More Boxing Up, and Putting Fears Aside

Inspired by my newly svelte (aka boobless) body, and my friend Stimey’s commitment to losing her Junk Pyramid, the frenzy of cleaning out continued this weekend.  All in all, I packed up 8 large bags of outgrown clothes (mine and the boys) and took them off to the donation center.  I sent some favorite baby sleepers to Canape, and some unworn little pink and yellow things to Liz.  I even let go of the exersaucer, the car seat, and a a baby gym, taking them over to Urban Mama this weekend.  (Urban Mama, how are you?  Is your family still a family of four, or are you five now?  I’m on pins and needles, baby!)

My closet no longer looks like the sale rack at Kohl’s.  Instead, it’s got a few nice pieces, 5 cute tops, 2 pair cords, 3 pair jeans, a beautiful silk business suit, and an assortment of cardigan or hoodie type sweaters.  Oh, and the camisoles.  Did I mention how much I love camisoles?  I’d never been able to wear them before, and now I can wear them with abandon.

So I am.

They’re a little revealing (of what, I’m not sure), and I happen to love that right now.  They’re well-fitted, covering the areas I have to lather with lotion 5 times a day to keep from burning, due to daily radiation.  They fit easily under anything, and look cute peeking out.

But I don’t have to just tell you — I’ll show you!

Because yesterday morning, we were visited by a professional photographer and his assistant (Hi, Pete and Isaac!), who proceeded to take pictures of our family upstairs, downstairs, cooking lunch (ha!), blogging, and basically just doing what we normally do.  They took hundreds of pictures.  Hopefully several will be cute enough for publication.  Because … get this … there’s a story coming out about IBC and me in a major magazine this spring.  I can’t tell you anymore, because it’s embargoed, but I am SO excited and can’t wait to see it.  I hope that it helps spread the message a little further and a little more powerfully.

And what’s the message?  Know your body.  Check it every month or so, and if anything is different on/in one breast, for example, run, don’t walk to the phone to call your OB and ask for an appointment.

Early detection is critical.

And so, sometimes, is that perfect little top that makes you feel like a million bucks.

29 Responses to More Boxing Up, and Putting Fears Aside

  1. Alison says:

    I love hearing how positive you are!
    I think all of us are trying to will Spring to come by starting our Spring cleaning. We did a ton of dumping this weekend!

    I am super excited for your magazine spread!!

  2. Mrs. Chicken says:

    I’ve been doing the same, inspired by the feeling that I am literally choking on STUFF. My closet is so spare!

    And then I went and got knocked up. Damn, more stuff!

    You sound so light and airy. Congrats on that, and on the magazine piece. Can’t wait to read it.

  3. margaret says:

    I think Stimey’s inspiring all of us! I’ve been through a few odd draws and closets, just cleaning out what we don’t need/use anymore and I like having more room and being able to find what we DO use and need!

    That’s great news on the magazine article!

  4. I am very excited to see that magazine article! And I’m happy for you, because you sound so happy yourself…YAY!

  5. How exciting! And such a broader reach for your story… which is so, so excellent. Yay! Make sure you keep us updated… we’ll all be running to the newsstands!

  6. JoC says:

    Ha ha! I woke up early again today and decided to continue with something that I learned from a decluttering book. Focus on small projects (like Stimey is doing). So, I didn’t check you blog till just now (approaching 8). Synchronicity. Closet taming is powerful stuff. Looking forward to the article and those photos!!! Have a great day!

  7. Mama DB says:

    How cool! So looking forward to seeing some of the photos!

    I bow down to your organizational skills. I cleaned out the kids’ closet last week and still haven’t dealt with the stuff that came out of there (sort of defeats the purpose – now I just have more stuff around the house).

    And Yay! for camisoles!

