Back to the surgeon, again

I’m going back to the surgeon again today, this afternoon, late, to possibly get my drains out.  I’m really hoping that she’ll pull them out today, as they’ve been causing me quite a bit of problems and pain for the last week-plus.  But I don’t want to talk about that here.  I just want to show you this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nNjyk_a76U

Click on that, would you?  It’s an amazing video card that Midwestern Mommy, Canape, and so many friends made for me this week.  With just a couple days notice, bloggy friends from all over (and playgroup friends from right here!) took a picture of themselves or their kids holding up a word.  When all the words are put together (wow, Midwestern Mommy!), they make a card of wishes that is amazingly beautiful.  Thank you — how wonderful! 

I want to post links to all of you, and to the women who have been writing good news posts about me this week, but in all honesty it hurts to move my arms with the drains right now and I simply can’t type for much longer.  But I do thank you and love you.  You’re making this so much easier.

Thanks also to Mamma Loves, who nominated me for a Perfect Post today for the post I wrote the day before I went into surgery. 

jan08pp

I’ve taken the bling page off my toolbar up at the top, there, to make room for a tab on Paget’s disease.  I figure that might help more women than knowing whether I’ve gotten a community award/jpg/blog bling.  But I have appreciated them.

And presents arrived too … a pink and silver beaded bracelet from Cheryl, who hopes that I’ll get to wear beautiful ones instead of hospital bracelets now.  Funky and fun hooded towels for my kids from Yikestwins (I’m not sure who sent them), a beautiful teething necklace from SmartMom, and a sweet present from Damselfly.  You all are too kind to me.  Really.

Just … thanks to everyone. 

44 Responses to Back to the surgeon, again

  1. Good luck at the surgeon, and I hope you’re feeling better soon!

    Hugs and good thoughts coming your way!

  2. Lauren(diva65) says:

    I’m having hard time seeing through my tears. You are truly blessed to be surrounded by the most amazing friends. These women you call TEAM Whymommy are proof that angels are on this earth living among us. And you know dozens of them. How lucky you are.

  3. abunslife says:

    Oh, I hope you get your remaining drains pulled today, that would be a wonderful way to start the weekend feeling better.

    Glad you liked the video! MM worked long and hard on it and I thought it turned out beautiful as well. 🙂

  4. ~JJ! says:

    Good luck today!

    Hope you get to say “Adios Drains!”

    I do love that video…

  5. Jennifer says:

    Way to go Team WhyMommy, that is an amazing video! We should all have such wonderful, loving friends.

  6. Rebecca says:

    Hi, you don’t know me, but I’m a bloggy friend of Lisa’s and was “all” in the video. I’m pulling for you and can’t wait to hear more good news.

  7. Robin says:

    I hope those drains are out by the time you read this!

    Much love,
    Robin (“you” #2, who’s realized she should have made her name bigger on the sign)

    And a very heartfelt thank you and attagirl to Midwestern Mommy and Canape for giving us all a way to tell Susan how much she is loved.

  8. I hope the drains go today. I loved the video, I am also writing this through tears, I am sooo happy for you !! You did it Susan!!
    Big HUGS!!
    Brightest Blessings to ALL..

  9. ohgrammy says:

    Wow. Midwestern Mommy and Canape, that video is just amazing! What a wonderful way to express what we all want to say! WhyMommy, you are loved.

  10. magpie says:

    The video is amazing.

    Good luck this afternoon – I hope your drains come out!

  11. Leah says:

    WOW!!!! Friends and family are amazing gifts from God!! Amazing!
    Praying for no drains for you!!!!

  12. giveitatry says:

    The card on YouTube was beautiful – it made me cry.

    You are strong!

  13. […] “gone” — and we can all exhale. […]

  14. Lisa C says:

    You are a very lucky woman, I know you know that. There are so many incredible reasons for you to be thankful, but your friends and family have got to be NUMBER ONE, that was a beautiful video.
    Thank you for being YOU, and for sharing with me.

  15. You deserve all the love, hon xx

  16. I’m honored that I got to be in the video.

    We all really do support you. Let me know if I can do anything to help out.

  17. Alison says:

    Beautiful!! You deserve it!!

