Crash!

You know how they say all things work together for good?  Well, lately, a number of things have gone  wrong … and it added up this morning to one thing that went very right.

1. Last week, my kitchen sprung a leak.

2. The dry guys who came out Tuesday couldn’t finish the job because they needed another tool.

3. The dry guys were running late this morning.

4. The dehumidifier fans that have been running in the house since Tuesday are VERY LOUD.

5. My phone conversation with my husband was interrupted several times, and I had to call him back.

6. The only quiet place in my house to talk is out front, on a wooden bench.  (The same wooden bench that NYfriend gave us for our wedding present!)

7. While we were talking, my conversation was interrupted again.

8. By a black car speeding down my street, so fast that it was loud in comparison to the typical quiet sounds of leaves rustling in the breeze.

9. The car was going so fast, that the driver missed his turn, jumped the curb, and plowed into the street sign at the intersection, knocking it to the ground with a giant metal CLANG.

The crash was so loud my husband heard it on the other end of the phone, and a workman across the street came running out, fearing for his car.  The driver immediately threw his car into reverse, spun his wheels, and tried to flee the scene. Fearing damage to the fence of my older neighbors (who are two of the best neighbors that could be, and I care for them dearly), I ran down to the scene and yelled at the man to stop.  I think  I said “Hey, you can’t just leave!  You hit that sign!  You were going way too fast!.”

10. He didn’t listen.

So here’s the lucky part.  I was OUTSIDE, LOOKING in that direction, with a CELL PHONE in my hand, and I was able to call 911.  I reported the accident, gave the license plate number of the black Lexus, and walked away.

Oh, after telling him again that he CAN’T DRIVE THAT FAST down our RESIDENTIAL street, where lots of CHILDREN play and WALK to SCHOOL.  Yes, the primary school at the end of that very short block, where he was speeding (a good 65-70 miles an hour; twice as fast as I’ve EVER seen people speed down this street).

As I walked back to my house, I passed a young mother with her infant in a stroller.

As much as I hated being “that lady” who calls the cops on a minor infraction, I was grateful for two things. First, that I had the guts to call the police and get them involved.  Maybe next time he starts to race through a neighborhood at twice the speed limit he’ll slow down.  And second, that the mom with the stroller had not been one minute faster getting ready this morning, because she was headed right for that corner.

I glanced down at the baby as I passed, grateful beyond belief that the driver was not one minute later and she was not one minute earlier.

My neighborhood — green, leafy, quiet, and calm — could have been the scene of a terrible accident this morning.

24 Responses to Crash!

  1. twithhoney says:

    I’ve had similar thought on mornings when I was previously yelling at my daughter to hurry up because we are going to be late and then I see a car accident that just happened on our way to day care.
    Sometimes I wonder if missing shoes and hiding toys are a blessing from God sent to keep us from harm some days.

  2. Alison says:

    Good for you for making the call!!
    Sorry you’ve had so much going on!!
    It always amazes me how one little change can make a difference!

  3. m says:

    How awful that could have been. I hope the police follow up. Good for you, making that call.

  4. bcjenster says:

    Argh! That makes me so angry!!! Good for you for doing the right thing! I really hope he gets caught.

  5. If the guy hadn’t been such an a** he wouldn’t have deserved the call to the police. But that kind of reckless behavior will eventually get someone hurt!
    So glad it was just a pole that got hurt this time!

  6. Susan says:

    A very well written post… and yes, sometimes timing is everything. Good job for calling–I would have too. And my iPhone is permanently glued to my left hand😉

  7. VDog says:

    Oh goodness, that’s scary!!

    Good for you! It feels good to stand up for what’s right.

  8. Great post. Great things to think about–that it all happens for a reason.

  9. Those moments!

    We have the occasional speeder—err, more than occasional—here and it’s petrifying, sometimes. Number 1 worst are tied between businessmen and teens.

    Good for you calling! Lucky timing!

  10. whymommy says:

    Update: he got a ticket. And the police took my name and info too — so I can appear in court if need be. Ah well. Just another thing to write about!

  11. Christy says:

    That was definitely not a minor offense. I would have called the cops in a heartbeat!

  12. strugi says:

    Way to go! We live in a little neighborhood in a DC suburb with an elementary school at the end of the street. Unfortunately it is off a major street (think NH, CT, WI, or GA ave) and people zip through to try to avoid traffic. Thank you for calling and protecting us.

  13. debi says:

    I love it! You defended your neighborhood as we all should. I have been “that lady” for as long as I have had children. I am still her now that I am a grandma. Good for you. I think we are all a bit wet or in the process of drying. I am in New Mexico. We lost a chunk of ceiling in the laundry room and it was just plain ol raining in my living room. I think after the year you’ve had you deserve a break.

  14. It is really ok to be “that lady!” Good for you for being proactive to protect your hamlet and all that live there!

  15. Ally says:

    I’m totally cool with being “that lady” and I’m so glad that you were able to be her here! You are so right, for all that could have been. Glad you were there to make the call.

  16. NYfriend says:

    Goose bumps! Wow, that was a scary close one. SO glad everything worked out okay.

    This event did not qualify as a “that lady” kind of reporting. 🙂

    Hope your kitchen comes along quickly!
    (and hey, cool that you’re still enjoying the bench!!)

  17. […] Who was the driver of the black Lexus speeding down the street near Toddler Planet’s home? Let’s hope the police find out, and they should, since she reported him (a real use for a cell phone) when he collided with her neighbors’ fence and then pulled a real-life hit-and-run experience. Home because of a series of disasters, the author writes, gleefully: “I was OUTSIDE, LOOKING in that direction, with a CELL PHONE in my hand, and I was able to call 911. I reported the accident, gave the license plate number of the black Lexus, and walked away.” […]

  18. Herb says:

    Why don’t you post the plate number? It’s about time people realize that dangerous and unacceptable behavior has social consequences in this wired age.

  19. Janet says:

    Calling is always a good choice! If it wasn’t a neighbor being an idiot, I’d bet it was a thug who stole the car. When they do, they don’t care if it gets banged up. It’s a joy ride for them. I know. I’ve had a car stolen and, when I got it back, it was trashed and the right fender was smashed in.

    Anyway–good on you for calling and thank God no one was seriously hurt.

  20. 1) What he was doing was illegal.

    2) You were just protecting your family. You did the right thing.

  21. You so did the right thing. Thank goodness that they weren’t a minute sooner. I shudder just thinking of it.

  22. Sarah S. says:

    You are so awsome! I am so glad the mom and baby did not get hurt. You just never know.

    What color is your cape? Pink I bet🙂

  23. Jenny Harmon says:

    Good for you! I was so hoping you’d gotten the tag number. That is NOT a minor infraction. It ticks me off that people do that, and makes me glad I live in a cul de sac.

  24. thanks for being a good neighbor. too often we fear making a fuss. scream at the speeders!!! yes!

