Radiation Fatigue

I don’t quite understand it, but daily radiation does make me tired.  Exhausted, actually.  I have to nap when the babies nap, which sounds good in theory, but never quite happens in practice.  With two babies and just me around the house these days, they’re never napping at the same time. 

I’m sure there are good reasons for being so tired.  I’m sure the reasons are somewhere on these pages that my good twitterfriends sent me today when I bleated for help.  But I’m too tired to really understand, so I’ll just post the links and come back to them tomorrow.

I do know this.  The purpose of radiation is to kill the cells (good and bad) on my chest, and surely my body must be fighting back, growing new ones to replace the old, and that takes extra energy.

Also, the extra energy is probably not most efficiently made from chocolate and diet coke.  I think.  I mean, I am trying to eat my vegetables, but, c’mon, It’s Girl Scout Cookie time! 

And the playdate-a-day schedule that we’ve been keeping surely isn’t helping.

Or the rush to get my NASA grant started up, and the near-daily posts on the new Women in Planetary Science website

Or the futile attempt to catch up with my blog-friends.  I even missed Bossy’s visit here last night.  I would have slept in my soup beer soup anyway.

What was I saying?

Oh, yeah.  I’m just tired.

P.S.  Welcome back, Velveteen.  We’ve missed you.

This blog post originally appeared at Toddler Planet and may not be reproduced in whole or in part without permission.  Although why you’d choose today’s post to scrape is beyond me.  Zzzzzzz.

19 Responses to Radiation Fatigue

  1. Alison says:

    I think beyond your body growing new healthy cancer free cells to replace the old ones, maybe you’re coming down a bit. I know your fight is not over by any means but is it possible that the biggest part of the fight is moving beyond you and you’re coming down off of all of that? You put so much energy and attention and positiveness into fighting with every fiber of your being that it has to tire you out!

  2. Nancy says:

    ((( Hugs )))

    Take it slow and easy … put all that you can on hold so you can recoup and recover at your body’s pace.

    You are an inspiration =)

  3. Stimey says:

    Hey there, you’re a superhero! Do you want to take tomorrow off? It’s supposed to rain anyway. And I hear you on the multiple playdates thing.

  4. Stimey says:

    I have been sort of hogging you lately.🙂

  5. BetteJo says:

    Stimey – you’re running yourself ragged with all the playdates – WhyMommy you’re tired, why don’t you both agree to not see each other for a while?

    Kidding!!!

    I hope you get the chance to rest from time to time, isn’t our body’s best healing done while we are sleeping?

  6. whymommy says:

    I suppose we could wait all the way til Friday, couldn’t we? Sigh.

  7. I remember these days so well, spent with my family members that were undergoing radiation. Damn it.

    That’s all I can say, babe. Damn it.

    And thank you for the welcome back. You have no idea what that means to me.

  8. Kate says:

    You are such a strong lady. I admire you for being such a good mother and sharing with us all this intimate information
    Keep well

  9. clairej says:

    my onc offered the info that during r/t the body seems to remember the tiredness of any preceding chemo. it was hard work, and every day a little tougher. but when it stops, it’s that double hit which stops – and energy returns.

  10. whymommy says:

    Fascinating, Claire! I never would have guessed … I love the internet, and the great friends I’ve made thereby!

  11. I wish you peaceful, restful times. It doesn’t surprise me you’re tired. Toddlers, grant-stuff, and radiation treatments.

  12. Sarah S. says:

    Rest up! Don’t wear yourself out. Stay home and do quiet things with the boys. Oh and eat lots of cookies!

  13. On top of all your medical treatments, you are also chasing after two toddlers, which will wear anyone out!!!

    Get some rest…I hope you’re feeling better soon!

  14. Damselfly says:

    You are just amazing! Get some rest….

  15. Margerie says:

    I just found your blog. I went through radiation two years ago. I remember my rad oncologist told me on my first rads visit that they have not figured out a medical reason for the extreme fatigue experienced during rads. It is only like “getting a sunburn every day.” In my dreams, I drop kick him across the building!
    I had 30 treatments and my energy got better the further into the treatment I got. I have always done things ass-backwards.

    Wanted to wish you strength and humor for the rest of your treatment. You can remove those rad tattoos if you choose. (I did.)

    I also highly recommend the new breast reconstruction webiste. Lots of good info about all the choices if you are thinking about reconstruction. It took awhile before I was ready to decide on this- but the recon has been the only “plus” in this “journey.”

    http://www.breastreconstruction.org

    Are we there yet?

  16. whymommy says:

    Thanks, Margerie. This is great information, and it’s nice to have you here!

  17. Margerie says:

    Thanks whymommy. Sorry I am so long-winded! I HATED rads the most. . I think it was because I felt like a slab of meat on the counter. And like you I got “the works,” but in a different order

    Anyway, I try to see the humor in things, so I made a couple of “Camp Nukemboobies” designs/cartoons on cards, shirts. Email me (if you can, newbie blogger here sorry) and I will send you an image for a good laugh or two.

    I love your spirit!

    Are we there yet?

  18. mbm says:

    I just discovered your blog. I am an IBC survivor living in Ann Arbor, MI. I too was taken aback at how tired radiation made me. I had decent energy during my 8 month of chemo. But, I spent an hour or two on the couch during my last three weeks of radiation.

    I finished radiation at the end of July 07. My energy gradually came back over several months and I feel pretty normal today.

  19. dmnewman says:

    I hope your fatigue is abating. Mine is not and it’s been over a year since I took daily radiation. I have learned to thrown down B12, the higher dose the better. It really helps to get me through those sinking spells. Good luck with your treatment. d

