I’m home.

I’m home.  I’m safe.  My blood pressure is back to normal and they released me from the hospital this morning.  After a harrowing drive through downtown (seriously – were there that many potholes when we drove down on Tuesday?), I’m all tucked into bed and spending the day quietly recovering.  Reading.  Thinking.  Emptying my drains (ugh).  More about the nuts and bolts of recovery and what I’ve just heard about Marcia Cross’s visit to D.C. later, but for now, I am happy to be home.  Happy to be kissing my baby, talking to my preschooler (did he grow while I was gone?), and reading blogs and books to keep myself sane.

Wishing I could go out with the girls tomorrow night. 

Soon, soon.  But for now, I must rest and maybe get some sleep. 

Just wanted to let you all know I’m home safe.

68 Responses to I’m home.

  1. Emily says:

    Welcome home. I bet it has never looked so good.

  2. clifford says:

    Chalk up a W for the home team. 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    I had a breast reduction surgery in DC and the ride to 66 was horrific. I couldn’t believe all of the bumps and potholes. Get well soon!

  4. margaret says:

    It’s great to hear that your home and doing better.

  5. Janine says:

    Glad you are safely home. The Mississippi prayers continue for a speedy recovery. Love,
    Janine

  6. The girlies and I continue to cheer you on!!

    Here’s to a speedy recovery… You’re amazing, Whymommy.

    xo CGF

  7. Carrie says:

    You bring tears to my eyes. I am so glad you’re home.

  8. Kristin says:

    I am glad to hear, to read, that you’re safe and sound. Your boys must be glad to have you back at home.

  9. Angela says:

    Welcome home…rest well…hug lots.

  10. Welcome home! Now rest, relax, recover–the new 3 R’s for you. Congrats on getting where you are…

    Hugs coming your way. Gentle ones, of course!

  11. SuzyQatHome says:

    I’m so happy you’re home and resting (if you can truly rest in a house with 2 little boys in it).🙂

    Lots of cyber hugs and kisses your way!

  12. ~JJ! says:

    Welcome home girl.

    I am so happy to hear you are well.

    Hug those babies from me too!!!

  13. Mrs. Chicken says:

    There’s no place like home, is there?

  14. Jenifer says:

    Welcome Home. I bet those boys are more the excited to have Mommy home. Rest and take care. Looking forward to your updates. I’m so happy for you. Hugs….I didn’t squeeze to hard, did I?

  15. Danette says:

    Susan-

    We here in Cle, are so glad that you are home and so positive. Rest. We will be sending positive thoughts your way.

    D, S & S

  16. Heather! says:

    Sending a virtual quilt to rest at your feet and pull up snug when you need it. May this recovery be uneventful so you can get back to living life to it’s fullest….changing diapers and all!😉

  17. So glad to hear that you’re home and cozy with your boys.

  18. carosgram says:

    So glad you are home safe and sound

  19. Leann I Am says:

    I’m glad you’re home and with your babies again.

    Hang in there and REST, okay?

  20. Suzie says:

    After my reduction the drains were pretty nasty, but amazingly you get used to them very quickly. Glad to see that you are home and comfy – or as comfy as you can be. I hope you have a quick and easy recovery!

  21. Ahhhhh… Welcome Home!!!🙂

  22. Susan,

    I am so happy for you and your victory!

    It is a victory for all of us ….

    Tanya

  23. kankie says:

    WM- Enjoy the rest and take this time to FEEL everything you need to FEEL. Listen to some good music and smile for your boys!

  24. I am so glad you are back home! It’s a lot easier to rest in your own home…
    Brightest Blessings

  25. Dawn says:

    Welcome HOME!

  26. Tracy says:

    Glad to hear that you’re home safe & sound!!! Take it easy & enjoy being able to relax…in No time at all, you’ll be wishing for moments of relaxation!!!

  27. tracey says:

    Glad to hear it hon. Heal quickly…

  28. Stephanie Ridgell says:

    Glad you are home sweet home!

  29. Christy says:

    So incredibly happy to hear you are home safe and sound. Enjoy the reading!

  30. Mummycha says:

    Thanks for the update. I am so happy to hear good news from you. Have a good rest and soon you will be back to normal.
    Best wishes

  31. Robin says:

    Welcome home.

