Blog-scraping, Camp Baby, and a hayride

blog scraping = Random, unauthored sites stealing content, in whole or in part, with or without linkage, with no apparent rhyme or reason, except to put words on a page with ads.  They typically leave a “ping” in the comments for the original blog’s commenters to click through, but WordPress (hear this, blog scrapers) is really good about marking those as spam and not letting them through.  No reputable blog (read = one with an author, regularly written content, etc.) is typically accused of blog scraping; these are fly-by-night jobs that are often shut down as quickly as they are started; they only want click-throughs and eyeballs to earn them ad money.

You’ll see a new tagline on my posts for a while in an attempt to cut down on blog scraping; adding this really worked for the DC Metro Moms site, and I’m willing to try it, because I’m tired of my personal content appearing on random pseudo-sites without authors, rhyme or reason.  And no, I’m not linking to an example.

The Johnson & Johnson Camp Baby fiasco continues to unravel, despite the quick action by the organizers and their apologies at City Mama’s and Mothergoosemouse’s blogs.  As it turns, out both Firemom and Sweet|Salty Kate were disinvited because of nursing babies as well.  Check out a professional’s opinion over at Susan Getgood’s Marketing Roadmaps.

Oh, and yes, we went out again today, on a rollicking and boisterous playdate:  A springtime hayride, in 40 mph winds.  We dithered back and forth about whether to go, but, in the end, Widget and I went, and it was wonderful.  Widget climbed into the very front of the wagon, ignored the hay, and proceeded to watch the tractor roll for the entire duration of the hayride while his little friends shivered and snuggled into the hay in back, occasionally looking around at the odd bunny-esque displays that popped up along the bunny trail wagon route.  The only one that really got Widget’s attention was the parade of chocolate bunnies.  Um.  Guess I have to put the chocolate bunny in the basket this weekend after all.  Wonder whether his Daddy or I will nibble the ears?  But the hayride itself was wonderful. He asked me how the tractor goes, and I explained (Sort of.  I mean, I don’t know how an engine works, but he didn’t ask that, now, did he?).  I pointed out the engine, and told him that it makes the axles turn.  Then I pointed out the axle and explained how it turns the wheels.  He was fascinated.

And then, when we came to a stop, he was all business, hopping out and running off to play in the wooden train and castle.  When “Princess C.” left the castle for the super slides, he went running after her, telling me, “Mommy, I want to find Princess C again.  Because I love her.”

And so it begins.

But, blogfriends, it doesn’t end there.  As I was running to the drugstore tonight, Widget climbed into my lap and said, “Mommy, I want to go with you to the store. Because I love you.”  Yeah. 

Little boy, your Mommy loves you too.

17 Responses to Blog-scraping, Camp Baby, and a hayride

  1. NYFriend says:

    Awww, kids really can melt your heart out.

    Glad you seized the day, and enjoyed it despite the winds. We had those same winds here today too, and snow flurries.

    Happy Spring Equinox!

  2. Chasing girls already? You’ve got your work cut out for you! LOL!

  3. That Widget sounds like a ladies man! What a sweetie!

  4. FireMom says:

    I. Hate. Blog. Scraping.

    The new blog hasn’t been hit hard yet but the old one was getting constantly hit. Ugh.

  5. sgetgood says:

    Sounds like a great time, and doesn’t our time with our kids put it all in perspective? Sure blog scraping stinks — someone scraped my Camp Baby post — and the bad pitches everyone gets are annoying and sometimes insulting.

    But in the end we’ve got our families. We win.

  6. Sounds like a wonderful time for you both. I can hear the joy in your words.

  7. Andria says:

    Argh, I cannot stand blog scraping. What gets me, is how they will change certain words in your blog, and even change your name. I have been turned from Andria, into Harvey Norman. Tell me, does Harvey Norman breastfeed his baby? Because apparently, he blogs about it.

  8. tracey says:

    I haven’t come across those types of sites yet. I wouldn’t have a clue how to look!

    Lovin the girls already, eh? Sigh…

  9. coolbeans says:

    I’ve wanted to add that disclaimer to the top of my posts. I just might do it now.

  10. Spacemom says:

    FUnny, I have never heard of blog scrapping. Sigh…
    Anyway, I am glad you got out today!

  11. The whole J&J thing is such a debacle, isn’t it? Not good PR for a company supposedly all warmy and fluffy and very very ‘pro kids’ (at least that’s the impression I get)

  12. whymommy says:

    Harvey Norman! Snort!

    On the blog scraping, if you have WordPress, you can go into the Akismet spam folder and take a look every now and then; blog scrapers sometimes leave a ping. Otherwise, I’m not sure … maybe there are links that you’d find if you use Google blog search to find blogs that link to yours, or use the same (relatively rare) text one day? I found out by happenstance, and then I found out that it’s happening to me about 5 or 6 times a day. Ugh.

  13. planetnomad says:

    Oh I HATE the blog-scrapers! I get them all the time. I never knew what it was called before.

  14. All Adither says:

    Lovely post about the hayride.

  15. Bubba's Sis says:

    Little boys love their mommies! It’s the sweetest love!

    Now I’m wondering if I have been blog-scraped?? Or am I just flattering myself to think that anyone would even want to steal my posts? Ha.

  16. Beverly says:

    The “Princess C” got my attention. My daughter uses that name online, but when she registered for Webkinz, it and about a dozen variations of it were taken. Ah well.

  17. […] Courtesy of: WhyMommy […]

