Eclipsed

The beauty of the eclipse we watched this week was powerful, but not nearly as powerful as the beauty of the watchers — Mommy, Daddy, and Widget, sitting in a pile on Widget’s bedroom floor, snuggled up and watching the moonlight disappear. 

Wasn’t it a beautiful eclipse?  What an amazing event to share with little ones, or loved ones, or just the rest of the world as so many of us peeked outside to see the moon appear to change.  I have so loved reading stories around the internet of how you enjoyed it too….

So much to tell you, so little time.  I had my radiation appointment on Monday, and it went well.  I went in there completely cold, having no idea what to expect (not like me at all), but it went fine … mostly.  I didn’t particularly enjoy getting the tattoos, but it was nothing compared to the morning-long chemo drips that I’ve had this year.  There was just a momentary pinprick pain and then it was gone.   A few minutes late, the physical therapist doing the test and tattoos was done, and I had 5 little navy blue dots scattered across my chest.  Honestly, the much harder part was holding my arm above my head and lying that way for 20 minutes during the CT, marking, and tattoos.  But it’s over, and it was fine.  I start radiation on Monday, and go in every day for seven weeks.

We had playdate here on Tuesday, and it was so much fun.  The kids had a blast, playing around our feet, coloring on a large swath of butcher paper, and eating cupcakes (oh, the sugar!) to celebrate the THREE birthdays we had on a single day this week. 

It was a great way to start the day, and I thought about it all afternoon as I was in the PT’s office getting my arm worked on, in an attempt to avoid lymphodema.  (My arm swelled suddenly on Sunday, and it’s been a constant fight all week to keep it under control, with wrapping, exercises, and anti-inflammatory medication.)

On Wednesday and Thursday, I went to WORK.  Yup, I was out of the house all day, without my kids, with my colleagues, and it was really strange at first.  But because I had kept in touch with some of them, gone to the conference in August, and twitterred with colleagues-in-common, I didn’t feel nearly as strange as I thought I would.  Just … one of them.  (Okay, one of them who had obviously just been fighting cancer, and had to do funny stretches in the hallways frequently during the day, but still, one of them.)  It was really great.

Today was a catch-up day.  Obviously, I’m not all caught up.  For example, I’m at least one PBN review and two internet blog awards behind.  I’m also behind on some NASA work I had hoped to do, but at least this week’s behind me. 

It was a tough one.  We’re also dealing with some health issues in our extended family, and that’s putting us under some stress.  But at the end of it all, we’re happy and healthy and ready to spend the day tomorrow together.  And whether we clean, email, work, or just lay on the floor and play matchbox cars, tomorrow will be a wonderful day too.  Because, after this year, NOTHING can keep me from enjoying life with my boys. 

Nothing.

20 Responses to Eclipsed

  1. Susan K says:

    So glad your two days of work went well!! Great. Sorry I didn’t get out there to say hi, but didn’t really have a reason (you know, a legit, work one) to make the trek..

    And glad you didn’t have to travel there on this miserable (though not as bad as predicted) day.

  2. KillerBoob says:

    Wow. a fresh new head of hair (growing fast, girl!) AND going to work. So many dreams coming true all at once.🙂

    You look great and sound great.

    Rads were an absolute BREEZE after chemo. It was basically a topless, 15 minute nap with a select audience every day. The biggest pain was just getting there every day, and I can’t complain about that. I hope your experience is the same.

  3. Angela says:

    A day without excitment is sometimes the best day

  4. Dana says:

    When you mentioned the eclipse, my heart fluttered. I caught part of it, and it was amazing. Isn’t it wonderful that no matter how far apart we live from each other, we still see the same moon? I just love that!

    (I’m getting sentimental today. Someone stop me! Hehehe)

  5. I hope you have a great weekend, however you decide to spend it! Enjoy those boys!!!🙂

    Hugs!

  6. Joanna says:

    Hey WM – Glad you got to enjoy your eclipse🙂. I actually, sadly, missed it due to working and suddenly noticing the time had passed. Two more years? *sigh* Anyway, I just have to comment: radiation every DAY for seven weeks? Wow. Can you explain to us a bit in detail about the process, how you expect to feel afterwards, and exactly what the radiation hopes to do? (I think I get it, obviously, but you are so awesome at explaining these things in simple yet clinical terms). Only when you have time, of course – enjoy your weekend🙂.

  7. Lisa says:

    Way to go! You have done way more than me this week!
    LOL XOXO

  8. Imstell says:

    Back to work?! You rock! Will you be back part time now? Radiation wasn’t so bad. Although with IBC they might bring it up to the skin level & that can cause some burning. But nothin’ we survivors can’t handle!!!

    Hope the familial stress lessens.

  9. Casdok says:

    You just cant beat being with ones kids 🙂

  10. I just love these chatty posts. They make me smile.

    Fantastic that you went back to work. That would have felt amazing.

    I wanna see a pic of you playing matchbox cars

  11. sprucehillfarm says:

    I am glad to hear that your radiation appointment went well. It is hard staying still for a scan. I am glad that it will be easier than chemo. I hope you do not have to travel too far everyday for your treatments. Enjoy your weekend. We will be playing ponies on the floor at our house!

  12. tracey says:

    Good update, hon. Have a lovely weekend.

  13. MammaLoves says:

    Goodness!! I love your enthusiasm!!! It’s so contagious. Thank you once again for sharing it with us.

  14. Kim says:

    Back to work. YES! And protecting, loving that time with the babies- so essential. The work/ home balance is hard enough when all is going “normally.” I’m so glad you keep it all in perspective- and share it with us.

  15. ~JJ! says:

    Fantastic!

    I am so glad you had a busy and fruitful week!

    Hugs.

  16. Ally says:

    What a great week. We enjoyed the eclipse, too, seen while we were on vacation in Mexico. I’m glad to hear you were even able to go back to work this week… that is amazing!

  17. BetteJo says:

    I was SO behind on my blog reading, I read your last 8 posts all in a row.

    I cried, I laughed and I am in awe of all the progress you have made!

    Amazing and incredibly wonderful. 🙂

  18. Sinead@BMums says:

    I’m so pleased that you’re doing so well! We missed the eclipse (I FORGOT about it, doh!) but apparently it was cloudy here, so I would have been disappointed anyway… phew😉

    Anyway, I’m just catching up and thought I’d drop by to see how you’re getting on. Wishing that everything goes well for you tomorrow. I’ll say a prayer for you🙂

  19. Maggie, dammit says:

    Nothing indeed.

  20. Megan says:

    Hi Susan,

    I wanted to send you an email, but I can’t seem to find one on this site. First, I’d like to extend a giant hug and endless congratulations. You are incredible and I am so proud of you. I’ve watched your fight from afar and feel that you are such an inspiration.

    I found your site because of your disease, but I wanted to let you know I continue to read because of who you are, what you do and how you write about it all. I am a former NASA geek, and a person who genuinely wishes she had followed her dreams more closely when it comes to her career. I love my life, my daughter, my husband, but I share a deep love for NASA, the space program and the spirit of space exploration that I’m sure you can appreciate. I’m so happy you have been able to go back to work. And also, quite envious.

    I know you’ll enjoy every moment. Not only with your beautiful family, but in your career as well. Well done, Whymommy.

    I will be showing my daughter the nearest eclipse as well. And telling her how awesome life is, and how important it is to dream.

    Thank you for being such an inspiration.

