I don’t miss ’em

I have a serious post brewing, but first I just have something to say that I want to shout from the rooftops:

I don’t miss my breasts. 

Don’t miss them at all.  I feel lighter, and more carefree, and oh so happy that I don’t have to carry the cancer around with me anymore.  It’s simply unbelievable. 

Sure, there are things I wish I didn’t have to experience as aftereffects of the surgery (I didn’t have a plastic surgeon close my incisions, so I’m lumpy in places and dimpled in others, but they say it will get better with time), but, overall?  I feel better than I have in weeks.  I accomplished all my goals on Monday (the appointments and playdates), all my goals yesterday (consulting work and playing with my children; I even lifted Little Bear into my arms for the first time since surgery!), and I have goals for today. 

I’m planning for tomorrow, and March, and April, and 6 months from now.  This is a huge change for me, and today I am grateful for modern science and the scientists and physicians who have developed a chemo regimen and surgery effective for breast cancer patients, even those of us who have IBC.

37 Responses to I don’t miss ’em

  1. Jenster says:

    It’s lovely to see you and your wonderful attitude on this side of the journey! “Breastes? We don’t need no stinking breastes!”

  2. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    That is good to hear. Now that you are lighter, have you considered a marathon?

  3. We’re so happy for you, Whymommy… And so happy to have you here with us, for many, many, MANY more years to come!!

    xoxo CGF

  4. Good for you! What a great feeling, I’m sure. And I’ll tell ya…I don’t think I’d miss ’em either. I’m so happy for you, and can’t wait to see what you have planned for the future!

    Hugs!

  5. Spacemom says:

    S- that makes me smile!

  6. I’m so glad. That totally brightened my day.

  7. Lynn says:

    Great to hear. I thought of you yesterday as I went and sat at chemo with my friend Susan who has IBC. We talked about you and how amazing you are.

    Best to you,
    Lynn

  8. Leanne says:

    I had a reduction a few years ago, due to chronic upper back pain. I had one full pound removed from each breast. I was ECSTATIC. No one can make me understand now why anyone would want enlargements. You carry yourself better, pull your shoulders back and just feel lighter and less burdened by your front side.

    Even with a plastic surgeon, there are lumps and bumps and scars. Compared to the wonderful loss and freedom from pain, though, they’re worth it.

    I can relate to your excitement very much!

  9. jackieb27 says:

    Think of the money you will save on bras!

  10. tracey says:

    Awesome, hon. Hey, here’s a question: Since you no longer have breasts (or even nipples, for some mastectomy patients, right?) do you need to wear a bathing suit top??? Hmmmm. I don’t know that I’d want to go topless, but it’d be a great feminism case, wouldn’t it?
    🙂

  11. Susan K says:

    So GLAD to hear it!!!!!!!!

    Any chance on a trip to Dallas end of the month??? I’m going and would love to see you there – but maybe too much too soon and I know you are saving up for that trip two weeks later.

  12. Aurelia says:

    About that incision scar, you could still consult with a plastic surgeon about getting some prescription creams or physio and massage to ensure that it doesn’t tighten up and become lumpier. I had a lumpy scar (torn incision) after my lap, and they told me that it takes 9 months for the scar to settle, so we had a window if time to make sure it healed nicely. There were a lot of options if we did it within those nine months, even using a laser to smooth out the skin. Nevermind cosmetics, it’s about feeling uncomfortable later or having little bits of skin rub against shirts, etc. something that irritates the hell out of me, personally.

    Just an idea; ignore the assvice if you don’t feel you need it.

    I’m glad you don’t miss the breasts!

  13. musingmommy says:

    I am so happy that you are happy and healthy. Happy happy joy joy!

  14. Bubba's Sis says:

    HOORAY FOR YOU!!!!!!! 🙂

  15. ‘I even lifted Little Bear into my arms for the first time since surgery!’

    The bestest part.

  16. Judy says:

    😀

    So glad for you. So very glad.

  17. mummycha says:

    GOOD FOR YOU!!!!!

  18. Ally says:

    The fact that you got to lift up Little Bear makes my heart rejoice! I am so happy for you.

  19. Fern says:

    I am so thrilled by this post. This is wonderful, that you don’t miss your breasts, and even better that you accomplished all your goals on a given day??! And lifted your little one too?

    Congratulations!

  20. Andrea says:

    I too understand this post. It has been four months since my mastectomy and I do not miss my breasts either. They were big and heavy. Full of cancer. I like being flat chested and not wearing a bra. I also relate to the accomplishment of returning to life. It takes time but it is very nice. I am very happy for you. I look forward to hearing about your journey and your plans. I pray you are well. I pray you get to raise your children. God bless you.

  21. KDF says:

    Rooftop shouting looks great on you.

    This is wonderful, whymommy!

  22. mamma knows says:

    GOOD for YOU, especially picking up Lil Bear, it’s the little things that are SO much more important and mean so much to us mammas🙂

  23. Mummycha says:

    That must be a wonderful feeling that you don’t have to carry the cancer with you anymore, and instead you can hold your little ones closer to you heart!

  24. NYfriend says:

    Yea! I’m so glad things are going well. Remember to still take care of yourself, I know you are anxious to “get back out there.”

  25. Kat says:

    Praise God from whom ALL blessings flow!

    You’re moving on with your life!

    HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

    HUGS,
    KAT

  26. planetnomad says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day!🙂

  27. Angela says:

    So glad to see you smiling…..! What a wild journey this must be for you.

  28. Becki says:

    I am so happy to hear that you are planning for a future that is not only lighter physically, but brighter, in so many ways. Hurrah!

  29. KillerBoob says:

    ye, there is a certain freedom to it isn’t there? And not even jsut freedom “of not having them”. I mean more….freedom from angst over not having them. Such a great feeling. That’s awesome!

  30. Karen says:

    What a great response and a guide for others experiencing it. Oh, and thanks for the happy birthday wish.

  31. Beverly says:

    Hey, good for you!

  32. Dawn says:

    I have the old Soupdragons song in my head – with some adjustments: “You’re free … to do what you want! with your new chest!”

  33. Andamom says:

    I remember learning as a child that my grandmother had a mastectomy and being not scared but okay with it. I think that overall, if a breast or any non-necessary part of your body can be removed to heal you — I think it is a great option. I’d think that people who read your inspiring blog and would get it too…

    If you want to get a plastic surgeon at some point, I’ll bet you can too… The important thing is that you can get on with your life now.

  34. Lian says:

    Stopping by for the first time. Just wanted to say congrats on your freedom.

  35. Kate says:

    Good for you, to admit you don’t miss them! I have said that too (double mastectomy in Sept 2007), and sometimes I get funny looks when I say it, but I mean it! I’m glad that it’s not just me with these thoughts😉 Also glad you’re doing well.

    Found your blog through One Mother With Cancer. Take care, Katie