  18. threelittlefeathers says:

    Even the doggies are cheering you on! What a great video. Because of you, I’ll never not know about IBC along with so many others. Yes, another hoping you can get rid of those drains soon!!

  19. I’m so glad you enjoyed the video, Susan… Midwestern Mommy and Canape did a WONDERFUL job… It brought tears to my eyes, too, when I finally got to see it!! I was so proud and honoured to be a part of such a special project.

    Hope those drains came out today, and that you’re feeling a zillion times better this evening.

    Wishing you much love and REST…

    xo CGF
    (the chick on the kitchen counter!!)

  20. Carrie says:

    With friends like that, you can do anything!

  21. Donna says:

    Praying for full and complete recovery. That you will be able to lift your loving ones without thinking about it twice.

  22. Tara-Lynn says:

    Wow – that video is really an amazing. It felt like I was watching a whole army of Moms and children cheering you on.

    Beautiful and inspirational…

    Good luck with those darn drains.

  23. What an amazing video! Well deserved and I had to explain to my son & hubs why mommy was crying to such a happy song. Tears of joy. Continued wishes for your speedy recovery and the removal of the drain tubes!

  24. Susan K says:

    Ok, I can’t read either… tears.

    WOW. I feel privileged to even be on the same PAGE as these wonderful people!! What a wonderful video.

    I wish all had the kind of support you have.

    Hope you got those wretched tubes out.

    Thinking of you and tonight, sending many thanks to all those videographers for a beautiful job.

  25. abunslife says:

    BTW, My son and I were the “Thanks!” on the video. 🙂 I hope you had good news today. Sending more gentle hugs your way.

  26. deb says:

    That was a lovely, lovely video. Hope the drains come out soon.

  27. fizzledink says:

    Wow – that video made me cry. It’s just so beautiful! You are so loved, my friend.

    I hope the drains come out soon and that the pain from having them in is gone quickly.

  28. Dawn says:

    holy cow … of to get kleenex – and I hope the drains are out and the pain is gone🙂

  29. Bubba's Sis says:

    I only wish I could have gotten in on that card, Susan! I put a link to it on my blog, too, because I am SO proud of you!

  30. Bubba's Mom says:

    That was the most awesome thing I’ve ever seen!! You are a courageous woman and you rest in the love and support of these wonderful friends who lift you up and care for you. I’ve been where you are right now and it is the best feeling in the world. I hope you ate all of that cake! You will gain strength every day and you will be fine.

  31. elizabeth says:

    you con’t to be so inspiring! wanetd to let you know i have a great givaway on my blog…great for VAL’S DAY coming up!!!! check it out and send your friends! *elizabeth

  32. Jenny says:

    What an amazing video.

    I’m thinking of you.

  33. coolbeans says:

    What a wonderful video! Hooray for clean margins!!!

  34. Pretty amazing You Tube. Anybody can get cancer. Not anybody can evoke the kind of response you have.

  35. Alice C says:

    How I love that video – I can’t even imagine how you must feel as you watch all those smiling faces and know that every one of them is willing you on.

    You inspire other people – it is an incredible gift. I wish that you had not needed to discover this but you have used this gift in the most astonishing and positive way.

  36. NoRegrets says:

    That’s so wonderful! And so true – you do inspire, and we all wish you well and send you love.

  37. jerseygirl89 says:

    I hope you got good news. What a beautiful video. Thank you for sharing it. I wish you the best.

  38. KDF says:

    Been out of town for a few days, so I’m catching up and just saw the YouTube card.

    Oh my.

    You all are amazing. That’s one of the most beautiful labors of love I’ve ever had the privilege to see.

    So happy for you, WhyMommy.

  39. planetnomad says:

    That was awesome!! Thanks for sharing it with all of us!

  40. Had to wait till I got back to broadband speed….

    Oh. I have something in my eye…..

    So many bloggers I ‘know’. Wish I could have been part of it.

    Such a fabulous thing!

  41. Mia says:

    Wow — I wish I were on the video, because I feel the same way. 🙂

  42. Damselfly says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed your gift!

  43. […] “gone” — and we can all exhale. […]

