Small world….

This blog post is original to Toddler Planet and may not be reposted without permission.  Blog scrapers, this means you!  

A funny thing, this blogging.  Here I am, doing nothing more important with my day than radiation therapy and water play, and the following things happen:

1. My best friend and I grow closer over a minor commenting fiasco;

2. I make a new friend, Academom;

3. One of my IBC sisters and I realize that we’re being treated at the same radiation center (she recognizes it from the detail of the triple doors.  Wow.);

4. Monica and I realize belatedly (like, a year and a half belatedly) that we have known each other in another life … real life … and in fact, when Widget was small, our families fostered beagles that were brother and sister!

5. Canadians flock to my blog after a mention today on B.C. Almanac; and

6. My eyes are opened to a world of women in science bloggers, in academia and out, with husbands, with little children, with tenure, or considering all three, and my world is enriched.

I think I’ll write a post about the women science bloggers, just to say hello and thanks for their bravery about putting their tenure fears out there, and their thoughts often as eloquently as the academics many of us know and love (such as, of course, Bub and Pie and Her Bad Mother), but tonight I leave you with a series of pictures of the water play.  Because I’m also a mom.  And I can do that.

 testingthewaters

Testing the waters

whatisit

What is this magic potion, that brings forth such bubbles?

treasure

There is treasure ‘neath these waters, treasure I must have!

workingtogether

And the last one.  In which I begin to live the dream.  Brothers.  Working together on something.  (In this case, they’re drawing on my windows with window markers and washing it off with wet paintbrushes.)  It doesn’t matter what it is, though.  The important part to me is that they’re doing it together, making decisions independently, and, every few minutes, laughing with delight.

I totally didn’t ever think I’d see this.  But I’m so, so glad I did.

24 Responses to Small world….

  1. carosgram says:

    This post reminded me of my relationship with my 3 brothers and 1 sister – how important they are in my life. It is the shared memories and adventures we had as kids that has kept us bonded even though we are separated by distance and circumstances. Your boys are building those experiences now. By the by I love seeing children playing in the sink. They learn so much with that type of activity. And it doesn’t require any electronic equipment. Good on you!

  2. Ally says:

    Small world indeed!

    And the water play! So fun. When you hear a ding-dong at your bell in a while, that’ll be me and the family… just stopping in to play in those bubbles, and in the playhouse I spy in the backyard through the window. 🙂

    Those moments when the children are playing together, cooperatively… these are such treasures.

  3. Stimey says:

    I LOVE that last photo.

    Sounds like a big week! And a good one.

  4. Bubba's Sis says:

    So precious!

    What are Blog Scrapers?

  5. Robin says:

    I love that you are the kind of mom who lets their kids stand on the kitchen counter so they can reach to draw on the window.

  6. SO in love with that last pic. Your boys are just too cute… it should be illegal or something! 😀

    Yet, again, I finish thru tears… you really didn’t think you’d see that? My heart just breaks… then explodes, ‘cuz, Momma… You Saw IT!!!! You Took IT (figuratively, if you didn’t :p)!!!! Mommy, You Made It!!!!!

    xxx

  7. Blog scrapers (what happened?) and now spammers? Yikes, WhyMommy…. what gives? Makes you want to get your blog off the grid (metaphorically speaking) doesn’t it? Grrr.

    I’d love an explanation so we can all be more aware of this scraper issue.

  8. I love the pictures! Oh – I remember the days of water play and giggles.
    Enjoy it now – they get way too big way way way too fast.
    I know this – my oldest is talking about college! Yikes! It seems like just yesterday he was finger painting on the back porch…
    xo
    LBC

  9. Sarah S. says:

    I love the pictures. The boys are so cute! It is those little moments that are the best memories.

  10. christine says:

    look at them, those sweet, sweet boys.

  11. deb says:

    Beautiful photos of your boys. Makes me remember when my kids were small. I forget sometimes. Thanks for helping me to remember.

  12. twithhoney says:

    I love watching little ones explore and bond together. It is one of the small joys and surprises of motherhood.

  13. Susan K says:

    How many times have I told my oldest (now 7) to get down off the counter (all the while remembering, even as I speak, that I used to climb up on the counter all the time)!! Thanks for helping show me I can just get over that particular nag!

    But I’ll have you know that your blog title has now put that dratted song in my head – and we aren’t even AT Disney yet (but leaving for the drive south in one, yes one, hour!! School dismisses at 11:30. YEAH)

    So I may miss seeing your repost about what the heck scraping is (and what happened – all those don’t repost notes are new, right?) Hope it is just a minor annoyance. Take care, have a good week, and I’ll check in when we return.

  14. Nancy says:

    Last photo is priceless! Thank you for sharing it!

  15. linda.lawrence says:

    Love the pictures!

    Love ya,
    🙂 🙂 🙂

  16. Nicole says:

    Your boys are priceless!

    It’s all good, how wonderful…

    we must talk sometime soon,

    Nicole

  17. Leeanthro says:

    I can’t believe how much your little guy has grown since I have been reading your blog. They are both very cute!

  18. Meredith says:

    I love how toddlers hold things in their hands as if what they are holding is the most precious thing in the world. Also, recognized the Carter’s brown PJs with blue puppies. Favorite jammies for my son. He looks like a teddy bear!

  19. NYFriend says:

    I love this! Brothers. 🙂 Knowing you, your mind is racing thinking of other activities for the boys to do together. I’d love to see a post about that! 🙂 I too think it’s so important to facilitate sibling teamwork. Bonding, a wonderful thing. And giggles, heartwarming.

    At 4 and almost 2, sometimes I find it hard to find activities for both to do together and enjoy it. In a bit of a rut there. But we enjoy “tricks” (somersaults) & o
    ther horse-play on our bed most every day. Both kids climb up on my back for a horsey-ride, and giggle with delight when they get bucked off. 🙂 They run loops around on the bed and laugh as they collapse together in a heap after colliding. (Note to other readers – the bed is just a mattress on the floor. 🙂 Actually 2 mattresses on the floor.)

  20. amanda says:

    So am I. Our girls have had some of their best times with a collander and warm, sudsy water.

  21. Bon says:

    you know, i’m embarrassed to admit it’s never occurred to me to fill the sink with soap and let him play. but it looks like fun…maybe we’ll do that this afternoon.

    thanks.🙂

  22. Meredith says:

    I was so inspired by these pics that today, I pulled up a stool to the sink and let my toddler “do dishes”. thanks for the idea, should have done it sooner.

  23. mo-wo says:

    yeah that was me boosting you on BC Almanac. Turned out it made me all philosophical and shit too.

  24. Hi! Haven’t been by in a while. Your babes are sweetness through and through. Seeing your pics of them playing at the sink reminded me of how much my own two boys loved that sort of adventure. The adorable lines of your baby’s arms and cheeks… I’m oohing and aahhhing here in Georgia.

    Great idea for the blog scraping tag. I’ve stopped putting (y.o.g.a.) on my tags, since I’ve had that topic scraped several times. Such miscreants!

    It’s heartwarming to see you enjoying your wee ones.🙂

