Not quite perfect.

Yesterday was a blur of doctors, tests, referrals, and results, but here are the test results:

1. No metastasis. Hurrah!

2. 6 cm ovarian cyst, type unknown.

Additional results from yesterday’s follow-up scans won’t be read until Tuesday, and then I can get the results when I visit my doctor again the next Monday.

Lovely.

But I can’t think about that now — I have a barbecue to host for our MOMS Club friends. We’re going to grill, do a craft, eat snow cones, and then have a happy Fourth of July parade through the neighborhood. And I’m going to try to think of nothing else, for I am blessed to have these friends, who have stood by us through a year of troubles, a year of cancer. And I’m blessed to have you, who even come by here to say hi on a holiday. Thanks.

Happy Fourth of July, everyone!

32 Responses to Not quite perfect.

  1. Happy 4th!
    Enjoy your family and your friends.
    The other stuff will wait.
    xo
    LBC

  2. Have a fantastic weekend, and I’m with ladybug – be like scarlett o’hara. Think about the other stuff tomorrow. Or the day after. Or three days from now.

    There’s wonderful news in there.
    xoxo

  3. Amelie says:

    Happy 4th of July to you! Enjoy the time with your family and friends!

  4. Amy says:

    I know a number of people who have had completely benign ovarian cysts.

    Enjoy your family and friends today.

    Praying about it,
    Amy

  5. Mama DB says:

    No metastasis!!!! That’s all the news you need to absorb right now.

    Have a lovely 4th, Susan!

    Danielle

  6. Laurie says:

    Hooray for good friends and boo to more unanswered questions.
    It sounds like you have planned the perfect antidote to stress.
    And remember – if you are surrounded by people who love you then you must be incredibly loveable.
    Wishing you more good news for a long time to come.
    L.

  7. Hurrah!! Celebrating right along with you, North of the border!!

    Drop by my place if you want music to go along with your festivities!

    Lots of love, CGF xo

  8. Jyber says:

    Susan, I am one of many who had a benign ovarian cyst — only found out about it when it ruptured! Please assume B9 unless told otherwise, and enjoy your weekend!

    Yay for “No metastasis!”

    Joan

  9. Christy says:

    Happy 4th of July! Just enjoy that BBQ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Enjoy today and make some great 4th of July memories with your kids, hubby and friends!

  11. Robin says:

    Wishing all of you a very happy 4th of July. All the rest can wait.

  12. Here’s hoping that cyst comes back clear and you have a wonderful 4th. Best wishes!

  13. sprucehillfarm says:

    I love your new picture! You look great.

    Have a wonderful day๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Of course I stopped by, I’ve been checking in for your results since I read about your scan. I’m glad there is some good news and I will hopre for more.

    Have a great BBQ. You look great!

  15. Betsy Henning says:

    I love your hair!

    Praying for all good reports in a few days…and relief from even thinking about it until then!

    Betsy

  16. justenjoyhim says:

    Sounds great. And your picture looks wonderful. HAIR!!!! YAY!!!๐Ÿ˜€

  17. SuzyQatHome says:

    Great news! No metastasis! I’m doing the Chandler Bing dance!

    As a sufferer of polycystic ovarian syndrome I know way more about ovarian cysts than I’ve ever wanted to – really not a big worry health wise unless they rupture or are not actually cysts (or you are trying to get pregnant!). Don’t let this news be a negative – it is very common to have a cyst or two!

    Love the new pic – your hair looks great! Are you going to keep it short? It looks nice and trendy and cool for the summer months! (and I’ve very jealous as mine has been in a pony tail to keep it off my neck!)

  18. Ally says:

    Thanks for the update… will wait to hear more about it next week sometime soon. Happy 4th… enjoy those babies and your friends and family! xoxo

  19. JoC says:

    Great new photo! Yeah for no mets!

  20. imstell says:

    Great news! No mets! And super picture. La la la on the rest!

  21. mo-wo says:

    It is a beautiful picture. Happy 4th one of my favorite, most beautiful American friends.

  22. Alison says:

    Awesome news about no mets!!
    I hope you had a wonderful 4th and enjoyed yourself!!!

  23. canape says:

    I like Imstell’s “la la la.”

  24. Randi says:

    ….I found Andrea through your blog and have been reading her.

    She passed away today.

  25. Bubba's Sis says:

    Yay for the great news! I check in on you often, and pray for you even more often. Enjoy the holiday weekend, and we’re keeping our fingers crossed that that cyst is just nothing!

  26. NYfriend says:

    No metastasis – yahoo! You sailed right over the major hurdle, yea! I can’t get over how long they are making you wait to get the rest of the report. Yeesh.

    Hope you had a wonderful 4th BBQ! I like the new pic. ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. S says:

    Hurrah!

    BTW, LOVE that hairstyle on you. It’s very flattering.

  28. mandi says:

    hope you had fun with your wonderful 4th celebration. thinking of you.

  29. Breana says:

    I saw the article on you in Health magazine this weekend–I started reading, and thought, “hmm, this lady looks somewhat familiar” and then within a few sentences I realized–I know her! (Well, “know” as in virtually, of course.๐Ÿ™‚ I thought it was a well-done article and good on you for keeping on spreading the word. You and your family looked lovely and happy.

    best wishes!
    Breana

  30. ilinap says:

    Sending happy, positive thoughts your way!

    Love the sassy short hair style!

  31. Kathy U says:

    No mets, awesome!

    Great hair girl!

    Kathy from Washington State

  32. Spacemom says:

    Good news on 1, hmm on 2

