Andrea

Every month, Lindsay and Kimberly award the pick of the blogosphere their coveted “Perfect Post” award. This month, there can be no other pick for me than Andrea, our good friend and sister at Punk Rock Mommy. Andrea made the decision to enter hospice this month, and there have been so many incredibly moving posts that it’s hard to choose just one. This is the one I choose: June 19, the day she told her blogfriends that she is moving to hospice full time.

Some of the best parts:

I know this is hard to hear but my spirit is very tired of being in this very sick and dying body. The pain is very bad. My hips,back, and front hurt. Like labor it comes in waves and reminds me that my body is doing invisible work. Labor always had an air of excitement but also a component of a near death experience. This is more like a real death experience. But an excitement too that soon my pain will end and I will be free to move on. Hallelujah.

My time now I want to spend seeing my loved ones. Holding my kids. Blogging when I can. And writing. Writing all about my love for you. I want to leave you letters that you read over and over so you will know I am thinking of you too. I wrote a final blog. I planned my memorial. I gave away many of my possessions. This is a gift. How fortunate that I can plan these things.

She goes on to conclude the post with a real tearjearker of a paragraph. But don’t just take my word for it. Go check out PunkRockMommy, a woman I am proud to call friend, even if we only know each other through the internet.

I’ll close with one more quote, from her June 25 post:

For the most part I am not scared or angry. I do not fear death in any way. My sadness and tears flow when I think of my children growing up without me. But I trust the Lord and His perfect plan. Years from now many of you will know my children and all they have accomplished. Maybe you will be able to make sense of why God chose this for me and them. Maybe in heaven God will heal my broken heart and I will not wonder for long.

We love you, Andrea. We wish we could take your pain away. All we can do is keep you company, and remind you that you are loved. By friends, by blogfriends, by family. You have given us a great gift.

14 Responses to Andrea

  1. That is so heartbreaking. Sigh…

  2. Stimey says:

    I’ve been reading her on and off for a while now. The other day I followed your link from Mothers With Cancer over to there. I spent a lot of time reading back posts and thinking about her. She sounds like an incredible woman. I know I’ll be thinking about her for a long time.

  3. giftofgreen says:

    I have been following Andrea’s journey ever since you linked to her on your sidebar. She is wise beyond words and so real.

  4. NoRegrets says:

    It’s amazing what inner strength you all have. I’m not sure I’d handle it all with that much grace.

  5. Randi says:

    I went to her site today, thanks to this link, and spent an hour reading, and crying. I don’t know what to say.

  6. That was a beautiful choice for a perfect post. That’s one of those posts, a person reads and has to step a away a few times to compose oneself.

    So touching.

  7. I have been reading her blog for several weeks now and each day she inspires me. My soul aches for her loved ones and her.

  8. JessicaAPISS says:

    Dear God. This is inspiring and horribly sad and joyful all at once.

  9. byjane says:

    She is on my Must Read Daily list. I am in awe of her courage in posting exactly what she is thinking and feeling. I feel as if she is being my guide to how to die as a full human being.

  10. What a perfect choice for a perfect post.

    Love to you, as always, WM… and lots of love to Andrea and her family, too.

    xoxo CGF

  11. Kim says:

    Amen to this being the most moving, insightful and poignant blog I’ve ever encountered. Andrea’s strength is contagious, her honesty is brutal and her words are burned into my heart as I follow this stranger through her final days. Though I only encountered her writing in the past month, I feel as if she has given me an incredible gift of insight. I hope her family is carried through the coming weeks, months and years by the legacy she has left behind through the words she has shared with us. I know that she has touched my heart in a very special way.

  12. Reading her posts was hard for me. Would be even harder for you babe.

    I love that you are there as support for others out there, you are amazing my lovely. Honestly.

  13. Thank you for sharing Andrea’s blog. I was beyond sad to realize that she passed this holiday weekend. Cancer is so not fair.

  14. Aiden says:

    I am sorry to hear that Andrea had passed away. My condolences to you.

