Sore

My wounds are sore, but healing, and healing well.  Yesterday we went downtown (again) to the surgeon (again) and got my drains pulled out (hurrah!).  She also removed the tape from my stitches and pronounced me healing well.  The nurse was amazed at how well I’m healing, actually, and we start PT next week to help me regain movement in my arms.

My stitches are just about healed.  Perhaps one more day with the neosporin, and then we’ll be ready to start the aloe compresses to prepare the skin for radiation.  Wow.  I try to think positively, but I honestly wasn’t sure we’d make it this far.  This is amazing, and I feel lucky to have every day now.

Today I slept late again, and was in pain when I woke up.  But mostly I’m just stiff (in my arms) and sore (across my chest), like I’m wearing a bra that’s way too tight.  Of course, that’s a problem I won’t have to deal with again (unless I want to), as I will never need to wear a bra again.  Not out to dinner, not out to playdate, not even out jogging.  Hum.  The freedom!

I did get out this week.  For anyone wondering about mobility after surgery, it’s not impossible.  I had surgery on Jan 22.  The next Monday (Jan 28), WonderDaddy drove me down to the surgeon for a follow-up visit.  On Jan 29, Widget and I went to playdate.  Jan 30, back to the surgeon, this time on the Metro!  We even stopped at WD’s workplace to say hello and hear the latest news at a press conference.  On Jan 31, I slept, but Feb 1 brought another trip back down to the surgeon on the Metro, this time by myself, and then back home with WD.  Tonight (Feb 2) we went out to eat to celebrate my mother-in-law’s birthday.  Perhaps this paragraph was incredibly boring, but what I’m trying to say is this:  Don’t sell yourself short.  It IS possible to get out your first week after surgery.  But choose wisely, as it is exhausting.

The area under my right arm/pit is still sore and painful when I move it too quickly.  That’s the area where my lymph nodes used to live, so I should go easier on it.  I just want to be healed and back to normal again.  I am ready to go to playdate, to the bookstore, to shop for new blouses to flatter my new shape … all kinds of places, to do all kinds of things.  Mostly I just want my energy back and to celebrate being alive. 

But already I can do the things I most wanted to do.  Hug my children.  Sit on the floor and play with them.  Cuddle the toddler who falls asleep on my lap at dinner, and kiss the baby on his forehead as he squirms off to explore something new.  Kiss WonderDaddy, and hold his hand, knowing that we are partners in this too, and we have another day ahead of us still.

27 Responses to Sore

  1. Chris Moran says:

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

  2. deb says:

    I’m hoping for many more days ahead for you.

  3. Christy says:

    I’m so thrilled that you are able to get out and about!

    And kudos for healing so fast!

  4. Any plans to get back into yoga sometime, for healing and strength? I would imagine that would feel really, really good, when you’re ready.

    I’m so glad you’re feeling a sense of progress. I’m so glad the drains are gone. So proud of you.

  5. planetnomad says:

    YAAY! Drains gone, you out and about–what wonderful news!
    I continue to remember you in my prayers.

  6. mandy says:

    You are amazing. A true inspiration to women everywhere. The message I get from you is to never give up! Savor every moment. Thank you for reminding me, to appreciate every little thing.

    God bless you and best wishes for a speedy and full recovery!!!

  7. whymommy says:

    Yoga on Monday. I am so excited!

  8. FENICLE says:

    You will. You will have that and so much more!!

  9. Susan, I am an older woman standing back and admiring you with all my heart. You are an inspiration.

    I am a yogini and a teacher, but you are now my teacher.

  10. Stimey says:

    You’re a superhero. Or the Energizer bunny. Not sure which.

    It’s wonderful to hear such an appreciation of the simple things.

  11. Susan,

    This is wonderful news. You exhaust me with your energy. I am wiped out just worrying about you!

    Take a break. I need it! Actually, don’t overdo it. You need to heal from the inside out … both physically and mentally. You’ve been through alot. Like you don’t already know that! ha~

    Tanya

  12. Imstell says:

    Awesome. Isn’t it amazing what we can put our bodies through only to have them bounce back so resiliently?

    So I take it there will be no reconstruction in your future…

  13. Omyword! says:

    Susan – I found you through Francine. My very best wishes to you, hugs and love to you and your children and husband. Thank you for creating this diary so that all of us can learn, and appreciate life, with all of its gifts.

    Lisa

  14. Traci says:

    Wow. You are phenomenal. Wishing you many more snuggles, hand holding, outings, and kisses.

  15. Alison says:

    Yet another beautiful and inspiring post!
    Hoping and knowing that you have MANY more days ahead!

  16. momunplugged says:

    Another step forward for you. Hooray!! It must feel good to have the surgery behind you. I am so glad they were able to get all of the affected tissue.

    I’m still sending you many positive thoughts from Arizona!

  17. Lauren(diva65) says:

    Glad you to hear you’re healing so well. Each day is a blessing for you and I hope for many many more.

  18. KillerBoob says:

    oh. and let me just say this in case you haven’t said it to yourself recently.

    No. More. Chemo.

    I still love to say that to myself sometimes🙂

  19. *W*O*W*!!!

    You’re our hero!!

    xo CGF and Girlies 3

  20. Bon says:

    you are a teacher by instinct, i think…even just the reminders about getting out, the gentle leading by example. you have such grace about hard things…i remember being struck by that the very first time i came across your blog, probably almost a year ago now, long before cancer was part of the conversation. i hope, in another year, that cancer will not need to be in the conversation except when you wish it to be, and that i will still be looking at you through the ether amazed at your patience and wisdom.

  21. Bon says:

    and your new shape…you know, i spent a lot of my teens and twenties hating my boobs. i fantasized about going braless. and yet now i realize what an adjustment that would be.

    i’m interested in what those shopping trips will feel like for you…and i do hope they aren’t unkind.

  22. kathyann says:

    Susan you are an amazing woman,Thank You for sharing your journal with us all .We will keep you in our prayers!Love and hugs from Kathyann and the girls at meg’s mum’s muffins

  23. NYfriend says:

    Yea! No drains. 🙂 That must be such a relief.

    Glad to hear you are on the mend. 🙂

    ‘Night!

  24. Mandi says:

    beautiful. i’m so glad things are going well.

  25. Emily says:

    All those things are exactly why you have fought so hard, so I am glad you are getting your rewards.

  26. Wow, you are a trooper! Good for you, although I wouldn’t expect you to let anything prevent you from doing what needs to be done. I’m glad to hear you’re healing well, and hope it continues to improve!

    Sending hugs and good thoughts your way!

  27. Lauren says:

    I am so glad to hear you are doing so well. For my friend who had her surgery in the fall it was kind of the same thing. Almost more frustrating than truly painful.

