Smidgets of Widget

Tonight I was tired after a long day of laundry, cleaning, and other chores that went undone while I was at BlogHer.  After dinner, I told three-year-old Widget that I was tired and needed to lie down for a while.  He decided to come with me, saying, “I keep you company.”  (Widget’s words are in bold for this post.)

“Okay, honey.”

Mama, can we play that laces and cards game we used to play when you would spend all day in bed?” he asked me.

“Sure.”  (Brief pause while I get out the box of cards.)  Then, casually … “Do you remember those days, when I spent all day in bed?”

Yeah.

With trepidation, I asked him, “How did it make you feel?”

He turned his little face up to mine and said, “I liked being with you and playing with you on the bed,” and that was it.  No worries, no concerns, no freak-outs.  Just that he liked being with me.  And, even after all we’ve been through with this illness, he still does.

Aw.  “You’re my sweetie.”

You’re my mommy.”

New post on BlogHer swag is up at Review Planet.  But nothing I got there was as beautiful as this.

15 Responses to Smidgets of Widget

  1. nothing says it better than “You’re my mommy”!
    absolutely adorable!

    I’m so glad I got the chance to meet you in person this weekend! I don’t comment often, but I am always reading.🙂

  2. So beautiful.

    We grownups should all be so blessed, to be able to remember the positive parts of even the most difficult situations, and focus on what is TRULY important.

    Your Widget has taught me something special today.

    xo CGF

  3. laurie says:

    I hear you. I love it that my boys love spending time with me. And I love it that they think of me as “just a normal mom.”

    L.

  4. Doesn’t it just MELT your heart how purely sweet our little ones are? It really reminds us how basic they hearts are at that age and that all they see amidst our crisis’ is that we still made them feel loved and happy and really what else matters? I am not explaining that very well, but I know my 4 year old can give me these tidbits of childhood honesty that can blow me away and remind me how adults can complicate things more than children ever understand. You must be a really great mom!

  5. Christy says:

    Why are they alway so incredibly cute, and somehow at even such a young age, know exactly what to say.

  6. Donna4k says:

    This is what it is all about! That, and that sweaty little boy smell when they hug you… nothin like it in the world:)

  7. Maria says:

    That is so very sweet.🙂

  8. Randi says:

    Awww! How sweet! If only we could all see ourselves through our children’s eyes – we’d like ourselves a whole lot more.

  9. Amelie says:

    He’s so cute. And I’m so glad he came through this hard year with “being with you” as his strongest memory.

  10. Becky says:

    that is just SO sweet…

  11. […] Original post by Free Online – Business – Marketing – Work From Home […]

  12. Gill says:

    Isn’t that too cute! I love it how a child’s perspective can sometimes be so surprising and refreshing.

  13. mod*mom says:

    wonderful meeting you at blogher susan!
    love your hair!
    mine is dreadlocking from chemo curl.
    did you see your picture in the ny times???
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/27/fashion/27blogher.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=mod%20mom&st=cse&oref=slogin

  14. the other Browne says:

    adorable!

  15. whymommy says:

    Thanks! And yes!

