Out of the funk

Okay, Joy Unexpected just pulled me out of the funk, with a little swiss on rye.  If I had tonight’s post to write over again, I might have written something like this:

Today, my three year old told me that I am his favorite person.

My husband and I had a leisurely day catching up around the house, doing chores together, reading books together, and raising our children together.

My baby flipped the light switches on and off and learned the word pretty.

I accomplished something that I will be proud of, and never mind the urgency with which I worked on it during nap and after the children’s bedtime.

Today I lived life to the fullest.

Take that, cancer!

9 Responses to Out of the funk

  1. Kacy says:

    You say your three year old says you are their favourite person. Well my little two year old granddaughter wants to marry her nanny Kath (me)

  2. How cool! My son says cool, whoa, wow – he only says mama when he wants out of his crib LOL

    It’s so cool to watch you flourish!

  3. Kimberly says:

    I love this post. Good day wins over bad day that’s my kind of happy ending🙂

    Hugsxo

  4. amanda says:

    It’s a constant battle. Bless you for seeing the good.

  5. Beth_C says:

    Glad you were able to find some positives in your day! But you don’t have to worry…we don’t mind reading about exactly how you are feeling at the exact moment you are writing a post. We will take the good, the bad and the funky!

  6. Kolleen says:

    Good day vs Rotten one! Goodness prevailed🙂

    PS

    Is there any better feeling in the world to be told by your little one that you are the best?

  7. Ardythe says:

    I agree inequities still exist been the sexes in recognition of our work, but to understand how bad it once was. Here’s s little history. In the 50’s after college I took a job at Marshall Fields in Chicago. I was gung ho ambitious, but there was a rule for our (women’s) protection that women could not work more than 8 hours a day. With my boss’s knowledge at 5 o’clock I would go to the lady’s room and hide in a booth with my feet up so no one would know I was there. I’d wait until the personnel department people had all left and I would come out and work well into the evening.

    It worked, I was promoted to Assistant Buyer. I discovered that a man in the next department which had lower volume and fewer people to supervise than mine, was making significantly more money than I was. I went to the merchandise manager with my complaint and his stated reason to me was that this man had 4 children. My claim to having an unemployed graduate student husband got me no points at all.

    After a couple of years this same merchandise manager was walking behind me one day and he asked me if I was pregnant. He was an expert on signs of early pregnancy (he had five children) . I had to admit that I was 3 months along in my pregnancy and, therefore, I had to quit my job. The reason this time was a “problem” with insurance if they allowed pregnant women to work beyond three months.

    We have come a long way but there is still so much to do (especially more women in government). I recommend Dee Dee Myers’ book, Why Women Should Rule the World.

    Be agressive!

  8. clifford says:

    So sorry dearest, but cancer didn’t hear you. Heez gone. Polishing up the resume’ and interviewing last time I heard.

  9. Ally says:

    I followed your “something to be proud of” link. You rock! What an amazing thing you are doing for all of your colleagues.

