Burn, baby, burn

Exactly seven days into radiation, I have started to burn.  The right side of my chest is achy and tender, pinkish and slightly damaged already.  It’s not too bad, just like the first sunburn of summer, and is readily relieved by the application of the prescribed lotion that I smear on four or five times a day.  (At $57 a tube, that stuff better work.)  It’s early to start burning, but the radiation oncologist isn’t too worried.  Although he did peer at me curiously at our first meeting yesterday and say, “It’s highly unusual that a patient would start to burn this early.”

All I could do was laugh and say, “I’m 34, and I’ve already had two cancers.  I suppose I am highly unusual.  Now, what do we do about it?”

14 Responses to Burn, baby, burn

  1. Stimey says:

    I’ve been wondering how the radiation has been going.

    You are highly unusual in more ways than just the above. And that is meant as a compliment.

  2. whymommy says:

    Awwww, thanks, Stimey!

  3. Does your tendency to actually get sunburns have any relation to how soon you may get burns from the radiation? As in, if you have fair skin and get sunburnt easily, do you burn faster with radiation?

    I hope they find something to relieve it, and soon!

  4. you are more than unusual! You are unique.

    And fabulous!

    Smootches for your ouchie LOL

  5. Emily says:

    For that cost, I hope it does the dishes, too.

  6. If the stuff works, then it’s worth every penny!

    And YOU, friend, are priceless, not just “unusual”.

    Feel better soon-

    xo CGF

  7. Linda Lawrence says:

    Pox, burns! Ugh!
    Think of you 24/7!

    Love you!
    🙂 🙂 🙂

  8. Spacemom says:

    Sorry about the burns!
    Tell them that you are a statisical anomaly!🙂

  9. Imstell says:

    Are they using that pad thing on your chest that brings the radiation up to the skin level? Because that makes the skin burning much worse.

  10. SuzyQatHome says:

    Ouch! I really hope that you’re not in a lot of pain.

    Sending prayers that your lotion helps. I’ve completely lost track of how much longer you have (7 weeks?) and how often you have to go. Hopefully it will all just fly by!

  11. Ally says:

    Highly unusual indeed! YOU are highly unusual. Which I like a lot.

  12. MP says:

    I am sorry to hear that you are showing signs of burning so early. As you probably know IBC affects our skin as well as our breast. I took the radiation burns as a good sign that not only was my breast gone but all the little cells left in my skin were been blown away.

    I don’t respond often, but I am a regular reader. I love your courage and willingness to share.

  13. clifford says:

    Stupid naive oncologist. He knoweth not the Scientist Of Steel. Tell him you’re just working on your tan for baseball season early, eh?

  14. […] system?  Which means that the skin is perhaps the most vulnerable spot for recurrence.  So we must sear it, killing the cancerous cells and a good number of healthy ones too.  The sunburn appears faster, […]

