Women? And Donuts?

As I was inviting a younger colleague to our women’s networking event at the conference last night, and worrying over the amount of food that I’d ordered, one of her male colleagues decided that his input was also necessary. 

Him:  A Women’s Networking Breakfast?  Surely it won’t matter how many donuts you ordered — women won’t eat them!

Me: 

Him: Because they worry about getting fat!

Me:

Him: I mean, have you ever heard a man ask, “Does my butt look fat in this dress?”

Me:  (with a sigh.)  You know, I’d take you on, but I have dinner plans.

And we turned and walked away.

27 Responses to Women? And Donuts?

  1. Angela says:

    He just has no idea does he? *sigh*

    I’m guessing he’s single.

    And with comments like this he may stay that way for quite a while.

  2. Dawn says:

    that’s why he’s got a dangly – he just doesn’t have the genes to understand.

  3. Nutmeg says:

    I myself prefer donut holes.

    Any seminar that has donut holes has Meg.

  4. Sandie says:

    Yay for donut-eating men. Boo for men who make silly assumptions😉

  5. Sandie says:

    Oops, I meant to say donut-eating WOmen. Ack, pregnancy brain strikes again.

  6. Mandy says:

    I love that your come back was about eating!!

    glad its was a succes regardless of him!!

    @mandyg

  7. MummyCha says:

    No surprise, there are lots of nerds at the LPSC, whose understanding of ladies mainly comes from interacting with… their nerd colleagues…

    I wish I could have grabbed one of these donuts!!

  8. ~JJ! says:

    Ha! I hope you told him you were planning on dessert too!

  9. ruthie says:

    I about peed my panties! Hilarious! I especially loved the comment about the “dangly”! I am a donut eating mama!

  10. Katherine says:

    I do have to say some of the science guys can be a little less smooth than men in other professions. The reaction I get sometimes when dropping in to see a family member (that works in the physics department) at our local university… It’s funny.

    I remember when X-files was on the air (yeah, so I’m a geek too) I thought the lone gunmen were totally off the wall, but I swear the disproportionate gender stats in the sciences is as bad for men as it is for women.

  11. Eejit.

    He has NO IDEA what he’s missing…

    Let’s hear it for donuts, and ice cream, and chocolate, and pancakes, and BROWNIES, and home-made macaroni and cheese… and…

    My butt doesn’t look fat, does it???

    Ah, hell, who cares…

    xo CGF

  12. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    Surely the amount of time necessary to discuss the finer points of not insulting women would not have taken so long as to interupt dinner. Years ago you would have just smacked me and that would have been the end of it. Debbie says thank you for training me right.

    But it was funny…heh, heh, heh.

    Hope you enjoy the card!

  13. Anne says:

    I love your response … just perfect

    Him: blah blah blah

    You:

    Him: blah blah blah blah

    You:

    I’m still laughing.

  14. Jenn says:

    It’s hard to believe us women even have time to eat donuts; what with having to scrub floors, make dinners, be barefoot and pregnant in the kitchen.

    I hope the look you gave him was the Death Stare.

  15. Judy says:

    Priceless.😀

  16. Sarah S. says:

    Ha! Some men are really clueless. Don’t they realize that we think about food as much as they think about sex?

  17. deb says:

    What? Women aren’t supposed to eat donuts? Nobody told me about this.

  18. Becky says:

    and yet another shining example of cluelessness.

  19. Did your breast cancer come with constant itching?

    I’m taking my daughter back to the doctors this afternoon, and he said that they may have to remove her tumor just to make sure that it is not cancerous.

    She is itching constatnly…. It’s driving us crazy as well as her…

  20. sam says:

    I’d be throwing those donuts at him. What a douche comment to make.

  21. Jessica says:

    Will you be my hero, baby? – Enrique Iglesias

    Your response (and sigh) was cooler than anything I could have thought up at 2am.

    <>

  22. Angeline says:

    Who says I wouldn’t eat it! I love donuts and I will eat as many as I can even till my bottoms become as round as a donut.

    Man, what can I say about them? Hmmm…

  23. Bon says:

    timely. i literally just finished a chocolate donut, and still have sugar on my face.

    i never eat ’em, but i was at this meeting and they were there and i think my eyes grew three sizes and i wanted them ALL!

  24. Susan K says:

    I would like to point something out. As part of National Women’s Month, there was a day that a team made of entirely women were responsible for the operation of one of the rovers on Mars (OK, yes, very cool). It was quoted in this article that, as the webcast was getting started to kick the thing off, one of the women said,

    “Does this webcam make me look fat?” HA HA HA.

    Ladies, until we stop doing this ourselves, how the heck can we expect the poor men to get it?

  25. Lisa says:

    All of this donut talk, makes me want one!

  26. Damselfly says:

    I would definitely eat a donut, but only if it had extra calories in the form of cream or something on the inside….

