More

All my appointments and playdates and fun on Monday went fabulously, with the exception of the intern’s comment (which was just funny) and a couple dumb ones that I made myself.  Because this is a kind blog and I rarely tell stories on others, I’ll retaliate with a dumb one that I said myself. 

At MOMS Club, during the part of the meeting where we all sit down with each other and discuss club business like upcoming philanthropy events, parties, and playdates, one of my very good friends was sitting next to me, valiantly trying to record minutes with at least 5 preschoolers jumping around and crawling on top of her.  I leaned over and observed in a whisper, “L, you are lousy with kids!” 

Whoops!  After a stunned pause, when we both realized that that statement could be taken two drastically different ways, we both burst out laughing.  While she did have kids crawling all over her, she is one of the best moms I’ve ever met.  I was mortified!  Luckily, she also has a fabulous sense of humor!

In response to Susan K’s comment yesterday, I should note that my surgeon did write on me with a Sharpie just before my surgery, reminding herself and others which breast was having “the works” done and which breast would have just a simple mastectomy (no lymph node removal).  I didn’t mind, although I did almost try to stop her from using permanent marker to write on my skin. 

All of which may go a long way in explaining why my preschooler isn’t a fan of circle time, but he loves using permanent markers. 

11 Responses to More

  1. Kristin says:

    Lousy is such a great word.

  2. Bon says:

    y’know, i make a living out of words, and it still took me a good one-two-three to catch what you meant by “lousy”…your friend not only has a sense of humour (and probably a good sense of your good heart) but also a fine and adaptive vocabulary.🙂

  3. whymommy says:

    I totally hesitated to post this because of that, Bon, but it was just so funny at the time. We even talked about the origin of it last night at book club, and decided that it comes from lice infestations — when a person gets lice, they are “lousy” with the little buggers.

    But I was mortified to discover that I was using definition 2d in the dictionary (with an awfully confusing example: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/lousy), so I’m terribly grateful that L recognized what I was trying to say at all!

  4. Stimey says:

    If anyone could roll with that, it’s L. I make those kinds of non-thinking remarks all the time. I feel like I’m always prying my foot out of my mouth.

  5. better lousy with kids than lousy with lice! heh.

  6. hotfessional says:

    Too funny. It sounds like you had a lovely day –

  7. isabel says:

    Your sense of humor is refreshing and gives me a much needed pause to laugh out loud.

  8. My mum uses the word all the time to describe someone tight with money.

    I don’t think I have ever heard anyone but my mum use it!🙂

  9. LOL
    I knew what you meant!
    I hope today is GREAT for
    you..

    lovingly, Deena

  10. aradia says:

    That last sentence was just what I needed to start my day off right with a laugh! Now- off to nursing school I go~ where we love telling silly stories about doctor’s and their slip-ups🙂 I’m glad you are doing so well!

  11. tracey says:

    🙂 Don’t you hate it when a sarcastic joke comes out a bit wrong? I’ve definitely been on the delivery side MANY a time.

