One Thing You Can Do

So often, when a loved one becomes sick, friends and family feel helpless.  They don’t know what to do.  They don’t know how to help.  They feel … adrift, without any concrete action to take.  I’ve suggested things before that can help you help a friend.  (To that list, I add: find soft button down shirts or cute zip hoodies for mastectomy patients to wear during recovery and radiation.  Oh, the sunburn.)  But recently I happened upon some even better advice.

Here’s a way to help your friend, help yourself, and help those who really need it. 

And for this, I give my new friend Kate a Perfect Post award.  For more perfect posts, head on over to Petroville or Suburban Turmoil .

5 Responses to One Thing You Can Do

  1. catnip35 says:

    Thanks for sharing your new friend with us. Her blog is amazing. As is yours.

  2. Angela says:

    Yes! I am a blood donor, but have fallen off the wagon since getting pg. Well my son just turned two so I think it’s safe to get back to the blood bank and start donating again! Hopefully it won’t be a problem that I’ve had a few surgeries in the last two years…it seems there are so many reasons they will turn you down. But I’ll definitely try!

    I first started after seeing a horrible, horrible car accident. We didn’t stop because so many people already had and obviously we would just be in the way, but I wanted to help somehow. I decided to start donating that afternoon.

  3. Lisa says:

    Thank you. After reading your friend’s website… I am ashamed that I have used those very excuses and have NEVER donated. I made my appointment today. I’ll start next Thursday and never look back. Thank you for your website and for sharing so much.

  4. christine says:

    i have never donated blood–perhaps it is time i do.

  5. Kelly says:

    That is a great post. I haven’t donated blood since my early 20s. A great kick in the pants to do so again, now.