  8. WOW!! I can’t wait to see the magazine… And I sure hope we can get it up here in Canada!! Otherwise, I’ll just have to make a run for the border, so I can buy up a mess of copies to distribute to all my friends…

    And, I can’t wait to see the photos. I’ll just bet you look fantastic.

    xo CGF

  9. Very exciting, but I mis-read and thought you had the photos to show now! Can’t wait to see them.

    Still, I’m more excited about that movie I keep predicting they’ll make. Am I right in thinking Julia Roberts would be good at playing you, or do you have another fave?

    And did you see our comments overlapped on Well last week? I linked to your blog, and you posted as WhyMommy (with no link!) Hope people found you anyway! It was a great story on journaling for cancer patients.

  10. Kat says:

    You go girl!!!!!!

    Congrats on the magazine article! Can’t wait to see it.

    Hugs!
    Kat

  11. Bubba's Sis says:

    Can’t wait to see that magazine!!!!

  12. delilah says:

    Nothing like a little bit of Spring cleaning to cleanse the spirit. Can’t wait to read the article!

  13. deb says:

    You sound so full of life. It’s lovely. Can’t wait to see the pics. A friend sent me an email on Paget’s disease of the breast, I forwarded it to everyone and then had a good look at my own nipples.

    Have a wonderful day.

  14. canape says:

    That’s so cool about the article! You be’s a supah stahhhhh.

    And I always knew you would join me in cami-worship. Oh how I love the jjill camisoles.

  15. hotfessional says:

    Yay for you and the smart smart magazine for getting the word out. If I don’t subscribe, you better believe I will after this.

  16. Katherine says:

    Congrats! Getting rid of the old stuff and getting into some new flattering clothing is so much fun! I’m so excited about the article. It’s amazing how many people you’ve reached about IBC already.

    Always impressed,
    Katherine

  17. Leeanthro says:

    Nothing like a good closet cleaning!

    Good for you for wearing camisoles and feeling great in them.

    Can’t wait to see the article (and the pictures).

  18. amanda says:

    Camisoles are indeed bliss. And you, you just keep soaring higher.

    Bravo!

  19. Stimey says:

    Congratulations, woman! Both on the donated clothes, and especially on the article!! Fantastic!

    Do they give you any of the prints?

  20. Sarah S. says:

    I love camies too. No more bras for me!

    I can’t wait to see the magazine article. I am so excited. I am also so proud of you!

  21. Jennifer Starr-Reivitt says:

    Help! I’m trying to find a way to email you privately! I was diagnosed with IBC on February 3rd. My situation is so similar to yours…..I was nursing my son and thought I had a plugged duct. I’d really like to connect with you if possible. I have my port put in tomorrow….

  22. Nancy says:

    Once again, you are such an inspiration! And to be featured as a positive example, in a magazine … how won.der.ful!

  23. Emily says:

    Looking forward to the magazine spread. Keep us updated on it.

    You are incredible!

  24. ruthie says:

    Breasts are overrated!!! Purge away!!! I thought your funny about “where ever did you put your breasts?” was a total crack-up! Can’t wait to read the article.

  25. NYFriend says:

    Cool beans!

  26. Donna W says:

    Your blog is very new to me, but I am stopping by to say “thank you”. Because of you, I remembered it had been a couple of years since my last mammogram and I called to schedule. Imagine my surprise to find out it has been THREE years. In both my blogs today, I linked to you and reminded my readers to get their mammograms.

    Thanks.

  27. KillerBoob says:

    Yup. I’ve been on the camisole wagon for years. Welcome on board! It’s pretty convenient/cute up here🙂

  28. Jessica says:

    I love that you love the camisoles. When at the MNAC party I wanted to tell you how hot, cute, awesome you looked in a tight t-shirt but didn’t want to say the wrong thing. Reading this post makes me want to tell you now. I love it that you love the body and your hard won new look, because it is sure damn pretty girl! Much love and admiration, Jess

  29. Muhd Imran says:

    What a wonderful way to share your experience coping with BC and educate prevention. I admire your positive thinking.

    Coming from Donna. This is a good site for my Wifey to read.

