Now, that’s just not right.

The ice cream truck came barreling through our neighborhood yesterday afternoon blasting an unusual song on its plinkety-plinkety loudspeakers.

Aura Lee.

Yes, it shares a tune with Love Me Tender.  But really?  For a clarion call to ice cream?

What’s the strangest ice cream truck jingle you’ve ever heard?

13 Responses to Now, that’s just not right.

  1. Dawn says:

    a friend called me yesterday to tell me he heard an ice cream truck playing jingle bells yesterday LOL

  2. whymommy says:

    No kidding? Wow. Christmas in July, I suppose….

  3. Heather.PNR says:

    It wasn’t an ice cream truck, but there was a produce truck that used to drive through our neighborhood playing “La Cucaracha.” Roaches are the last thing I want to be thinking about when buying fruits and vegetables!

  4. The ice cream truck in our neighborhood plays Christmas songs…Jingle Bells and one other one…I can’t think which one right now. SO. WEIRD.

  5. I have a phobia about Ice Cream Trucks…so I rush my kids inside when I hear any of their songs…

  6. jen says:

    the ice cream truck in our neighborhood plays greensleeves/what child is this.

  7. Randi says:

    An ice cream truck? SERIOUSLY?! They seriously have those! I thought they were something that only existed in the 50’s! We don’t have those around here – I’d love one! Is the ice cream good?!

  8. ilinap says:

    I’m just amazed that ice cream trucks still make the rounds. I have a doozy of a time explaining the concept to my boys. “Whhhaaaattat?! An truck stops in front of the house to sell ice cream?! You mean you don’t have to go to the store to get it?!”

  9. Susan K says:

    Ours (which now that I think of it, I haven’t seen for a while) plays “The Entertainer” – I thought that was weird until I read the above. Think I’ve heard Greensleeves too – we seem to have a couple of them. I think it is great. I love that I live where they show up.

    Now, when I was a kid a man used to walk around, ringing a big bell – he would sharpen your knives and scissors. THAT I could use!

  10. Becki says:

    Where I grew up, there were (and are) Mr. Softee trucks, which, among other things, served real frozen custard in cones. The ice cream trucks around here sell only pre-packaged Good Humor frozen treats and are driven by middle-aged stoners. For several years I had my kids convinced that they were just “music trucks” that drove around playing songs to make the dinner hour more pleasant, because that is when they invariably appear.

  11. BisBink says:

    The ice cream man that drives around my neighborhood also plays Christmas Carols.

  12. Char says:

    Jingle Bells, and it was July!

  13. kirida says:

    The ice cream truck has ruined The Entertainer. The other day, it was paired up with booming bass beat.

