A moment spent moping…

Thanks to BlogHer’s Health and Wellness archives and writer Amanda Schaeffer, I’ve found something to pull me out of my funk. It’s this quote from Miles Levine, a 19 year old cancer patient fighter who lost his battle late last year. He kept an online journal at Care Pages that was an inspiration to many. After his recurrence, he wrote the following for CNN:

Unlike many cancer patients, I don’t have much anger. The way I see it, we’re not entitled to one breath of air. We did nothing to earn it, so whatever we get is bonus. I might be more than a little disappointed with the hand I’ve been dealt, but this is what it is. Thinking about what it could be is pointless. It ought to be different, that’s for sure, but it ain’t. A moment spent moping is a moment wasted.

And that, coupled with my description yesterday of my moping about my upcoming anniversary, is that. No more moping.

Yes, I had cancer. Yes, it will probably come back. But it isn’t back today. Today I can spend any way that I want — working on my new blog project, talking with other women in science, blogging here, doing research to jumpstart my next project, working on my NASA book, playing with my children, racing matchbox cars around the room with them, laughing in the sprinkler, getting messy with water or playdoh or sand, and cuddling on the couch with my husband when he comes home from work.

Tomorrow may be uncertain, but today is a gift.

I’m not going to spend another day moping about what may come.

11 Responses to A moment spent moping…

  1. bcjenster says:

    This is good too remember when we get the mopes. I hope today is a great, non-mopery day!!

  2. what a beautifully perfect sentiment, thanks for sharing it whymommy.

  3. Becki says:

    I just wrote an especially whiny blog post, so I appreciate this. Miles Levine lived his remarkable life not far from where I live, and I am familiar with his story. I think I will try to focus on his thoughts tonight instead of mine.

  4. “A moment spent moping is a moment wasted.” THE most perfect quote for our family too! Thank you WhyMommy. Thank you for being such an honest example.

  5. canape says:

    God, this should probably be my own post, but I’m going to leave it as a comment anyway.

    Momma and I were JUST having this conversation yesterday. I admitted to her that every time there was a new diagnosis for her ovarian cancer or Daddy’s Parkinson’s that I felt like I was losing them RIGHT THEN.

    I would cry and mourn them and send myself spiraling downward.

    Finally, I have realized that just because Momma has to go back on chemo again doesn’t mean that she is going to die tomorrow. Just because Daddy is not exactly winning his battles with Parkinson’s these days doesn’t mean that he is already gone.

    I have GOT to quit moping and quit mourning them because they will be gone sooner than I would like. That is so retarded of me.

    You are still here. My parents are still here. Hell, I’m still here, having survived another day and not been hit by that proverbial bus.

    Tomorrow may be uncertain but today is a gift – indeed.

  6. I love that quote! It goes for all of us, even those petty ones like me that whine and complain about the insignificant.

  7. You GO GIRL! Thank for sharing this inspirational young mans words and thoughts. May he Rest in Peace. I too am well today and I too am making the absolute most of it and LOVING that feeling. Hugs J xx

  8. […] in time Miles Levine’s words appeared just when I needed them most.  Because not only was I mopey, but Friday turned out to be one of those […]

  9. Yvie says:

    I love reading your blog, and I especially love your positive attitude in life.🙂

    I hope you don’t mind, but I’ll put a link of your blog in my website.🙂

  10. imstell says:

    Just catching up… absolutely L-O-V-E the quote. But you didn’t need a well-worded mantra to turn you around… your naturally positive attitude always wins out eventually.

