Emergency oopherectomy

If you twitter, you may have already heard, but here’s the deets:

My pain became unbearable yesterday, even through some really good meds (and motrin! thanks doc!), and my gyn told me to go to the er.  After a few hours there, I got pushed upstairs to a room with access to pain control pump.  This morning, I had an emergency oopherectomy.  The ovaries (and tubes) are gone, even earlier than expected.

I’m exhausted and tender and just worn out emotionally from a lot of pain and a couple very tense days, but I’m alive.

Just wanted to let you all know.

47 Responses to Emergency oopherectomy

  1. Susan K says:

    Whoa!

    Well, great. Sooner is better than later. Pain gone I hope, once you recover.

    Thinking of you and wishing you a speedy recovery. Hang in there.

  2. catnip35 says:

    I did see the tweets. I hope this means the pain will fade very soon. Best wishes.

  3. sprucehillfarm says:

    Rest up! Glad you are doing well. I am sure you are glad to get it over with!🙂

  4. liz says:

    sending our love and best wishes for a speedy recovery, susan. and no more pain.

  5. Take care – rest…
    Glad you are okay and that the pain is hopefully gone.
    xoxo
    LBC

  6. I came over from twitter, and this is my first time here, but I didnt’ want to leave without commenting. I just wanted to let you know that I will be praying for your recovery. take care!

    monica

  7. Radish says:

    Wishing for a speedy recovery!

  8. Stimey says:

    Thank God, Susan. I am so happy to hear you came through well. I hope to hear about a speedy and pain-free recovery. I’m so sorry you had to go through that. There are a lot of people that really want to help your family in any way they can as you recover. Please let me know what I and they can do to help. MUCH love!

  9. Alice C says:

    Hi Susan,
    Sending you love from over the sea. I am so sorry that you had to deal with this as an unexpected crisis and that you had no time to plan for it. It was another barrier between you and the life that you long for and now it has gone. I wish you a speedy recovery so that you can be with all your boys as soon as possible.

  10. justenjoyhim says:

    Healing thoughts as well as lots of love and prayers your way.

  11. oh, shoot. Well I hope you feel better. Your body needs to give you a break. Geez!

    {{hugs}}

  12. De in D.C. says:

    *virtual hugs*

    I know an emergency procedure probably wasn’t your ideal operation scenario, but I’m thankful that you were able to get it taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. I hope that this signals the last remaining hurdle you have to jump over on your road to recovery. I’m sure you’ll feel two million times better over the next few weeks as you recover and heal (again).

  13. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Rest up. We’ll be here when you get back. 🙂 Glad you’re ok. Hugs.

  14. Kristin says:

    Thinking about you and yours. Wishing you well.

  15. The Mrs. says:

    Thinking of you and hoping for a quick recovery.

  16. imstell says:

    Susan – Sorry you had to go through that. I know you were conflicted about the procedure. But having been through an emergency salpingectomy (tube removal) I know it at least kept your mind off the future implications. 😉

    Hugs for the trauma. When do you go home?

  17. I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE OKAY.
    My thoughts and prayers are with you –
    as always…

    xoxo for pain-free days ahead

  18. BetteJo says:

    I don’t know if it’s better than the waiting to have it done – anticipation isn’t always fun. Either way – glad you got it over with and looking forward to some days without that pain!

  19. Here’s to a quick recovery. I am glad you went in.

  20. Jordan says:

    I followed this story on Twitter and was so concerned about you yesterday. Thank goodness you got in there quickly; I hope your recovery goes well. You’ve been in so many people’s thoughts.

  21. canape says:

    Thank goodness.

  22. MummyCha says:

    OMG, what a weekend! I am sorry you had to resort to emergency surgery. I hope you will feel better very soon. At least, now that bother is GONE
    Best Wishes

  23. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  24. NYfriend says:

    I’m so glad you are now on the road to recovery, and I hope the pain is fading away fast.

    Let’s hope this is IT for a while. Geez you deserve a break!

    Hope you rest well tonight.

  25. I’m so glad things were taken care of and you are on the road to recovery. Enough medical stuff okay? You deserve an emergency trip to Hawaii!

  26. Robin says:

    Gentle healing hugs to you my friend. May your road be peaceful now.

  27. Amelie says:

    Wishing you a fast recovery!

  28. Cheryl M. says:

    Oh my! I’m glad that is behind you now. I hope you are resting comfortably and feel better soon!!

  29. I saw this on twitter, but I wanted to let you know here that I am thinking of you. Hopefully this causes the pain to cease and that you are more comfortable. HUGS!!

  30. NoRegrets says:

    Oh man… poor you. Hopefully you have a window you can open so get some outside in…
    Take care. Heal well.

  31. Elizabeth says:

    Take it easy and give yourself lots of time to heal. Do you want a care package of books?

  32. Bubba's Sis says:

    I am so glad you are OK! Bless your heart – you have been thru so much this past year! Sending you love and good thoughts for a quick recovery – and no more pain! I praying for you!

  33. Jennie says:

    I am so glad you are OK! Take care and you’re in my prayers.

  34. TheJennTafur says:

    Praying God removes the sickness in your body. My mother is a cancer (thyroid) survivor and I know you will survive this physical pain too! Blessings to you, your family, extend family and your cyberspace family to!

  35. Elana Centor says:

    saw your news on twitter. I just want you to know how much you’ve touched my heart –I sat in your breakout session at BlogHer and felt honored that I got to share in that experience.

    heal well. You are in my healthiest of thoughts.

  36. Mocha says:

    Well, shit. Sometimes my entire vocabulary leaves me and that’s all I can come up with so please forgive me.

    You’re totally moving to the top of my prayer list. It’s also a voodoo, find some chicken blood, zen garden, witchcraft thing. Whatever works, ya know?

    xoxo

  37. Adam says:

    I hope you get your favorite flavor of jello. Still praying for you nearly every night. Keep on trooping on.

  38. Susie says:

    Well, you can scratch that off your TO DO list;) Here’s to a quick recovery.

  39. bcjenster says:

    Oh wow!! It’s nice to have that behind you now, eh??

    Hope you’re feeling wonderful soon!

  40. magpie says:

    Argh – sorry to hear about it – emergency anything isn’t good – but glad they’re out. Feel better.

  41. Amanda says:

    Thank you for this update. Thank you for waging the battle you have. Your grace and grit astound me. And, I have said it before, but it bears repeating, the world will be a better place for having children you raised in it.

  42. Becki says:

    Oh, I hope you’re feeling much better soon.

  43. Karen says:

    Wow. What a year you have had. I wish you a speedy and pain-free (or at least pain-greatly-reduced) recovery. How brave you are, and how lucky your family and community are to have you. Sending healing vibes your way. . .

  44. Veep Veep says:

    Sending positive thoughts your way and hopes for a speedy recovery.

  45. Kaye says:

    Hi, A friend just sent me a video dealing with IBC. In researching it, I found your website and just used your post with great appreciation. Thank you for allowing others to use it. It’s a great gift you are offering! Please know I am praying for you!🙂
    Kaye

  46. whymommy says:

    Thank you, Kaye … I checked out your site … it’s great!