    I wish I was close enough to take part in the taking care of you posse…

    Here’s a virtual care package with one of those heatable pillows (what are those things called in English anyway?), some homemade butterscotch brownies, and some cool toys for the boys.

  32. Stimey says:

    Great news! I’m happy you’re in your own bed and with your little ones.

  33. magpie says:

    welcome home – and good healing to you.

  34. Daphne says:

    Just came to you from Jan Lemen… best wishes for your speedy recovery, not too much pain, lots of love and kind souls in your life.

  35. Redsy says:

    Welcome home and rest up, sister. Your strength and positivity are no end of inspiring.

  36. Veronica says:

    Glad you are home safe and well.

  37. Phweph. I’m so happy for you that you’re home. Too many of those hospital bologne sandwiches on wonderbread would be the end of anyone.
    🙂 hugs!

  38. FENICLE says:

    Welcome home. Rest, relax & recover…let your family & friends take care of you.

  39. A says:

    Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay!

  40. Colleen says:

    Welcome Home! Enjoy your comfy bed and those adorable boys.

  41. Nicole says:

    Hip Hip Hooray!

    All good stuff moving forward!

    Thinking about you !

  42. justenjoyhim says:

    Welcome home.

    And YAHOOSKI, Marcia Cross!!! Who knew?!

  43. Jessica says:

    So glad you’re home… And healthy… And happy… So, So, So many prayers coming from us to you… I lose my words sometimes. But I’m always thinking of you.

  44. Katie says:

    Welcome home. Enjoy your quiet time because you’ll be chasing those babies before you know it!

    You’re amazing….

  45. KDF says:

    So glad you’re in your own bed and within hugging distance of those beautiful boys. Be well!

  46. spacemom says:

    Rest, it is what you need right now!

  47. Tara-Lynn says:

    Hooray for you WhyMommy! I have been checking in on you here over the last couple of days and am so happy to hear how well you are doing.

    Yay for your own bed and your darling boys!

  48. Kathryn says:

    Welcome home! It must feel amazing to be back home with your family again. Hurray for sleeping in your own bed!

  49. Bubba's Sis says:

    Glad to hear you are home and recovering and that bad old cancer is going to be HISTORY for you! I’m praying for you, sweetie…

  50. Jessica says:

    So happy for you. Love the image of you snuggled, warm, loved. Happy healing girl!

  51. Ally says:

    A thousand hurrahs for you and your sweet nest at home. xoxo

  52. Jacquie says:

    Happy recovering WM, there really is no place like home is there?

  53. Oh.there is now place like home..
    rest up..and heal up!!

    prayers for you!!
    deena

  54. 53 comments! @whymommy you are making me look unpopular but we are SOOO glad that you are home!

    Now, let’s talk drains🙂

  55. Ann says:

    My first time to your blog. So glad you’re safe, and home with your beautiful family. You’re an inspiration to me. xo.

  56. Nola says:

    Here from MammaLoves. Glad you are home safe and sound.

  57. JoC says:

    Wooohooo! Boobless and home. Fantastic. Thank you for enriching all of our lives. Pls let people pamper you right now. You deserve it.

  58. Susan K says:

    And here I was logging on to make sure you knew about what happened up on the Hill the other day. Should have known you’d know!

    Welcome Home.

    All the best. Rest up. Take it easy.

  59. jackieb27 says:

    Welcome home! Glad you are back to the comforts of your own home and family. Take it one day at a time. You know, haste makes waste, that speaks for healing too. Don’t push the recovery too quickly. You will be up and at um soon enough.

  60. shauna says:

    So glad to hear you’re home. Here’s to a fast and glorious recovery!

  61. Liz says:

    Visiting via Petroville and very, very happy to you are home! Best of luck to you and wishing you a speedy recovery!

  62. labugga says:

    Awesome. You are awesome.

  63. Damselfly says:

    All right! Hope you can rest and enjoy your family.

  64. A lot of people have heard about you and your current battle, and now they are rooting for you to get well. I just wanted to let you know I am one of them. Sending a lot of positive energy and prayers your way. I hope you feel it, through the sick and the struggle, there is support!

  65. Nancy says:

    Home …. there’s no place like it!

    Rest, heal, enjoy your babies kisses and hugs =)

  66. APL says:

    Glad to read you’re home!

  67. Liz says:

    Her Bad Mother sent me. I’m thinking of you and sending you my best wishes for a speedy and easy recovery.

