BlogHer ’08

Hi. I’m Susan. I have two kids who I can truly say I love more than life itself. I’m trained as an astrophysicist, and, yes, I do know what constellation that is up there. I love to read, to write, and to think. While in school that didn’t exactly make me popular, it works out pretty well here in the blogosphere. I’m happily married to my college sweetheart, and that has worked out even better. I got cancer last year, and nearly died, but I’m doing well today, and it looks like we’ve beaten this cancer right out of my body. Yup, we. I fought cancer, but not by myself — with the help and love of hundreds of friends here in D.C., across the country, and around the world through this thing we call the blogosphere. My strength, if I have any, is replenished daily by encouraging words from them and by the strong hugs from my three boys.

If you see me at BlogHer this week in San Francisco, come up and say hi. I won’t bite, and I will greet you with a smile. (I look like this with hair. And yes, it’s mine. All mine.)

At the 4th of July picnic

At the 4th of July picnic

I also blog at DC Metro Moms Blog, Women in Planetary Science Blog, Mothers With Cancer, and Review Planet. Guess which one made the business card? I’m waiting for test results again, which makes me a little nervous, but I’m really looking forward to getting away this weekend and meeting many of my bloggy friends at this awesome conference. Are you going? As my three year old says, “I’m so excitwed! I can’t wait!”

23 Responses to BlogHer ’08

  1. flutter says:

    I am so excited to meet you!

  2. Robin says:

    I won’t be there, but I’ll be smiling at you all the way from here, just grinning from ear to ear knowing you’re actually there, not just via a virtual you.

    You made it Susan! Go get ’em.

  3. Can’t wait to see you soon! ๐Ÿ™‚ PS- The weather here is gorgeous!!!

  4. […] Another way of looking at the agenda is that they target all kinds of women bloggers from mommy bloggers to those who don’t have children to professional bloggers to newbie bloggers. Here is what […]

  5. sprucehillfarm says:

    I hope you have a great time. It will be so much fun meeting people that you have not seen before but talked to. Happy travels.๐Ÿ™‚

  6. shel says:

    Your hair looks GREAT!

  7. Laurie says:

    I am getting really excited (and nervous), too! And I am so looking forward to meeting you.

  8. You look beautiful, Susan! What a lovely picture.

    Have a fantastic time at Blogher– I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    xoxo CGF

  9. Paull Young says:

    Really looking forward to seeing you there Susan!

  10. “Introduce yourself to me”??

    Susan, I imagine a line going around the block of women waiting to meet you and give you a hug and tell you how glad they are to meet you and how beautiful you and your writing are.

    See you in a few days!!

  11. I’m going and I sure hope I get the chance to meet you!๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Christy says:

    I would love to come up and say hi, but alas I will not be there. You have a wonderful time!

  13. byjane says:

    Brilliant idea, this. Last year I wandered aimlessly looking to meet people I read all year, but didn’t know…and haven’t a clue what they looked like.

    See you there–and great hair you’ve got!!!!

  14. KillerBoob says:

    have fun at blog her – you’re looking fantastic with all that luscious hair๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I am so excited for you!!!! Can’t wait to see all the pics๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Linda says:

    Have a GREAT time at BlogHer! Maybe I’ll get to go next year.

  17. What a change from last year, eh? I remember when you attended virtually after having been so bummed that you couldn’t go.

    I’m sorry I’ll miss your talk!

    Your hair looks great by the way. Wow – so thick!๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Susan, I will be lining up to meet you as well.
    @lindasherman following you on Twitter.

    I am coming with hugs.

    http://itsdifferent4girls.com/blog/2008/07/15/hugging-off-line-at-blogger-socials/

  19. Wish I was going to BlogHer ’cause you would be a wonderful person to meet.

    If you’re ever in Sunny, FL just let me know. I’ll invite you over so the kids can play.

  20. Irv Freeman says:

    Susan,

    I visited your blog today for the first time in several weeks (maybe, months) and am so very pleased to learn that you are doing so well. Have a great time at the BlogHer.

  21. mimi says:

    HI there — we met at the party and I procured you a drink ticket. Now we have been formally introduced, and I hope to see more of you …

  22. Bon says:

    i’m so glad you get to go in person this year! we’re back to Halifax for an appointment and some hanging with Oscar’s cousins this weekend, so i won’t be there in SL either…but i will be thinking of all of you and hoping that maybe next year i can be raising daiquiris with everyone else!

  23. Nicole says:

    Have fun at BlogHer!

    For some reason I thought you were a blond ??!!

    Glad to see you with hair – yey!

