Good news!

Guess what, everybody?  I heard the magic words when I went for my 3 month followup at the oncologist’s office today:

No Evidence of Disease.

There’s still no cure for cancer, but this is the best news that a cancer patient survivor can ever expect to hear.  It’s gone, baby.  Gone.

After my husband and parents, I wanted you to be the first to know.

199 Responses to Good news!

  1. melissa says:

    okay, so i’ve been following your journey for some time now, and i want to say Congratulations!! It is truly a blessing, and I hope it continues. Hope is a beautiful thing

  2. that’s truly wonderful.

  3. laughingatchaos says:

    Oh my God, how wonderful! Great news!

  4. delilah says:

    Congratulations! So happy for you.

  5. Angela says:

    Congratulations! YOU DID IT!!!!

    What a YEAR!

  6. Nancy says:

    ::: reaches arms out to hug :::

    YES! Thank you Jebus!

    Congratulations on all YOUR hard work, fight and WIN!

  7. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    Wonderful.

  8. justenjoyhim says:

    That is The. Best. News. Ever.

    YAY!!!! Congratulations!!!! 😀

  9. Heather.PNR says:

    Wonderful news!!!!!!

  10. De in D.C. says:

    oh hon, that’s great!!! No more chemo; no more radiation. It was awful and painful, but so totally worth it now. Your boys couldn’t hope for a better gift than a mom who will be with them for a long long time.

  11. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Hooray Hooray! Thought that deserved two. 🙂

  12. Crack open the champagne! Great news!

  13. My dear friend had her first chemo today. You’ve taught me so much I can do to appropriately hand hold her during her journey, that this is even more a blessing for me to hear today! I’m thrilled beyond words for you!

  14. Cindy says:

    Oh!! My!!!! This is so wonderful!!!

  15. A says:

    Oh hot damn! That makes my day and I don’t even know you!!!

  16. amanda says:

    Oh, Susan. Oh, universe.
    Yes. Yes. Yes.

  17. Mama DB says:

    Oh the BEST news all day. Congrats, sweetie!

    Love,
    Danielle

  18. margaret says:

    Fantastic! That is so great to hear! Go out and celebrate!

  19. MammaLoves says:

    I’m going to be singing the Violent Femmes for the rest of the night.

    It’s gone baby, gone. The cancer’s gone. It’s gone baby, gone.

    WooooHOOOOOO!!!

    A party is in order.

  20. ksr says:

    What great news!!!

  21. Amy says:

    Wonderful, wonderful news!!!

  22. Ellicott City Mom says:

    Great news. Congrats to you and your family on winning this hard fought battle.

  23. Robin says:

    I”m so happy for you!
    Lots of hugs🙂

  24. motherofbun says:

    Whohooo! Am doing a “jig of joy” for you!

  25. Mary Beth says:

    Congratulations! Those are the best words to hear when you are a survivor!

  26. wow and wow. I’m so glad. Envious but so so happy for you, the kids, the whole family. wow – you are amazing.

  27. Dawn says:

    wooohoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

  28. Ally says:

    So, so, SOOOOO happy for you! Hooray!

  29. Wonderful news! Enjoy some special celebrations with your family!

  30. Barb says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

  31. Devra says:

    The person who must be exhaling at this point it your oncologist. You did tell your Onc if the news was iffy there would be ass kicking involved from a derranged woman in Northern VA crossing state lines to do it. Right?

  32. mummycha says:

    WHOOHOOHOOHOO! Oh this is GREAT!

  33. Yea, yea, yea!!! Did you hear me screaming through the computer? Yea, you!

  34. Izzy says:

    I can’t even imagine how great you must be feeling right now. My most heartfelt congratulations!

  35. jenn says:

    What fantastic news!!!!!

  36. Megan says:

    I’m tearing up right now. Congrats, and good job putting up a great, great fight! You did it!

  37. Amy says:

    I am so, so, so ecstatic! Happy dance, happy dance!

  38. VDog says:

    WHoopEE!!! Congratulations!

  39. Ruthie says:

    Woo Hoo!!! I’m doin’ the cancer-free Susan dance!!!

  40. Weepy, here.

    Oh, Susan. Thank God.

    Love to you.

    xoxo CGF

  41. Linda says:

    Woot!!!

    There are moms you don’t know who are dancin’ the happy dance in front of their ‘puters!

  42. emily says:

    congrats. hoping for many more years of neod for you. your blog is wonderful for educating the world on everything IBC. My neighbor went for her last chemo today, wearing her bright wig and false lashes, a beautiful dress, and full make-up. she wanted to celebrate it with the new comers today and let them know there is an end to the treatment. your story comforts her.

