The early light of dawn

Well.  It’s always darkest before the dawn, isn’t it?  I just found out that cnn.com published Margaret’s Health article today, and thousands of readers popped over here, for a total of over 10,000 hits.  Yep, in one day.   The day I published a picture of damaged lemons and reminded people to check themselves for signs of breast cancer.

For Andrea.

Because of Andrea and Margaret, thousands of people were reminded to check their breasts for changes today.

That makes me feel really good.

And what’s going on “in real life”?  In the real world today, I’m out doing science work and having a marvelous time.  It’s like the last year never happened.  Almost.  And an old friend gave me an incredibly needed compliment.

“Is that your real hair?” he asked.

Why yes.  Yes, it is.

Mine, all mine.

It’s a new day, friends.  I can finally see over to the other side.  The side after cancer.  I will always mourn Andrea , Susan B, Ursel, and the other friends I have lost to IBC and other kinds of cancer.  They were the first, and I know they won’t be the last.  But today I can see a life for myself again beyond cancer.

And today that’s good enough for me.

25 Responses to The early light of dawn

  1. justenjoyhim says:

    My sister saw the article, a friend sent me the article. I said with pride — she’s a friend of mine😀 . We’re on a blog with a bunch of other women; the blog is Mothers with Cancer.

    It felt so good to be a part of what you do.

    Be proud. You’ve accomplished so very much.

  2. whymommy says:

    Thanks, Judy! I’m so proud to be associated with you all over at Mothers With Cancer. It’s so much nicer to go through tough times together.

  3. Melanie says:

    Hi! I just finished reading your article on CNN. I am a breast cancer survivor too (DCIS). I just had my mastectomy two weeks ago.

    I just wanted to drop you a line, send you a smile and send wishes for good health your way!!

    Brightest blessings,

    Melanie in Florida🙂

  4. Stimey says:

    Hooray. These are great words to read.

  5. mammaloves says:

    It never fails. I always feel uplifted when I get here.

    And your hair, my friend, looks amazing!!!

    Can’t wait to see you next week.

  6. Heather says:

    Susan!!! I was just checking CNN.com before going to bed and saw your article!! So then of course I had to pop over here. How wonderful! I’ve been reading your blog for many, many months now, and though you don’t know me, when I saw your face pop up on the screen when I clicked on the article, I said out loud, “HEY! I KNOW HER!” The article is fantastic. Thanks for all you do to raise awareness. My mom is a breast cancer survivor, and I like to think that I am very aware, however, I’d never heard of IBC until I “met” you. So, thank you, THANK YOU.

  7. Mama DB says:

    great article! And your hair? It looks fabulous. And thank you for the work you do.

  8. amandalinn says:

    Very good job spreading the news.

    I’m very happy for your current good health and good life.

    I had just been admiring your new picture (and hair.) But I rather enjoyed seeing the old one one the article.

  9. mandi says:

    i’m glad you’re feeling better. i sent out that site you had up to ALL my female friends in my email. I will post it on my blog as well but I don’t get much traffic…altho if helps one person, it’s enough.
    hugs

  10. iris says:

    Bless you for making a difference. The Hilo American Cancer Society Relay For Life is next weekend and I’ll walk for you too.

  11. Balwinder Kaur says:

    This is my first time here, after reading the cnn article. My mom died of ovarian cancer 4 years ago and my maternal aunt(my mom’s youngest sister) is a breast cancer survivor. Like IBC ,ovarian cancer is pretty deadly too if not diagnosed in very intial stages(which usually does not happen as the symptoms are very vague). She struggled with it for 3 years after diagnosis and it was blogs like these which gave me the strength to bear all that. I am 33 now,but I miss my mom every single day.I will keep you in my prayers.
    Congratulations for being cancer free. Your hair look great!!! Take care.

  12. Balwinder Kaur says:

    Congratulations on making a difference and creating the awareness. My husband forwarded the article to me and I passed on the info to a bunch of friends.

  13. Zohra says:

    I was feeling sleepless and came downstairs to steal some time for myself. I came across an article on CNN about you and I drfited to your blog. I am an at-home mom who often cribs about what little time I get for myself. Looking at you, I wonder where do you get your energy from. Pass some on to me🙂
    Wishing you a speedy recovery. God bless

  14. michael ellenby says:

    Hi Susan – I love the blog and good luck with the treatment! You have a great attitude which will serve you well. This is a tough disease to beat, but with the right treatment, and support from friends and family you should be able to beat it.

    My wife had IBC, diagnosed Oct 2007, and passed away in May 2008 – 7 months from diagnosis. It was mis-diagnosed initially as mastitis, and so we had a late start on this. My wife pursued a natural cure, as she was extremely sensitive to all drugs – the chemo would have killed her, and she did not want to have the mastectomy. Watch for metastising – this disease can spread rapidly.

    My 9 year old daughter Jayde and I keep you in our prayers.

    Michael

  15. ohgrammy says:

    We’re smiling here!

  16. Congratulations!! I’m so thrilled… and can only imagine the immense GOOD your words are doing…

    Thanks for stopping by my place yesterday!

    Love to you– xoxo CGF

  17. And I had to tell you:

    My husband (whose mother died of breast cancer when he was nine) just came downstairs and looked at your post. When he read “over 10,000”, the look on his face was sheer magic.

    You are making a difference for SO many people.

    xoxo CGF

    Ps. Child Number Two says to tell you that you rock the funky new haircut!

  18. KIM WRIGHT says:

    Hello,
    I am one of the people that saw the article on CNN and decided to check in. I also live in Maryland, but in Reisterstown, near Baltimore…I grew up in Beltsville though. I am a 13 year breast cancer survivor. I am very involved in the advocacy movement and this year I am the Chair of the Maryland Susan G Komen Race for the Cure. We are holding the race on the 19th of October in Hunt Valley.

    My BC was not IBC but is was triple negative. I was pregnant with our second child when I was diagnosed and was not able to have that one. My daughter turned 3 a few months after my diagnosis.

    I am an embryologist by trade and so I have a leg up on the science as you do. This enables me to be an effective advocate reviewer for breast cancer research proposals.

    I am happy to see that you arae able to get on with life and to enjoy the growth of your children. Please continue to do well!

  19. NoRegrets says:

    Oh that’s so wonderful it was such good timing! yay. And I do mourn Andrea.

  20. laurie says:

    Ah, yes. The days that keep us going. And we know to appreciate them now…Congrats on being such a star (and hooray for hair!).

  21. Yeah! Got to head over to CNN to check it out.

  22. canape says:

    Dude. You are SO Googlable now. I hope you weren’t hiding from any of your past🙂

  23. jillaldrich says:

    Awesome article! You are one kick-ass advocate, and I’m proud to know you!

  24. Bridget says:

    I was on of the people that read the CNN article, it was the first time I had heard about you and your blog. Its now added to my daily routine to check it =)

    thank you for welcoming so many people and teaching me a lot of perserverance.

  25. […] up and say hi. I won’t bite, and I will greet you with a smile. (I look like this with hair. And yes, it’s mine. All mine.) At the 4th of July […]

