In honor of Andrea

In honor of Andrea, I’m doing one simple thing today, and I’m asking you to do it too. If you have breasts, would you please take a moment in the shower today to check yourself for any lumps, redness, swelling, dimpling, or other changes? The graphic below (from Worldwide Breast Cancer, formerly known as Lemonland) illustrates 12 examples of a worrisome change. Please check yourself today, and call your doctor if you see or feel a lump or one of these changes below.

12 signs of breast cancer

I don’t want to lose any more friends.

14 Responses to In honor of Andrea

  1. bubblewench says:

    Great reminder.. I’m going to link over to this.. I don’t want to lose more friends either.

  2. m says:

    Done, and thank you.

  3. m says:

    And look at cnn.com today!

    http://www.cnn.com/2008/HEALTH/conditions/07/08/healthmag.inflammatory.breast.cancer/index.html

    You have done much to inform and inspire many. I’m sure Andrea would be proud.

  4. Debbie says:

    A longtime “lurker” finally commenting to say a big THANK YOU for making such an effort to get the word out. I have admired you every step of your way through your fight. I, too, am mourning Andrea in a big way, even though I only knew her thru her blog over the past year. You ladies are such an inspiration and give us following you a whole different perspective on life as we know it.
    You are wonderful!

  5. Deb says:

    Hi there… I just came across your site from CNN… one of my best friends in the world passed away from IBC on June 18th. She was 38 years old. By the time she was correctly diagnosed, the cancer had already spread to her lymph nodes. It has become my personal mission to let every woman out there know about IBC – it truly is a stealth killer. In this situation, ignorance is NOT bliss.

    Her name was Susan Martinez nee Frangos and she was an amazing woman. I really miss her.

  6. Robin says:

    I check often already, but I will take the time to think of Andrea, and you, and everyone that has had to fight IBC as I do.

  7. Andrew White says:

    I just read your story on CNN.com. I wanted to let you know my wife found out she had IBC 6 years ago. We were both devastated at 1st and did crazy things to get us through the year+ of treatment. I am so very happy to tell you that after 6 years she is cancer free.

    IBC is scary for the patient as well as the spouse! Please let your husband know that he can email me for support or to ask questions. Please also know my wife is available as well to you.

    I will be praying for you and your family and I KNOW you will be able to return to your life.

  8. Andrew White says:

    Looks like me email did not appear….

    Andy.white63@gmail.com

    Again, Please feel free to email me or my wife!!

  9. Done and done.

    (Well, I did the check, I could still use the shower.)

  10. Denise says:

    I just read the article about you on CNN. My mother is fighting IBC. She was diagnosed 3 years ago. It had already spread to her lymph nodes. Now it’s in her lungs, and her skin. It’s been an amazing three years. Her name is Karen Johnson and she’s such a fighter. I’m expecting my first baby in September, it’s a girl. My greatest hope is that she will grow up to be like her grandmother; fighting every obstacle that stands in her way and living life with passion. Just wanted to share my story, and tell you that I’m praying for you. God bless!

  11. ilinap says:

    Aw damn. I am so saddened by the news. I linked to Andrea’s husband’s beautiful words and nudged my friends and readers to be more vigilant about checking.

  12. megan says:

    Found you through Andrea’s site. Thank you. She would have appreciated this…she made me tell people everything I could about IBC whenever they asked after my star tattoo. She made sure it wasn’t just about our friendship, but also about educating others.

  13. MaryBeth says:

    I also found you through Andrea’s site and have been reading your blog for a few months. I never knew IBC existed before reading both of your blogs … I have told so many of my friends and family about IBC, thanks to both of you. You, your husband, and your little ones are in my thoughts and prayers every day. You and Andrea have inspired me in many ways … thank you for sharing your life with us!