  43. Lawyer Mama says:

    Oh, Susan, that’s FANTASTIC! WOOOOOOOTTTTTT!

    You are such a bad ass. You kicked Cancer’s butt!

    xoxo

  44. Kate says:

    Susan,

    Iv never met you, we don’t even live in the same country.
    I am probably a decade in age younger than you and somehow I found your blog about 7 months ago.
    As I sit here, a 20 year old who has nothing to do but party on my Thursday night, as soon as I got home I checked your blog hoping that you would have news.
    My eyes are filled with tears. For you, your boys and your husband.
    I hope you know the inspiration you have been to not only women with IBC, friends of patients or even survivors. But an inspiration to me- someone thousands of miles away, someone you will probably never meet. You have inspired me to wake up every morning and breathe. Live my life and just breathe. Because life is great and no matter what is put in front of you, life always pulls you through.
    So Thank You.
    Thank you for showing me what life is about.
    You are truly an amazing woman and I want to thank you for documenting your journey for the world to see.
    Congradulations Susan,
    You did it🙂

  45. Busy Mom says:

    Yeeeeeeeeeeee Haaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh!!!!

  46. De Anna says:

    Sweeeet! Congratulations!

  47. Doing my happy victory dance for ya babe.

    Probably the most beautiful words in the English language doncha think?

    Smootches

  48. Edna says:

    What wonderful news … I am so happy for you and your family!

  49. Robin says:

    Wahoooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  50. Alice C says:

    My heart leaps for you and your husband, your children, parents and everyone who loves you.

  51. Krishawn says:

    THRILLED!!!!! I am going to bed tonight a HAPPY woman. Sweet dreams!

  52. clairej says:

    the upwards curve is developing nicely🙂 enjoy
    /c

  53. Amelie says:

    Wonderful! I’m so happy for you. Now go and celebrate🙂

  54. Beth_C says:

    Yippee!!!!!!! I am so happy for you and your family!!!!!!!

  55. Thanks a LOT… I just woke up the baby. YAYAYAYAYAAAAAAAY! 🙂

  56. Sarah S. says:

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!
    I knew you could do it honey. You ROCK🙂

  57. Stimey says:

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Totally doing the happy dance!!!!!

  58. Linda Lawrence says:

    Hurray! Hurray! Hurray! Hurray!

  59. Alison says:

    That is the most FABULOUS news EVER!!!

    YAY!

  60. ~JJ! says:

    Woot!

    I’ve been around, but your last few posts have literally left me speechless…

    Yay you!

  61. Sandy says:

    Thank you LORD for prayers answered

  62. A post and some music for you on my blog today, Whymommy!! Go over, and enjoy.

    We’re all so very happy, and proud of you!!

    xoxo CGF and Girlies 3

  63. Becky says:

    Yeah! Thank GOD!! All of us here at Beagle Camp Waldorf are celebrating with you today! This is the best news EVER!!!!

  64. I never knew I could be this relieved and happy for someone I have never met.

  65. RobMonroe says:

    I don’t know you, but I know that this is news to be celebrated. I pray that you continue to be blessed as you move forward, no longer a patient but a firmly planted survivor.

    (I’m a friend of Amy over at PrettyBabies)

  66. Char says:

    Wow! That’s awesome news. Your long journey is hopefully coming to an end, and with any hope you may never have to go through this again. Way to be a fighter!

  67. Jessica says:

    It’s a beautiful day in the world. Tears of joy making keyboard stickkkk. Love to you and your guys and hope you have the most deliriously wonderful day ever.

  68. Leanne says:

    Thank you, God.

    Sharing that sigh of relief with you.

  69. Lala says:

    I’ve lurked and I’ve lurked but I’m coming out to say WHOOHOO!!!!!

  70. Nicole says:

    SOOOOOOO happy for you!

    You are awesome, stay strong🙂

    Lots of love!

  71. deb says:

    I’m so thankful and I’m smiling. Take care sweetie and may you hold your grandchildren in your arms one day.

  72. mayberry says:

    FANTASTIC. What a way to usher in the weekend (and the spring, and the summer, and everything else)!

  73. carosgram says:

    Yee Haw!

  74. Meg says:

    I am checking in over breakfast today…this was the BEST WAY TO START MY DAY. Congratulations WhyMommy! I’m so happy for you and your family.

  75. Jen says:

    I am genuinely happy for you. I can’t wait to be in that place in the near future. Your journey reminds me daily that I can do this and will make it to the other side. Thank-you.

  76. PA_Lady says:

    *Snoopy dancing* Such wonderful news!

