Waiting for the path report

Just waiting for the pathology report, due tomorrow, and for the removal of my last two drains.  Not much to say today.  Perhaps it would be a good day to encourage you to do your monthly breast self-exam.

Remember, there is more than one kind of breast cancer.  You’re looking (and feeling) for ANYTHING unusual or present in one breast but not the other.  Lumps, thick skin, redness, bruising, swelling, itchiness, bumps, rash … if it wasn’t there last month, call your doctor. 

Even if you’re nursing.

23 Responses to Waiting for the path report

  1. hotfessional says:

    Yes. Nothing more to say. Be aware. Do your exams. Let your doctor know.

  2. […] continues at whymommy brought to you by cancer.medtrials.info and […]

  3. Music for you at my blog…

    For while you wait.

    Thinking of you– xoxo CGF

  4. Sarah Bethune says:

    Don’t forget that men get breast cancer, too. My husband had a wart-like growth on one of his nipples, and it turned out to be malignant. By the time he saw the doctor, the cancer had already reached his lymph nodes. So don’t delay if there’s anything unusual involving your breast, whether you are a man or a woman.

    Susan, I’m thrilled that the preliminary path report shows clean margins! I join everyone else in sending warmest congratulations.

    I was sent to your blog by your bff Canape when the IBC was first diagnosed. I admire your ability to tell your story in such a powerful and compelling way. and I thank you for sharing your journey with those of us in the blogosphere.

    Sarah (aka Canape’s friend/student Bach)

  5. Tammy says:

    Just found your sight and *gulp* I feel like a major buttowski for whining about my cold.

    Thank you for the reality check, really.

    You are a beautiful woman and my eyes have welled up with tears several times reading about your ordeal – and your joys.

    High five, sistah friend. (I know, completely ridiculous when white women try to sound ghetto – yet I find myself doing it occasionally.) I will not, however, use a fisted hand to beat my chest and then flash a peace sign. Probably because I tried that once and I looked like one of Jerry’s kids. (Ahem, not to make fun of Jerry’s kids.) I better just shut up now.

    If nothing else I made you grin… or at least grimace.

    Seriously, my prayers are with you.

    -Tammy
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    http://thecolorofhome.blogspot.com

  6. mo-wo says:

    Yes another report. I hope you can see an end to that soon… I know you’re smart but even you must find your headaches from all that analysis?

  7. Stimey says:

    Saw your twitter about House. At least you can’t nurse out of your leg.

    Good luck with your path report tomorrow!

  8. Bubba's Sis says:

    Very good advice! While you wait on your path report I’m waiting on my yearly mammo report – I’m hoping to hear something tomorrow, too. No reason for me to be concerned except that my mom is going thru Round 3 of breast cancer, and I’ve had to have benign cysts removed twice before, so it’ll be on my mind until I get a clear report.

    Praying for you every day, sister. Every day.

  9. Bubba's Sis says:

    P.S. I believe I have “officially” joined Team WhyMommy now! Your button is on my blog!

  10. KDF says:

    Here’s hoping for a very wonderful day.🙂

  11. Lisa says:

    All the best for a happy path!
    We’ll be thinking about you.

  12. Bon says:

    so the report comes today…just wanted to say i’m thinking of you. and thanks for the reminder to do my exam.

  13. Kathryn says:

    A very good reminder. Thank you!

  14. amanda says:

    Thinking of you and posted your news about your margins on my blog. It’s really remarkable how many people you’ve touched.

  15. Mississippi Girl says:

    You are truly blessed and a blessing to all who love and care about you. God is good and He is good all the time. Know that The will of God will never take you to where the Grace of God will not protect you. Take it slow. Hugs and kisses to you and the rest of the family.

  16. Emily says:

    Did it two days ago and thought of you. Does that sound wierd that I thought of you while touching myself in the shower?

  17. DICK&JUDY says:

    Susan,
    The owrd must be getting out, there was a spot on WLBT about inflammatory bc. Good luck on the path.
    Mississippi love.

  18. motherofbun says:

    Hope you hear good news today. Did you check your e-mail lately? There’s something in it that will hopefully make you smile…

  19. Leeanthro says:

    Yes, yes, even if you are nursing. I found a lump when my baby was just a few weeks old. Downright scary. One mammogram, two ultrasounds and a biopsy later (and the baby is now 8 months old and still nursing) and I have been told not to worry. It’s still in the back of my mind though. I didn’t even know you could get a mammogram while nursing. It was a bit messy! I am so thankful for the information I have received here!

  20. Monica says:

    I just found your blog and can I just say…

  21. Monica says:

    You are amazing! (Oh, and I’m an idiot who submitted my comment before I finished typing it…sorry ’bout that.)

    I had my first clean mammo since a lumpectomy in March of 2006. A bi-rads 5 mammo, 2 “inconclusive” core needle biopsies and a surgeon who was sure what he was looking at was cancer (so he also removed tissue touching the mass)…but no cancer. What was removed was pre-cancerous, though, and I’ve not had a normal mammo since the surgery (have them every 6 months) until last month. I NEVER forget how incredibly blessed I’ve been. I have 3-year old triplets who were soooo hard fought-for. I know miracles happen. I’ve now experienced 4 of them.

    I’m bookmarking your blog and will be back for more inspiration.🙂

  22. Traci says:

    I haven’t been making it around to blogs lately, but I’ve been thinking of you and just wanted to let you know. You are a hero to me. And I am so happy that your boys are going to have you for a good long time now.

    I’m thinking of doing the Avon Walk in May if I can work some fundraising (and exercise!) into my schedule. Can I wear a WhyMommy T-shirt and walk for you if I do?

  23. Waiting with everything crossed.

    Driving is hard with the crossed eyes thing, but nothing compared to the crossed small intestine….

    Gunna be relieved when it all comes back with the best possible news!

