Confessions…

Ever since I was a little girl, my absolute favorite thing in the whole world has been to curl up with a good book.

A good book in a hammock.

A good book on my grandmother’s porch.

A good book smuggled under the covers with a flashlight.

A good book held in my right arm as I snuggle my toddler with my left, waiting for sleep to overtake him.

A good book, across from my husband and his good book, on the couch in our first apartment.

A good book in the car on a trip or on a plane, keeping me company across the miles.

A good book in the sky chair that swings under the canopy of our forest.

A good book.

Thanks to my husband who just returned from a weeklong trip and an aching pain in my side where the ailing ovary will soon come out, I had a few hours (yes, hours!) to read a book this morning.  It was fabulous.

9 Responses to Confessions…

  1. Christy says:

    Yes, there is something magical about curling up with a good book. Something I haven’t had time to do in ages, and absolutely ache to do.

    Glad you enjoyed your time🙂

  2. Linda Lawrence says:

    I, too, am curling up with a good book, but in a lawn chair. 🙂

  3. hotfessional says:

    I curled up in the corner of my couch today with The Whistling Season. It resulted in a lovely little 20 minute nap.

  4. I used to love reading. But got out of the habit. The other night it was cooooold so I decided to jump into bed early and read. I haven’t done it in so long.

    When I told Boo what I was doing, he asked to sleep with me like he did when he was younger, crooked in my arm while I read. He is a lot bigger now. But it was lovely.

  5. Tee says:

    I am nominating you for a blog award! I love your post, it’s so real, inspirational, honest, and amazing! Good luck with everything, you seem like such a wonderful person with an amazing family :o)

    tees-closet.blogspot.com

  6. Susan K says:

    One of the few benefits of my hour+ each way commute on a train – time to read, MY books (vs. the kids’)! Would never get to do it otherwise.

  7. Cheryl says:

    I so love to read. In fact I used to get in trouble as a little kid, I would rather be reading than playing outside, or doing my chores or sleeping! I have just recently found my 3 yr old (after lights are out) closing his door and spreading books out on his bed to look at. Shades of his mother!

  8. Ally says:

    It’s too bad it takes an aching ovary to get a couple of hours to yourself, but I guess you’re smart to take it when you can get it! I agree completely, there’s nothing better than laying or sitting for several hours with a good book. Heavenly!

  9. A good book in bed in the morning with a diet coke and a snickers. A little sickening yes, but guilty pleasures…