    WOOHOOO!

  77. Phoenix says:

    Hooray!!!!! I’m so happy for you. I hope it stays gone for good.

  78. I am so very happy for you and your family. So very, very happy.🙂

  79. Paull Young says:

    W00T!!

    Great to hear Susan! I’m joining the crowd and throwing some positive thoughts out to the universe for you here🙂

  80. Donna4k says:

    sosososososo—-happeeeee! You need to see your husband go gray….your sons both be big boys and tinkle in the same potty…wear thier old sweatshirts cause they are now bigger than you….and have the same sense of wonder in the world that you have allowed us to feel along with you..I cannot stop smiling!

  81. Susan K says:

    I’m sure I can’t add anything to this that hasn’t been said the by 85 previous posts, but still..

    WONDERFUL. FABULOUS. BEST NEWS!! And right when you are done with radiation too. What a gold letter week!! And a beautiful day and tomorrow promises to be lovely too – even the weather is celebrating for you. REJOICE.

  82. Jenny says:

    What wonderful news!

  83. Tory says:

    I’m delurking to say congratulations — what wonderful news! I have started following your blog recently and am inspired by your love for your familiy and by how you cherish every moment. Thanks for educating us and for sharing with us. Celebrate, celebrate, celebrate.

  84. Ree says:

    Oh mah Holy Heck!!! Yayyyayyaayyyaya!!!

  85. catnip35 says:

    YAY! I am so very happy for you!

  86. Kimberly says:

    So happy for you!!!! Hooray!! xo

  87. jackieb27 says:

    That is GREAT news! My kudos to you for being soooo strong throughout this battle! But you won!

  88. Rebecca says:

    Happy dance – yes the snoopy happy dance mentioned by PP!

    Woo hoo!

  89. jodifur says:

    Yeah! Go Toddlermommy!

  90. WHOOHOO! Congratulations!

  91. NicoleB says:

    This is the most amazing news I have heard in a long time. I wanna just jump through cyber-space and hug you.

  92. sam says:

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I wanna jump up and down for you and scream!! I am so excited!

    Congratulations!!

  93. Damselfly says:

    This isn’t just good news, it’s the best! news! ever!

  94. OMG!! You did it! Your courage and endurance, the love of your family, everyones prayers helped get you to the best words any cancer survivor can hear: NED. Congratulations!

  95. bmatock says:

    A thousand congrats to you!!!

  96. Whooppeee!!! – It’s a great feeling. How special. I have followed your journey with hope and love. I, too, am a BC survivor and a CRC survivor. Just by coincidence … or is it? … I got the results of my semi-annual CTs today. Those three words are the BEST – We can both celebrate – NO EVIDENCE OF DISEASE!

    Hugs –
    Kathy (MIL to Lori of SpinningYellow)

  97. Kim says:

    Wow, this is wonderful, wonderful news!!!!!!

  98. Lori says:

    Wow! That is the best news I have heard all week!

  99. Emily says:

    WOOOOHOOOO!

    I’m crying with delight.

    PARTY @ TODDLER PLANET!!!!

  100. sweetmommy says:

    CONGRATULATIONS FROM THE MOMMY FROM MUSIC CITY

  101. Amy says:

    So wonderful!! I know that this is something you have been wanting to hear and you did! I am so joyful for you and your family…especially for your boys. Here’s to getting strength back and energy to play hard with your family!

    Enjoy your weekend dear!!!

  102. Lisa says:

    YIPPEEE!!!! HOOORRRRRAAAAYYYYY!!!!!

    Congratulations. Prayers answered. I am soooo excited for you and your family. Halleluia!!!

  103. ohgrammy says:

    What a gift! A wonderful day!!!

  104. Kayris says:

    What fantastic news!

  105. Now, I find tears coming! To hear this is wonderful for me. How must it have been for you! I’m so glad for you!

  106. Procrastamom says:

    Yahoooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! This is indeed great news!

  107. Urban Mama says:

    That’s amazing news! I hope you and your family have a celebratory weekend🙂

  108. Mumma Boo says:

    Congratulations!!! That is such wonderful news! Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing your journey with us. Good times ahead!!!! Go celebrate!

  109. Congratulations!!!!!!!!

    No, seriously. This is amazingly wonderful.

  110. Jyber says:

    I was delighted to read the news of
    YOU and NED !!!

    Much happiness to you and your family!

    What a beautiful day it is for you to celebrate this joyous news!

    Best wishes for you and NED for forever and a day!!!

    — Jyber/Joan

  111. Imstell says:

    Life is, indeed, wonderful. Congratulations!!!!!!

