Super Tuesday

This is an amazing use of new technology.  Click on over to see realtime results reporting AND twittering about primary results.

Not interested?  There’s a great article about last weekend’s Corsets for a Cure event honoring our friend Andrea from Punk Rock Mommy.  She has been fighting IBC for longer than I have and is back in biweekly chemo.  What a cool event in recognition of one cool chick.

But the funniest newsclip of the day has to be this story in the Washington Post.  Two weeks to the day after my double mastectomy revealed cancer in the “healthy” breast, the Post runs a story about how double mastectomies are on the rise for women who have cancer in one breast.  Several surgeons are quoted, including one who says that there simply isn’t enough patient education out there and so women are overreacting.  Okay.  That may be so, but I’m thrilled to pieces with my decision, especially given my results.

(Dear Washington Post, I was surprised to read …. oh, never mind.)

16 Responses to Super Tuesday

  1. Suz says:

    The site with the live election results and Twitter is impossibly cool. Much better than Russ.ert or any of the TV coverage, actually.

  2. Bubba's Sis says:

    You MUST send the Post your story. Overreacting, my hiney! You did the right thing!!!!!

  3. MammaLoves says:

    Eh, who wants to be lopsided anyway.

    Stupid Post.

  4. I read that story today and thought of you. To make matters worse, they quoted women from way outside the Beltway (like Olympia, Washington!). How did they miss such a big local story?

  5. Meh. What do they know….. I prefer mothers intuition myself.

    I would have done the exact same thing as you my lovely.

  6. KillerBoob says:

    Things like that actually make me so mad. Sorry dude. There’s no such thing as over-reacting when it comes to cancer. Try telling him he has testicular cancer and that he’d be “over-reacting” to getting them both removed. It’s unbelieveable that doctors can be so assinine.

  7. christine says:

    you obviously made the right decision–i too think you should send the post your story!

    Running on empty

  8. Linda says:

    Thanks so much for the Google/Twitter election site link — great fun to watch!

  9. Kelly says:

    I’m with killerboob. With both breast and colon cancer in my family, my feeling is that I’d do anything possible to prevent recurrence, and if that meant a double mastectomy, that’s what I’d do.

    You knew best, absolutely.

  10. Susan K says:

    Interestingly, when I started reading the story I assumed that all the doctors interviewed would be men – goodness knows men probably have a bigger concern over women’s breasts than we do! But surprisingly, most appear to have been women.

    So much for my knee-jerk intuition. It WAS fascinating, wasn’t it. But to be fair, they were focussed on “normal” cancer patients, where odds are different, surgical norms are different etc. For example, no one would have suggested “just” a lumpectomy for you WM.

  11. Brooks says:

    I read that article, too and of course immediately thought of you. I agree with Lynn — for a front page story, they should have done a better job of getting more local opinions. Thankfully, you are very wise in your decision making!

  12. Lauren says:

    Informed or not I think I would want to have the double for my peace of mind. I hope I never have to make that decision but it seems to make sense to me.

    And we all know you made the right decision. 😉

  13. imstell says:

    I always find it interesting that no one accuses the man who cut off his own hand with a pocket knife when it was caught between rocks on the side of a cliff of over reacting. He is just lauded for doing what he felt was neccessary to save his life. No one says to him, “You know, that self-amputation was just an emotional reaction to a life threatening situation. You could have just waited it out on the side of that cliff and I’m sure you would have been rescued before you starved to death or died of thirst.”

    Bah! Walk in another womans shoes and we’ll see what you’re willing to give up to secure life!

  14. Susan K says:

    Hey, this is nothing to do with the subject, but thought people might be interested. We received magazine from the National Wildlife Federation that told us about an organization that works with catalog companies to reduce mailings of unwanted catalogs. You log on and register at this site (adding as many names to your ‘account’ as you want). And then when you get a catalog in the mail you don’t want, you “opt out” via this web site and they contact the merchant for you. Faster than calling and holding and spelling your name over and over again.

    Go to http://www.catalogchoice.org/

    We’ve only just entered our first two so I can’t confirm it actually works…

  15. I know we’re all tellin’ you to simmer down and rest, but Susan… When you’re feeling up to the task, I agree, you should tell the Post YOUR story.

    It is so important that we learn from educated, empowered women like you, that it is up to US to know our own bodies, trust our own instincts, and be our own best advocates, when dealing with issues of our health.

    Yours is such a wonderful, inspiring story of success!!

    We here in The Great White North have recently (last October, of all months) been informed by the Canadian Cancer Society that they have decided to “de-emphasize” the importance of regular breast self-examinations, for a varity of reasons…

    But I’m sure as shootin’ not going to let that stop me from doing MINE.

    love to you,

    xoxo CGF

  16. D'Lyn Biggs says:

    Susan,
    I’ve been keepping up with your blog for quite awhile, but have never posted. My Mom had breast cancer four years ago. The kind she had rarely shows up on an MRI, but it showed up on hers — in only one breast. She opted to have a double mastectomy, and they found it in the other breast as well.

    Her doctor encouraged that decision. He said many people think of it as the “left breast” or the “right breast,” when in reality it’s one system fed by the same blood supply, hormones, etc.

    I’ve been praying for you and offering praises that you made what turned out to be the right decision for you!!

    My Mom passed away this past summer at the age of 61. I appreciate all you’re doing to get the word out about breast cancer — especially among younger women. Keep it up!

    Many Blessings,
    D’Lyn

