Twilight

there is something magical
about this place between day and night
between life and death
something not quite of this world

but when you peek out the window
or the door is opened for you
and you start to see the light
pink streak across the sky

you can’t help but go look, and say
look, look, this is a beautiful sunset
this is an amazing moment
right here between life and death

and if a small child holds your hand
tightly
perhaps he can see the beauty too
and remember this moment

instead of the rainstorm that may come

15 Responses to Twilight

  1. Another beautiful post…Thanks.

    Anything can be beautiful or memorable, as long as there is a loved ones hand in yours.

  2. Nancy says:

    That was an amazing twilight sky last night.

  3. What a beautiful poem. I’m sure the memory of the hand-holding moments stays ingrained in our bodies for a long, long, time. What a lovely moment to share.

  4. amanda says:

    Yes, these moments winnow their way into our souls, they live long after the moment or the people within them.

  5. I couldn’t agree more. Thank you for sharing🙂

  6. Becki says:

    So many moments are elevated by a child’s hand in one’s own.

  7. Bon says:

    breathing out now….that was incredibly beautiful.

  8. this was so beautiful. can you do this more often?🙂

  9. Krishawn says:

    Perfect. Thank you for sharing that.

  10. Beautiful sky and beautiful post babe.

    I loves me a sunset, and no matter where you are in the world they all look the same, breathtaking.

  11. whymommy says:

    Excellent point, Kelley — we all see the same sun, and each can see amazing sunsets.

  12. whymommy says:

    Kate,

    Thank you, but probably not! This just came to me while we were on our walk that night. I didn’t have a scrap of paper, so I just recorded it on my camera. The recording is a little spooky, but I kept it anyway. 🙂

    But thanks!

  13. Lisa says:

    I would love to share a Rocky Mtn. sunset with your family and mine from my folks’ back porch. I’m not sure I can do the words as well as you🙂, but oh the view.

  14. Robin says:

    Wow – amazing – the picture, the poem and you 🙂

  15. […] And that, my friends, sums it up nicely.  This week in particular, I have stood, and walked, and played with my children, and begun again to cook and clean, and tried to recapture some semblence of a normal life.  I am on my way back to real, complete, passionate living, pushing myself to exercise and play and get stronger, to leave that terrible place of sickness behind. […]