  112. Bubba's Sis says:

    Wonderful! Fabulous! Fantastic! Beautiful!

    Congratulations, Sweetie!

  113. Oh how wonderful for you and all of your family, and all of our family! Praise God.

    Love, Betsy

  114. kristen says:

    (cue the Hallelujah Chorus, Bob)

  115. uurchin says:

    Woohoo!!!! Thank you God! That’s awesome news. Go celebrate.

  116. wagnerjb says:

    You go Girl! You did it. Your spirit, determination, and hard work kicked some cancer butt. Keep up the fight.

  117. yertle says:

    Congratulations! I am so excited for you and your family.

  118. Lindsey says:

    I’ve been here every day since right after your diagnosis. And I have been waiting for these words. Susan, I am SO, so, so, so proud of you. You MADE IT. I’m so thankful.

  119. creativecrocheter says:

    Thank you SO much for sharing this great news! Now that I’ve gotten in the habit of including you and your family in my prayers, though, I’ll just keep you all there.🙂

  120. Alison says:

    I came back to see if you had posted again- you know with all your free time. 🙂 And I read this post again and again I just have to say how incredibly wonderful this news is! I am just so very happy for you and your family! This is only the very beginning of more and more wonderful coming your way!
    Congratulations!!

  121. canape says:

    Well alright then.

    We got stuff to do now. I’ve been waiting on you.

  122. Jeanine says:

    That is the best news I have gotten all month!!!!!!!! I am so happy for you, WhyDaddy, Widget, and Little Bear!

  123. Sonia says:

    Clean, baby, clean!

  124. granolasusan says:

    Yee-haw!!!!

  125. NYfriend says:

    YAHOO!! I am happy beyond words for you and your family!

    Big Hugs!

  126. I am sooo happy for you and your family!!! As a fellow SVMom Blogger, just wanted to say “YGG”!

    Also, as life would have it I stopped by your website today because I just found out that an ex-coworker of mine was just diagnosed with IBC. While I’ve had every intention of grabbing your button since I first found your site last year, you can bet that is the very next page I’m going to visit after I write this comment.

    Thank you for sharing your story and your wonderful spirit!
    Janet B

  127. Kelly says:

    Congrats!!! That’s wonderful news!

  128. Andria says:

    That is wonderful news! Congrats!!!

  129. Joanna says:

    Absolutely amazing news, WM – wonderful! Within one year, to hear these words…I bet you are over the moon! Congrats to you and yours…

  130. Karen says:

    YAY!! What wonderful news.

  131. Jenn says:

    YES!

    Such wonderful news!

  132. Susan,

    What Powerful words those are!

    Cancer free!

    (I knew you could do it)

    Consider yourself hugged!

    Tanya

  133. JoC says:

    Fantastic! We are here with you no matter what. AND this is exactly what I wanted to see. Warm fuzzies and burn healing vibes coming your way!

  134. Tara-Lynn says:

    Hooray for you!
    That is amazing news….

  135. Becki says:

    That is the most beautiful phrase. I am so happy for you and your family. No evidence of disease! Woohoo!

  136. liz says:

    such wonderful, WONDERFUL news, susan.

    what a long, hard journey this has been for you and your family. but your strength and determination has been such an inspiration.

    no evidence of disease is a beautiful, beautiful thing.

    go you!

  137. Congratulations! What wonderful news. I am so happy for you and your family🙂

  138. Lisa B says:

    Fantastic news! I’ve been following your fight since about the time you had your surgery, but never felt able to post a comment. I’ve got a smile on my face a mile wide.

    I hope the pain and burning from the radiation heal soon. Sending you very gentle hugs.

  139. Smiling Mom says:

    Congratulations Susan. This is such wonderful news. Truly amazing.

    You made it. Let the rest of your life begin. 🙂

  140. tracey says:

    BEAUTIFUL words!!!! So lovely to hear it!

  141. ladybugsnlizards says:

    That is wonderful news and it brought tears to my eyes! I am so very happy for you! Congratulations!

  142. Carrie says:

    That, is the mose excellent news EVER!

  143. AliCF says:

    Oh, wonderful, wonderful news!!!

  144. Mrinz says:

    I am so pleased to hear your news!

  145. Aunt Pat says:

    That’s Great News ! Enjoy your LIFE !!
    Love YOU !

  146. This is a blessing! So happy for you and the entire family.

  147. KillerBoob says:

    Wow. What a long journey it’s been. “gone, baby, gone.” Music to my hears!

  148. clifford says:

    Time to kick all this drama in the huevos and get on with your life, woman. Be seein’ ya.

