Highlights (review)

When I was a little girl, I waited eagerly each month for the arrival of my Highlights magazine.  Highlights for Children was packed full of stories, poems, games, and puzzles, and it was indeed a highlight of my month.

Now, my son can enjoy all the fun of Highlights at an even YOUNGER age, with Highlights High Five magazine.  It comes in the mail addressed to him now, but it’s still just as full of fun, excitement, and whimsy as Highlights was for our generation.

Recent issues featured stories, puzzles, games, poems, cut outs, and creative projects to do together. 

Highlights High Five is a fun magazine for kids in any situation, and particularly great on rainy days or sick days when you have to stay in bed.  I am so glad that the Parent Bloggers Network re-introduced me to Highlights, and that they have a magazine appropriate for my little kids!

P.S. Parent Bloggers will be giving away free subscriptions to Highlights or Highlights High Five on March 7 — check their site for details!

10 Responses to Highlights (review)

  1. Nancy says:

    Wow, I have forgotten about Highlights. I too waited for the mailman every month. Umm, I also loved my MAD magazine too =)

  2. Krishawn says:

    Oh man, exactly what I’ve been looking for. Just yesterday I was paging through a Highlights at the store, wishing my toddler were old enough to enjoy it. The Highlights High Five sounds perfect for her though. Going to check it out right now…thanks!

    Another great magazine my toddler LOVES is Wild Animal Baby…very sturdy construction that takes a lickin’.

    Check it out:
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00005Q7E5/ref=pd_sl_aw_alx-jeb-4-1_magazine_2120799_1

  3. Suz says:

    We got Highlights and then, a magazine called Cricket. I loved getting that Cricket in the mail.

  4. Stimey says:

    I loved Highlights too. We’ve done a couple different magazines for our kids, but this year, we’re doing Ranger Rick and National Geographic Kids. Lots of fun!

  5. Heather says:

    My three year old LOVES this mag! She has memorized every last one cover to cover. It’s very well done and I can’t wait til she ‘graduates’ to the regular Highlights.

  6. Andamom says:

    I’m not ‘in the know’ about this younger version of the magazine. I do remember regular Highlights though — although I cannot say whether it was one of my favs. I remember liking National Geographic though… and being impressed with its pictures.

  7. Amanda says:

    Ah, this brings back memories. I remember Highlights…. such excitement to have MAIL!

  8. Robin says:

    Oh, I LOVED highlights!! With 4 kids in my family we were always at the dr’s. Never minded because that’s where I read Highlights.

  9. Angeline says:

    Though we don’t have Highlights over here in Singapore. But we do have Playhouse Disney magazines for kids.

    They are great stuff to entertain kids when they are truly bored, after all the toys, games, tv….the best thing about such magazines is the educational part of it.

  10. Martha says:

    Ladybug and Click are also great magazines for the pre-school age. If you’re looking for something younger, Babybug is perfect for toddlers. Check out http://www.cricketmag.com.

