Of Nursery Rhymes

We try to keep things pretty normal around here for the kids, with playdates and preschool, naptimes and nursery rhymes.  Once in a while, however, things go awry.

Yesterday, as I was cuddling Widget, I began to teach him a silly rhyme:

Fuzzy Wuzzy was a bear;
Fuzzy Wuzzy had no hair;

Then a small voice interrupted me, needing to know, “Mommy, why didn’t he have hairWas he sick?”

 Sigh.

19 Responses to Of Nursery Rhymes

  1. Mama DB says:

    That’s because you are raising a smart and compassionate little man there.

  2. Donna4k says:

    I would hate to have that mixed bag of emotions that that response from your little guy made you feel. Children are so much more aware than most folks give them credit for.Onthe upside when we get the too grownup type of response like that from our babies …. be reassured that your son is smart, empathetic,and a reason that moms know there is hope in the world. Take care and have a little boy day if you need to. ((hugs))

  3. Katherine says:

    It’s amazing how insightful children are.

  4. Sarah S. says:

    What a smart little boy:)

  5. Susan K says:

    At least you know he was listening!

    That is actually very sweet… my children frequently surprise me with how insightful they are. Your little boy is no different.

  6. hotfessional says:

    😉

    But Fuzzy’s getting better, too!

  7. BetteJo says:

    Oh what a sweetheart!

  8. JoC says:

    ouch! That would stop me in my tracks. Sigh. What a lovely, sensitive, intelligent boy you and WD are raising. Be gentle with yourself too.

  9. Nancy says:

    Very in tune to what has been happening. Such a sweet, sweet boy. You have the right to change the rhyme to how ever you see fit =)

  10. Christy says:

    Aw. It is precious that he is so aware. You are raising a sweet little man!

  11. clmama says:

    Oh bless my heart – this is a sweet post, though I fully understand the weight of it. How did you respond? You are so eloquent with your kids in these moments. (Hugs)

  12. amanda says:

    They are going to be special, those boys.

    Last night Briar looked at me and said, “Hey mom, Little Bo Sheep lost her peeps.”

  13. Bon says:

    he’s going to be a beautiful, thoughtful man.

    but that must have been both heavy and kinda giggly at the same time.

  14. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    Not a poem gone awry, but one gone a wry.

    Next…

    Pete and Repete are on the Empire States Building. Pete jumps off…

    Or…

    …but that was OK, because he was young and strong and used to hard ships.

  15. NYfriend says:

    Oh heartbreaking! Big hugs to you both.

    Knowing you though, you were able to quickly bring the no-hair topic into something silly and fun, as originally intended, while still assuring him that everything is okay. The world, his world, is OKAY. 🙂

  16. ~JJ! says:

    Oh what a boy!

    I think he’s feeling compassion there sister!

  17. Maggie, dammit says:

    Oh, how that squeezes my heart.😦

  18. Rebecca says:

    Lord, I sing that song to my son all the time. Now I’ll think of you everytime (and that’s not a bad thing!)

