until the day before. I would let the husband or my mom do that…it makes them feel useful! (or at least thats what I tell myself!! 😉 )

    I’m loving the countdown!!
    Thinking of you

  12. Susan K says:

    Cleaning the home, no.

    Dinners – yes. And even if you are no cook – have you tried one of those “assemble it yourself” places – Dishing up Dinner or Dream Dinners or similar. We’ve made dinners at 2 of them and have been pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of the results. Loads up the freezer real fast and is “semi” homemade. And fun to do – especially if you leave the kids with the grandfolks and make it a date with hubby!

    So – if work is starting in Feb. does that mean this weekend won’t work? I know you’ve been fighting illness in your family and maybe want to just chill this Saturday….

  13. imstell says:

    Definately dinners. As I said before, put everything at shoulder height or below if you use it often. Button up shirts. If you are like me you lack in these. But it will be hard to pull on a tshirt for a few weeks.

  14. Dawn says:

    I would get food set up – only b/c I was starving hungry all the time after bringing Alex home and there was nothing ready to eat.

    Buy something in a halter style that no bra would be able to fit under. Maybe even in satin.

  15. Jen says:

    I so want to say “You go girl!” but I hate that! LOL! I too love the idea of something pretty and supportless. And SKIP PINK! ha! Go for lavender or spring green. 🙂

    Big hugs without boobs in the way. (((()))))

  16. brandy says:

    I can’t remember if I’ve posted here before, but I’ve been trying to stay up on your news. I came here from the Goodyblog and I don’t know you, but can I just say I am BEYOND excited for what this month holds for you. Would “congratulations” be a weird sentiment?

    As for the next 15 days, I say do whatever the heck you want. You have earned it! Laundry and house clutter will still be there once you’ve healed. You can never get ahead of that game. Play with your sweet boys, have dates, go shopping!

  17. canape says:

    Even something strapless. Ahhhh.

    Wish I was there to stock your freezer.

  18. juliepippert says:

    Racer back, for sure. And yes, go back and treat yourself twice.

  19. clifford says:

    I think Stimey put it best.

    “If I were you, I would live my next 15 days as if they were just the next 15 days of a long and productive life. ‘Cause they are.”

    The days of anxiety are quickly coming to an end. Unless you count saving up for your kids’ college eduation. 😀

  20. Allison says:

    Fellow recipient of double mastectomy here, delurking.

    Had one mastectomy for the cancer (my baby was eight weeks old), the next per my request.

    Anyway, just wanted to say: Having a double mastectomy for sure has changed my life. But it has changed my life *a heck of a lot less* than I ever would have guessed. It barely makes my radar screen most days. I hope this is the case for you as well.

    Your attitude seems incredibly upbeat and positive, and I am full of admiration and respect. Best of luck to you!

    P.S. Land’s End catalogue has some very nice mastectomy swimsuits.

  21. Jennifer says:

    Love the no support idea! As for other ideas, have fun, no cooking, cleaning, or doing things you just don’t want to do!

  22. whymommy says:

    Congratulations is DEFINITELY in order — and thanks!

  23. candygirlflies says:

    I think if it were me choosing something for you, it would be AAAALLLLL about the MATERIAL… Something SOFT… And LUXURIOUS…. Think silk… or cashmere, baby!!

    You are beautiful. You WILL BE beautiful.

    And CANCER FREE!!

    It just doesn’t get better than that!!

    oodles of love from CGF xo

  24. Carol Anne says:

    I am so proud and amazed by your attitude. Every time I stop by here, you inspire me. Thank you!

  25. Leeanthro says:

    When I had breast reduction surgery, I bought a Victoria’s Secret camisole trimmed in lace with spaghetti straps that I would never have been able to wear before.

    It’s nice to do something frivolous for yourself from time to time.

  26. SuzyQatHome says:

    I’d forget the chores and get some extra yoga, stretching and strengthening exercises in. Spend as much time with family as possible to load up on emotional strength. Spend any remotely nice days outside at the park. Stock up at the bookstore or build an Amazon wish list that my support team could use to shower me with gifts (hint. hint)

    I’d go play a round of golf so I could remember what a pain in the a** big boobs are.

    Then if there was any time left over I’d spend it filling the freezer and arranging for weekly housekeeping services🙂 But then I love to cook and hate to clean.

    I love that you are shopping for pretty things. Don’t forget that sometimes the “prettiest” ones are about how they feel rather than how they actually look. I’d think sumptuous fabrics and textures. And red. Of course.

  27. Emily says:

    If people with a lot less to be negative about could be as positive as you are…

  28. motherofbun says:

    Yes! Yes! Get LOTS of pretty, pretty things.🙂

