Launch Fest!

I love living here in D.C.

When my preschooler woke up this morning, he toddled into our room and said sleepily, “Mommy, I want to go to Goddard Space Center.” Because we live where we do, the way that we do, I was able to say, “Okay, honey, let’s go!” We packed a snack, called a friend, and took off for a fun morning of adventure at the Goddard Space Flight Center Visitor Center.

The kids had a blast. After donning flight suits and helmets, they played in the space capsule, flipping switches and hitting “nav buttons” to their hearts’ content. They watched videos, explored exhibits, and gawked at the science on a sphere. They were excited, happy, and most of all interested in so many exhibits and even a little learning. When we needed a break, we popped outside for some rocket time and raucous joy.

We topped it off with lunch at 5 Guys (burgers and fries).

Really, free summer days don’t get any better than this.

Oh, wait. There’s a day this Fall that might be better, if you’re also a space buff like me and my kids. I just found out about LAUNCH FEST 08, a special event at Goddard Space Flight Center in Maryland. For more information, read on or visit the Launch Fest website! Twitter-friends Geokitten and Igmom assure me that it’s totally appropriate for even the littlest of little ones. I am SO excited. Here’s the blurb from GSFC’s website:

Explore the Universe in Your Own Backyard!

Mark your calendar! NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center invites all to enter our gates on September 13, 2008! Come and learn about the Goddard Space Flight Center as we prepare for an unprecedented year of 15 major science launches! This FREE event will feature interactive demonstrations, entertainment, a variety of local food vendors and fun for the whole family.

12 Responses to Launch Fest!

  1. The Mrs. says:

    I love Five Guys! Never been to the Goddard Space Center but may have to take my boys there! I am sure my oldest would enjoy it – my youngest is a little too young for that sort of thing only being about 4 months old and all.

  2. Wish I lived closer! That sounds like nerd heaven to me. Imagine, communing with my people and some way out rockets too!

  3. Susan K says:

    Ummmmmm

    Fivvvvve Guuuyss.

    Soooo goood.

    Guess we need to schlep ourselves up to Goddard some day. Are they open on the weekend?

  4. steph says:

    Sorry I missed you when you were here at Goddard.. guess I’ll see you at launchfest

  5. OMG! I’ve been trying to think of what to do tomorrow with Little Miss Techie and Captain Computer and this is so perfect! Thank you! And I am going to write about Launch Fest on Being Savvy DC..I’m putting it in my calendar now. Thanks!!! You rock! Aunt Amy will be so impressed!

  6. APL says:

    Mmm, Five Guys. I know where I’m having lunch tomorrow…. Oh, and I’ve lived here forever and have never been to Goddard. Going to have to take the boys, pronto.

  7. kayris says:

    My dad used to work at Goddard. So I went there quite a bit as a kid. Super cool field trip!

  8. sprucehillfarm says:

    I need to get my kids there sometime soon!

    I LOVE five guys! The fries are the BEST!

  9. ilinap says:

    Did I ever tell you that I failed astronomy, physics, and cosmology in college? And I’m Indian. I’m supposed to get math and science! You amaze me.

  10. whymommy says:

    Ilnap — I’ve learned that there is no “supposed to” in life. After all, very few people expect a GIRL from MISSISSIPPI like me to grow up to be an astrophysicist.

    Hah.

    Although I am working on my computer in the back yard as I type. In bare feet.

    Is true.

  11. Mama Maven says:

    Gee, my husband works there and I have to come hear to read about what is going on🙂 We’ll have to check it out!

  12. JessicaAPISS says:

    Thanks for the heads up Dr. Mommy! I am adding this to the APISS calendar, thanks to you.

    MWUAH!

