Eclipse

Widget and I are staying up to watch the eclipse.  He is NEVER up past 8:30, but tonight is something special.  He’s finally big enough to understand (at least a little bit) what an eclipse is, and he’s as excited as I am to view it from his bedroom window!

Here’s an easy way to explain an eclipse to little ones.  After dark, ask them to shine a flashlight on the full moon.  That simulates the sun’s illumination of the moon.  Then run in front of it saying “I’m the earth!” and explain that when the earth passes between the sun and the moon, the light from the sun is blocked, and the moon seems dark, or at least darker than it usually appears. 

You can see a full explanation on many sites today, like Science Projects for Kids, but this is how I just explained it to Widget, and he seemed to get it. 

At least a little bit.

Enjoy the eclipse tonight! 

26 Responses to Eclipse

  1. sprucehillfarm says:

    We have been out 3 times already. The girls are really enjoying it. I am glad you are able to view it too!

  2. margaret says:

    I let my oldest stay up until just a few minutes ago – she has school in the morning. I may wake her i na bit to check it out.

    I did tell her something similar. I held a shone on flashlight on a toy and then moved my fist in front of it. I’m trying to take pictures of it periodically.

  3. giftofgreen says:

    We’re watching it too! Cookie Monster is taking a bigger and bigger bite out of the moon!

  4. Angela says:

    I love it! A new take on “Mother Earth.”😉

    We just went out to see the height of the eclipse and it’s totally cloudy out here! Grrr! We’ll try again in a little while.

  5. Lisa says:

    We’ve been watching too (as are all of our family across the states…that don’t have cloud cover). We were going to keep the kids up, but since they’ve been under the weather this week we decided it best to see if they wake up during the process. They would be so devastated if they knew, since we talked about it last week (before the bug hit). I’m so glad Widget is up and raring to go! Can’t wait to hear what he thinks about it!

  6. ohgrammy says:

    What a wonderful thing to be able to share!

  7. Bubba's Sis says:

    Cloudy and rainy here, so no eclipse viewing for us. 😦

    What a great lesson for Widget!

  8. Stimey says:

    I love the image of you running in front of the flashlight yelling, “I’m the earth!” Awesome.

    Pretty cool stuff though.

  9. Imstell says:

    Ugh! I just got chewed out from B for not remembering about the eclipse. Needless to say, we missed it. Chalk another one up under Future Therapy Topics…

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Um, I’m pretty sure that you’re the coolest Mom ever.

  11. Clayjack says:

    For those that had good viewing, it was beautiful, wasn’t it? Thankfully it lasted long enough for me to fumble through running outside to snap a few frames then back inside to check if the pictures were any good. That happened several times. I’m not a good photographer. But I was able to get a couple shots.

    Fun.🙂

  12. hotfessional says:

    It was beautiful. I was on the 28th floor in my hotel and it looked like I could reach out and touch it.

  13. Emily says:

    That sounds like a lovely date with your little one.

  14. Spacemom says:

    It was BEAUTIFUL last night, no?

  15. NoRegrets says:

    It was beautiful. My favorite part is right before total and right after. Just a little bit of sunshine on it.

  16. ~JJ! says:

    You know, I’m so mad. I waited to see it and I saw it starting and my ‘know it all husband’ made me doubt myself and told me we wouldn’t see a total eclipse…apparently, It was gorgeous. I missed it.

    This was the first time ever I knew about it in advance and waited for it…and e made me miss the best part!

    Gah.

  17. Katherine says:

    Wasn’t it great. The Little Tree-Hugger didn’t notice it but that’s okay. The husband and I had a great view from inside (thank goodness it was cold outside).

    Sending you good thoughts.

  18. Laura says:

    What a great idea – I wish I would’ve seen this before the eclipse. My explanation ended up coming across to my 5 year old that it was like the sun, the earth and the moon all getting in line for a drink at the water fountain after recess.🙂

  19. motherofbun says:

    We watched the eclipse last night, Seth and I. I thought of you. Actually was coming over to see what you had to say about the eclipse. (I was trying to figure out how to explain as well. And was looking on Youtube for something related to it. Now am off to check out your link cause its a snowday and we need something constructive and fun to do.🙂

  20. My eldest daughter and I sat up at her bedroom window and watched the eclipse last night, too… It was so beautiful.

    I was a bit shattered when she turned to me and said, “Just think, Mum!! The next time we see this, I’ll be in HIGH SCHOOL!!”

    Gaaaakkkkk….

    xoxo CGF

  21. My teenage boys and I stood in the front yard around ten, watching the golden orb pulsate above. It was beautiful. I’m glad you and Widg got to see it together.🙂

  22. Carrie says:

    We got to see it too! Finally, it rose high above the clouds . . . I tried to take a pic, but no luck — just something we’ll have to remember in our minds!

  23. Karen says:

    We had one in Australia last year – I never tire of watching them.

  24. KC says:

    Hi! This may not be your thing, but I’m tagging your for a meme about your favorite posts…really enjoyed meeting you and would love to see your favorites.

  25. April says:

    I sure enjoy reading your blog and keeping in touch. My mother-in-law has had a return of her breast cancer. They caught it early this time and the cancer is still growing. Her surgery is Thursday, then she’ll start chemo & radiation. A long road ahead…

  26. Susan K says:

    School night, well after all our bedtimes (yeah, we have no life, but when you get up at 4 AM that’s what happens…) and predicted to be cloudy (though I don’t think it was – weathermen are about 0 for 3 lately). Pity. Bring on 2010!

