Leap of Faith

I’m taking a big leap of faith today.  Widget, Little Bear, and I are going to MOMS Club this morning, homemade hearts in hand, for the annual Valentine’s Day party.  WDaddy will drop us off and, then, for nearly two hours, we will laugh and play and make valentines and enjoy being together with our friends.  As friends.  Not as the sick ones they came to visit, but as more-or-less equals.  I am beyond happy.

Afterwards, WDaddy will take me downtown for a visit to my medical oncologist to hear about my next treatments — will there be more chemo?  Will there be chemo-in-a-pill?  What about hormone therapy?  And what exactly is needed for radiation?  We’ll  learn about all that, and show her my scars where the wounds once were, and talk about what we need to do to keep fighting this beast, even though the large tumors have been cut out.

We’ll take a walk through Georgetown, then, whiling away the hours until my evening appointment for lymph drainage with the physical therapist, and then hurry home to make the second part of my first book club meeting with the local moms.  If it all goes well, that is.  There’s a lot planned for today, but I absolutely must get out of this bed and out of this house.

Three weeks after my mastectomy, this is the beginning of the new normal.

26 Responses to Leap of Faith

  1. You are daring! That’s more than I did all weekend!🙂 Have a great day and enjoy the new normal!

    Hugs!

  2. Linda Lawrence says:

    Enjoy your day! Making Valentine’s with little ones is so special and being with friends.

    Thinking of you! Buddle up, I am sure it is cold out there (We have negative windchills here–two hours school delay). 🙂

  3. justenjoyhim says:

    Good for you!, and I hope it all goes well. I’ll say a prayer for you and yours. Be well. Don’t overdo.

    Lots of love and gentle hugs,
    Judy

  4. hotfessional says:

    The New Normal. Good for you. It will become your normal.

  5. Mummycha says:

    I am happy to read about all your plans!
    Take good care of yourself

  6. Stimey says:

    I’m so sad I wasn’t able to make it to the party this morning. I hope you had fun! I’m sure you did! And I’m sure that everyone was thrilled to see you.

    And we always see you as equals. Because even through the sickness, you have always been our wonderful friend!

  7. Yee-hah!! Let’s hear it for the New Normal!!

    A big valentine ((((hug)))) for you, Whymommy…

    xoxo CGF and girlies 3

  8. Miz S says:

    Go, WhyMommy, go!

  9. Susan K says:

    And don’t beat yourself up if you collapse after all this! A very busy day. Happiness will carry you for a while, but let yourself give in to the fatigue if it comes.

    And here’s hoping that it doesn’t. At least not too much.

    And here’s hoping you had FUN at the party and that you get good news at the doctors – with treatment ideas that sound good to you and give you a level of comfort.

    And say, have you written your reviews yet? 🙂

  10. Jennifer says:

    Hope you are having a great day!

  11. Imstell says:

    Whew! Busy day. Have fun with the kids. I heart valentine’s day!

  12. ~JJ! says:

    Enjoy your day.
    I wouldn’t be able to do all that in one day.

    Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  13. planetnomad says:

    Wishing you LOTS of energy! Have a great time🙂

  14. motherofbun says:

    This probably sounds really wierd, but I guess I never thought about what happens after the successful surgery. I never realized there would be more consultations. I’m glad you are blogging about it.

    But I’m also happy to hear you are getting out with the boys and meeting up with your MOMs friends. Hope you had a great time today.

    Take care.

  15. Damselfly says:

    Oh, blessed new normal. I’m so glad you feel strong enough to go out with your children.

  16. Angela says:

    I hope you got the news you wanted most….normal is such a wonderful thing.

  17. Veronica says:

    I hope you have a wonderful morning and get the news you want from the doctor.

  18. Dawn says:

    I can’t believe it’s already been three weeks🙂

    and yes … that’s more than I did today too🙂

  19. Lisa says:

    I second Stimey (missed her :(). We were THRILLED to have you and LOVED the handmade Valentines. We showed all of ours at preschool afterwards too! I’m still laughing about being such an awful parent🙂. Hoping all went well this afternoon and that you are sound asleep dreaming happy thoughts tonight. XO
    You are truly an inspiration!

  20. Ally says:

    This sounds like a fun, ambitious, and eventful day! I hope it was a good one for you.

  21. Oh my lovely, sounds like a wonderful day. Hope it continues to be whilst you visit with the doc.

    Fingers and toes crossed. Makes walking in these heels difficult though….

  22. clifford says:

    Getting out of bed = good. Normal = good.

  23. nichole3 says:

    Wonderful! I’ve been following your blog–just haven’ t said anything for awhile. I rejoice with you in your big day!

    Nichole

  24. whymommy says:

    Oh, Lisa. That was so ridiculous! But it wasn’t the dumbest thing said yesterday — my oncology intern actually topped it in the afternoon. Oh, my!

    We had SUCH a good time at the party and book club. It made the appointments worthwhile.

  25. isabel says:

    oh yes, the new normal, that return to daily things.
    it sounds as if it comes as sweet, welcome, a return that has been there waiting for you.

