Nightmare

He woke up screaming in the night, wailing, burrowing into his bedsheets to hide from the outside world.  I was there within seconds, holding him, comforting him, trying to soothe my little boy and scare away the monsters.  But they just kept coming, keeping him terrified, as quickly as I could protect him from the fear.

He screamed in his sleep, and he was in a world where I could not protect him from all the evil that threatens.  I hugged him close, called his name, spoke soothingly, and he could not hear me. 

Finally, I picked him up, for in this world I can still do that, and carried him to the safety of Mama’s Room, where he finally settled down, sucked his thumb, and stilled into sleep.

But I lay awake for much longer, knowing that the time will come when I can no longer protect him from such nightmares, and my heart began to break.

6 Responses to Nightmare

  1. Alison says:

    I’m sorry.

    those moments are so sad for me. It always so hard for me when my little guy wakes up screaming and unaware and completely asleep. It’s impossible to console him and make him feel better. The only thing that seems to work is, like you, taking him into bed with us.

  2. I am in awe of your heart. xo

  3. justenjoyhim says:

    knowing that the time will come when I can no longer protect him from such nightmares, and my heart began to break.

    Those are the hardest times. *hugs* to you, Susan.

  4. BetteJo says:

    I can’t imagine thinking those things. Or maybe more accurately – having a reason to.
    You are so much stronger than I would ever be.

  5. Rachel says:

    Just an FYI comment. My daughter has suffered those same type of night wakings. Her’s turned out to be night terrors. It’s worth a Google search to learn about them. Currently, she is starting to outgrow the night terrors at 6 years old. However, children who suffer from this sleep disturbance sometimes replace the night terrors with sleep walking as my daughter has done. The baby gate at the top of my stairs will stay in place for a long time to come!

    I truly hope that you will be here for your boys, family and friends for many, many more years to come.

  6. Ashley says:

    I am a complete stranger but I still pray for you daily.

    You made me cry with this one.

    God Bless.