  149. Jessica says:

    The bestest words ever written!! I’m so so happy for you!!
    The feeling is so relieving isn’t it?

  150. Best thing I’ve read all year! WTG!

  151. docgrumbles says:

    Congratulations!

  152. Tina says:

    First chills, then tears of happyness for you! Thank Heavens for everyday miracles. This miracle just took a little longer. You will continue to be in my prayers, with thanks for making you the ultimate SURVIVOR!

  153. Radish says:

    The greatest news ever!!!!!

  154. kgirl says:

    congratulations! i hope you get 1000 comments on this post, saying the same thing.
    wonderful news.

  155. Matt says:

    Completely awesome! Your strength and your indomitable will to beat this thing have been awe inspiring. Congratulations.

  156. SuzyQatHome says:

    YES!

    I can’t imagine how great you feel (at least emotionally) right now! I’ll keep praying that they physical side of things will catch up.

  157. Bon says:

    i was offline all weekend.

    i am beaming, and grateful and joyful, and so proud of you for all the perseverance it has taken to get to here.

    you made my night.🙂

  158. Bon says:

    i was offline all weekend.

    i am beaming, and grateful and joyful, and so proud of you for all the perseverance it has taken to get to here.

    you made my night.🙂

  159. Jacquie says:

    No Evidence of Disease.

    What a wonderful sentence!! You Rock WM!!!

  160. stephanie says:

    YAYAYYY!!! congratulations! i’m so glad to hear/read that !!

  161. I’m a little late chiming in, but this is the best news I’ve heard all week! I am so happy for you!!!

  162. MollyDoll says:

    Wooohooooo! Congrats on the WONDERFUL news!

  163. MamaMaven says:

    FANTASTIC news! I am so happy for you and your family. Here is to many, many more visits with the same news!

  164. twithhoney says:

    Good news? I’d call that awesomely fantabulously supercalifragilisticexpialidociously spectacular news! Congrats!!!!

  165. Jennifer says:

    This is the BEST news!! I don’t check google reader for a few days and come back to this!

    Congratulations!

  166. planetnomad says:

    WONDERFUL!!! I miss a few days and look what I get to hear!🙂🙂 You just made my day🙂

  167. Margerie says:

    Congratulations!!! Let the joy begin! And may you and NED dance together, forever. I am sure your hubby won’t mind😉

  168. girl says:

    Best news ever!

  169. […] choose to see because there are also some amazing things happening. New miracles baking and news of cancer free.  Maybe it’s just the way your eyes see it that […]

  170. bubblewench says:

    That is the best thing I have heard in weeks! CONGRATULATIONS! totally awesome!!

  171. Yipeeee! Doing the Tiger Woods fist pump for you!

  172. Becki says:

    SO happy to hear it!! Yay!!!

  173. […] Sometimes, bonds are formed between the most unexpected people. Sometimes, the news comes back No Evidence of Disease. Sometimes, all of the prayers and good wishes work and the woman works her way back to the self of […]

  174. wrekehavoc says:

    i lurk ever so quietly, but i wanted to come out and say how thrilled i am to hear this news! this is the best news for the week🙂

    as those youngins used to say, you go, girl!

  175. spacemom says:

    Wicked cool… Very very happy for you!

  176. erica says:

    holy gosh, how did I miss this for so long, woot! so thrilled for you!

  177. Jamie says:

    BEST NEWS EVER!!!!🙂

  178. shauna says:

    So glad to hear it. Congratulations! What fabulous, fabulous news! Go celebrate!

  179. congratulations on your wonderful news!

  180. April Breon says:

    Oh what great news! I’m sure your ecstatic!

    Continue to pray for my mother-in-law as she is going through radiation treatments now through the next week or so. Thank you for your encouraging words regarding her cancer.

  181. Dare says:

    […] nothing else, go share her wonderful news!Bookmark […]

  182. Rachael says:

    so completely relieved! i can’t tell you.

  183. magpie says:

    I’m so happy for you.

  184. Paige says:

    Excellent news! I am so happy for you!!!

  185. lynda says:

    I knew I’d eventually read this post.

    This is great news and I’m happy to be reading this!

  186. Ashley says:

    Hi! I’ve been following along for some time now.

    It’s wonderful to hear this!
    I’m so happy for you!

    I now have hope for my grandmother who is fighting breast and lung cancer!

    =]

  187. momunplugged says:

    I am late to hear the news (as usual in my life), but I am SO HAPPY!!!! Congratulations!

  188. I am late to read this but I am overwhelmed with joy for you and with you. Here’s to life, mama.

